We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Catacombs at Bube's Brewery
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Mount Joy
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate at Bube's several years ago and were waiting for a chance to return. Finally came back with three other couples for dinner. Having not taken the tour on our first trip we made sure it was on the agenda this time. When we arrived at the pub a waitress told us she was waiting for a table to finish so she could push tables together for our group of 8. About 15 minutes later a hostess arrived and we told her the waitress was waiting for a group to leave so we could all dine together. Instead we were seated in what they called the balcony. Our tables were side by side but each table seated 3 people max and overlooked the dining area below. It was dark and reading the menu was difficult. There were empty beer bottles on the floor. The tour afterwards was disappointing. The guide seemed more concerned with getting folks seated than offering information. The buildings are very interesting. The food average. I don't know that I'll be making a special trip to Mt Joy to go back to Bube's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ah2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    88
    84
    46
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Medieval Feast at the Catacombs”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Medieval Feast was delicious. Be prepared to spend your evening and be entertained.
We met friends and didn't know what to expect having never been there before for a feast. This is not a fast dining experience, you're paying to be entertained as well (entertainment is more adult oriented), so as other reviewers have mentioned, there is some time between the courses, but we enjoyed the time with friends. The bread was excellent, the dinner was delicious and you could go up for seconds, so if you weren't full, it was your own fault. Our tickets included a beverage, but you may want to be prepared to purchase extra. If you've done a show/play type of dinner or mystery cruise before, then this is similiar and the seating arrangements are fairly tight. If you truly want a restaurant experience, then go for dinner but not a feast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trudybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting, but bring your wallet and don't come hungry”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely wife & I dined recently in the catacombs dining area, a potentially cool and interesting experience that was ultimately disappointing. A hostess dressed in period costume led us through narrow passages and stairways to the lower dining room. She seemed nice enough, but barely said a word and was unable to answer a single question about the history of the building. Our table and chairs were set on an inclined area of the floor. Understandable that the floor is going to be less than smooth and level given the setting, but it seems the restaurant could have at least leveled out the seating area. We spent our dinner feeling like we were on a ship that was listing to starboard. That's a minor complaint. The bigger one is the lack of value for what turned out to be a very average meal. Our dinner, with 2 appetizers, 2 run of the mill main courses featuring very modest portions, and 3 adult beverages, came to an astounding $146 including the mandatory 18% tip (that's right, a mandatory gratuity for a party of 2!). While we enjoyed the rather average dinner, for that kind of investment we could have had a gourmet meal in an upscale restaurant and gone to a movie to boot. Had been wanting to try this place for a while, but the prices will prevent us from returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“JUST OKAY”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Got discount tickets for the Medevil Feast at Bube's. Had no idea what to expect. They do not tell you that the characters that roam the place all night give massages, but only if you or someone else pays for it, some people were not prepared by having cash available. I thought the wait between courses was too long, sometimes almost an hour, so our meal took almost 4 hours. The food was okay, no salt or pepper was available. You get a drink with your meal, I chose the Sangria, but it kinda tasted and looked like some kind of watered down punch with not much wine. Was glad I didn't pay full price. The other think was we were in a side room and could not see what was happening in the main area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYGIRL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Brew and Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having been to Bube's about 5 years ago and eaten dinner in the Catacombs, we decided to try Bube's for lunch. I wanted to sample some of the various brews on tap and ordered a beer flight which was a sampling of 5 different styles of their beer. The waitress appeared to be new and was not familiar with the menu. This was further evidenced as we observed the bartender instructing the waitress on various duties and menu items. The sandwiches were very good and were extremely pleased with the delicious order of their Bottling Works Fries (generous portion of steak fries coated with garlic and parmesan cheese). These were served plentiful and hot. The beer flight was very enjoyable and a perfect way to sample their various beers without being restricted to just one. A nice leisurely lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacombs at Bube's Brewery also viewed

Mount Joy, Lancaster County
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
 
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
 
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
 

Been to Catacombs at Bube's Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing