We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olde Square Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My first time in a Bed and Breakfast, My stay was excellent and I have stayed in five star hotels that was not as nice as The Olde Square Inn. I would highly recommend the Carriage House for You and Your Boo. Location was perfect for shopping and sightseeing, but most of all it was quiet.

Room Tip: The Carriage House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

I did not know this was a first time at a B&B for these folks. They shared what their business was and it was one that carries a lot of responsibility and stress. My hope was they were going to have the respite they so needed. Easy folks they were and very appreciative of us and taking care of their little cottage. Absolutely delighted that they enjoyed their stay! We encouraged them to return when the pool and balcony with the pond is open! Sweet, delightful folks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Olde Square Inn at Mount Joy is a nice B&B in the Lancaster area. The rooms are furnished very tastefully and kept clean. We had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was tasty with good coffee. The inn-keeper, Georgie was very warm and welcoming. She was very accommodating of us being vegetarian. Georgie was also helpful with finding places to eat and sightseeing. We had great conversation with her.

There are a few minor points of note. We found a couple of harmless insects in the room. Georgie said she'll take better care on that front. Breakfast, while tasty, could have included some toast & fruits for those who wanted to fill up some more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We take great care and detail in the cleaning of our rooms. This is a time of year when folks open windows for fresh air when the weather is a bit unsure. There was a ladybug and unfortunately a stink bug. Both harmless and could have come in through the window or even on someone's luggage or clothes. I find it disappointing that someone chooses to focus on this because it is a situation of nature sometimes out of our control. As you read our reviews you will find that we are very thorough on our cleaning. We serve a very extensive breakfast and fruit is always on the plate along with muffins and other excellent dishes such as omelettes, quiche etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Old Square Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting Mount Joy. Its right on Main Street within walking distance to various shops, pubs and cafes. We went to spend Halloween at the haunted Bube's Brewery! The innkeeper, Geogie, is very friendly and personable. Our room was absolutely clean and cozy due to so many personal touches, which is what's needed in late October. Breakfast was excellent and included a fresh from the oven muffin! In the end we didn't see any ghosts but plenty of spirits! Thanks Georgie!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casser21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you most kindly for your review and the compliments. Our goal is to give our guests an excellent time away and a delicious breakfast. This guests was also gracious enough to constructively give me some tips on a few helps for the guest. Innkeepers always appreciate constructive input. It is you our guest who contribute a large part to making us successful and getting us out into the forefront. We listen and we make the changes that you requested because it only improves our inn and your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was very spacious and very clean. We had a good night sleep on a comfortable king bed. The owner Georgie is very nice and accommodating. We did not get to use the pool as it was October but the grounds were keep well and there are places to eat within walking distance. The breakfast was great, it was a surprise each morning as to what we would have for breakfast and we were not disappointed either day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

From the moment we made direct contact with Georgie we couldnt have been more pleased. Organising this leg of the trip from afar back in the UK was made easier with the service we got. Bedrooms are all lovely with super comfy beds and the breakfasts gorgeous. Go to Gettysburg. The Museum is brilliant and only about 50 mins away. Highly recommended. Thanks Georgie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamMcFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

At the Olde Square Inn we were treated to a very comfortable stay. Our room was beautifully decorated, bright, and clean. The bed was oh so comfy with a firm and supported mattress... wonderful. Georgie made a delicious breakfast for everyone in the morning with very fresh local ingredients. The gardens were also nicely kept and well-planned. When staying here, be sure to check with Georgie for local restaurants - she will steer you right!

Room Tip: Although we chose our room and it was lovely, we didn't realize it was on the first floor right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJs2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We greatly appreciate your review as it is our guest who encourages others to come and stay at the Olde Square Inn.
You had mentioned the "Room Tip". We have owned the inn for two years and have never encountered anyone who wasn't comfortable with the Summerfield room. It is off the dining room but we keep it closed off it is almost breakfast serving time. Our living room is beside the dining room which is the usual location but here again the guests are very respectful in their time of gathering and it does not interfere with this guest room.
This is a beautiful room and people love it there which can be seen by the reviews that are posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just came back .stayed in Key Largo room. Spotless clean. Georgie made us feel like we were home. And the food....what can I say ! The best breakfast ever!!! Everything made from scratch! What can I say....Georgie y ou are the best!!!! Can,t wait to go back.....

Room Tip: Key Largo room does not have a stall shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailleskobrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

A delightful couple you were and so appreciative!
As noted on the website Key Largo has a two person soaking tub with a hand held shower.
This is a beautiful open floor suite and you will love it up there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
24 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cameron Estate Inn
Cameron Estate Inn
#6 of 10 in Mount Joy
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
18 mi away
The Inn at Westwynd Farm
The Inn at Westwynd Farm
#1 of 2 in Hummelstown
475 reviews
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: $147 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Square Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn, our Lancaster County bed and breakfast, is a beautifully restored architectural gem of the Colonial Revival era. Setting our accommodations apart from other area B&Bs, we offer a hot, three-course breakfast, coffee and treats available 24 hours, an in-ground pool during the summer months, and handicap accessibility in the child-friendly Carriage House. The Inn is also a beautiful venue for hosting retreats, small weddings, and special celebrations. A pleasant departure from hotels, Olde Square Inn is conveniently located on the historic square of this quaint, but expanding, town. We are just minutes from Highway 283/30 that leads to Hershey, Lancaster, Spooky Nook Sports, York, and Gettysburg. Amtrak, slotted for a $27.5 million update, is located only two blocks away. Our lovely suites and rooms include private baths, mini refrigerators, TV, wireless internet, queen or king beds, air conditioning, and fireplaces or stoves. If you are planning a special occasion, anniversary, or birthday, be sure to check out the Carriage House as the ultimate in privacy and luxury for your Lancaster County getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing