We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olde Square Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, NJ
1 review
“The best breakfast ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

The Olde Square Inn was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in July with the intent to go to Hershey, which was about a 20 minute drive away. The rooms are warm and comfortable and make you feel at home. We stayed in the Charleston room, which based on the online pics, I thought would be dark and gloomy. It was not, it was very charming with a very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. The pool was nice to relax in and very quiet, being surrounded by a privacy fence. Fran is a warm, friendly person and makes the most wonderful breakfast, it was impossible not to go back for seconds!
The inn is located in a quaint town with a wonderful restaraunt and bar within walking distance. We went to Bube's brewery which was wonderful. Their patio is a great place to have a relaxing meal. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dee0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    18
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
225
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2007

I am just back from a 3 night stay at the Olde Square Inn. I was compelled to book a room after reading the wonderful reviews here and feel it is my duty to say that the reviews were absolutely correct!

The photos listed on the site of all the rooms are beautiful – in person they are even better. It is for sure a home away from home. I traveled with my 7 year old daughter. We spent a good amount of our visit at Hersheypark which was a pleasant 20 minute ride away. For our time spent at the inn it was great to have the pool to cool us off. That was such an added bonus.

We were greeted by innkeeper Jane the first day and met Fran on our second day. Both ladies are fantastic....super friendly and super helpful. We felt very at home. The breakfasts were amazing and we got to meet a lot of really nice people.

I give it 5 stars! My daughter cannot wait to go back...she is already trying to decide on which room she'd like to stay in next time.
Val&Julianna

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Our stay was fantastic. The location in the center of town afforded us endless potential for activities. Fran was wonderful- she is the best cook and hotess anyone could ask for- her advice and taste is impeccable. We stayed in the Grand Room and it was "grand" - We couldn't have felt more comfortable anywhere else. We had arrived on a friday evening and met up with some friends we all took a dip in the pool and unwound from our drive before heading out for dinner. Our goal was Hershey- the location was perfect ( it was about 15-20 min drive) . We can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — The inn keepers
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sma96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Olde Square Inn located in Mt. Joy, Penn. June 21 to 24, 2007. We had a wonderful visit and could not wait to share our experience.

As a fan of trip advisor, I discovered the Inn through the site and read the reviews from other visitors. I have to say, all the reviews were right on mark.

The Inn is nicely located on the main street of Mt. Joy. So, as the Inn sits in this quaint and clean town, you are still just a stone throw away from the local pharmacy or grocery if needed, yet they are out of sight if not. Mt. Joy is a great location for anyone interested in seeing the sites and sounds of Lancaster County, an hour drive from Gettysburg or just 15 minutes from Hershey, where the chocolate sweets are sure to please.

The Inn is on the corner, with well groomed gardens and yard. They offer a small pool to relax by on a lazy afternoon or if you bring along the kids, they can enjoy a cool refreshing dip. My husband and I enjoyed sitting pool side and sharing a glass of wine.

The photographs on the Inn’s web page were pretty accurate and the rooms were really more lovely in person. We managed to stay in two rooms during our three days. Our first night was in the Royal room and the bed was lovely. The room was well maintained and very clean. We noted this everywhere in the inn, that the staff kept all the rooms very clean, especially the bathrooms. We also managed to “peek” into the Ivy Room and Garden Room while the staff were cleaning and they were lovely as well. While sitting downstairs the staff allowed me to also walk into the Grand Room and it was nothing short of “Grand”. It was more spacious then the rooms upstairs, so if you prefer the extra space as well as staying in the main house, this would be the room to consider. The stain glass windows allow lots of sunlight.

Our next two nights were spent in the Enchanted Cottage. The owners renovated the original structure that once housed the garage and so when you walk inside you are quite surprised. You can park directly outside the cottage, thus making loading and unloading the car easy. This cottage is “handicapped” accessible for those seeking these type of accommodations. Handicapped accommodations are not always something a person can find at a Bed and Breakfast or Inn. So, this was refreshing to see. The cottage is a newer addition and a more open space with a sitting area, a wet bar with microwave, coffee pot and small frig. So, perfect for those who seek privacy and space. We enjoyed the cottage because we do prefer our privacy as much as we can when traveling.

The Innkeepers/Owners were lovely, very friendly and full of information you might need to find just the place for dinner, where to go and the sites to see. They offer pamphlets to help you to plan your days events. They even have the Inn mascots, their two friendly hounds who are more than happy to let you “pet” them or give them a good behind the ear scratch… The morning breakfast was just right, tasty and refreshing. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The only two drawbacks that we encountered during our stay was that their “wireless” internet service was not up and running during the stay. We tried on both our laptops and neither of us could access the wireless. We are sure it was a temporary set back, but you might want to call and make sure that it is working especially if you need it for business.. We also noted that there was some pump noise that came from the bathroom shower wall and the whirlpool tub wall around 10 am inside the cottage. It was quite loud thus taking away from our enjoyment while trying to read and enjoy a cup of coffee. I made mention to the Inn keeper who said it could be the water heater. We noted the sound from the outside as well where our car was parked in front of some locked doors. So, be aware that you might encounter this noise. But, other then that, our overall stay was great and should me make our way toward Lancaster again, we will be sure to stop in for another visit.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendly, location
  • Disliked — noisy pump and wireless service not working
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Greeted at the door by our friendly host, Fran, we experienced a quick check in and tour of the room. The Enchanted Cottage was fantastic and even better than the photos. Very private, great parking, comfortable bed, clean and tastefully appointed interior. The breakfast was timely and varied and really too much for us to consume. The grounds were impeccable and the area very convenient and friendly to a neighborhood walk and many nearby restaurants. In all ,a grand experience and we cannot wait to go back. Tom & Patti

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank 1234678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersheykissPa, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2007
A big thanks to Tom and Patti for the wonderful review! We hope to see them return in the future. Mount Joy is a wonderful walking town with many unknown treasures, we are glad they enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We fell in love with The Olde Square Inn (and the endearing hosts) about 17 years ago when we stayed for just one night. Now we plan a six night visit once or twice a year! The atmosphere is inviting and welcoming, like "going home". The rooms are immaculate (we've stayed in EVERY room!), so cozy with nice linens, charming furniture/decor and gas fireplaces.
The breakfasts are AWESOME - tons of excellent food, lots of variety, something to suit everyone's tastebuds. It's always interesting to chat with people from different states and walks of life at the family-style breakfast. The Inn is elegantly decorated and a short distance from Hershey, downtown Lancaster and Amish points of interest. Fran and Dave will be happy to provide maps, directions and menus to get you going. Mount Joy is a quaint town with some lovely shops and restaurants and convenient to everything. A lovely spot to spend a few days or a week! Every season is beautiful at The Olde Square Inn - WE LOVE IT!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SissysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersheykissPa, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2007
I want to thank SissysMom for the great review. We really do enjoy having guests return year after year. They become like family and we look forward to their visit as much as they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2006

great stayed for 2 days and wish we would of stayed longert host and very helpful on finding places to dine. the cottage was awsome . planning on going back in oct.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 7 in Manheim
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
304 reviews
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
8.1 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Property: The Olde Square Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Square Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn, our Lancaster County bed and breakfast, is a beautifully restored architectural gem of the Colonial Revival era. Setting our accommodations apart from other area B&Bs, we offer a hot, three-course breakfast, coffee and treats available 24 hours, an in-ground pool during the summer months, and handicap accessibility in the child-friendly Carriage House. The Inn is also a beautiful venue for hosting retreats, small weddings, and special celebrations. A pleasant departure from hotels, Olde Square Inn is conveniently located on the historic square of this quaint, but expanding, town. We are just minutes from Highway 283/30 that leads to Hershey, Lancaster, Spooky Nook Sports, York, and Gettysburg. Amtrak, slotted for a $27.5 million update, is located only two blocks away. Our lovely suites and rooms include private baths, mini refrigerators, TV, wireless internet, queen or king beds, air conditioning, and fireplaces or stoves. If you are planning a special occasion, anniversary, or birthday, be sure to check out the Carriage House as the ultimate in privacy and luxury for your Lancaster County getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing