We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2008

My wife, daughter (10 years old), son (9), and I stayed at this farm b and b from July 11, 2008 to July 15, 2008.

The owners, Jim and Mim, were very friendly and hospitable hosts. The location is located between Hershey and Lancaster. It's about a 20 minute drive to Hershey Park in one direction and Lancaster in the other direction. It is also about 1 1/2 hours away from Philadelphia, where we visited on an away day trip from the farm.

We decided to stay at this farm because of the positive reviews that I read and because of its proximity to Hershey Park and the Amish Country near the Lancaster area.

We stayed in the Loft Room for 2 nights and Whispering Pines Suite for our last 2 nights. Both rooms come with a bathroom with shower, cable t.v., and air conditioning. The Loft Room came with a microwave and refrigerator. The rooms were clean and relaxing. The bathrooms were also clean. It came with bath towels and wash cloths.

Breakfast is served at 8 am. The food was great!! We were served eggs, sausages, toast, quiche, pancakes (plain and chocolate chip), potatoes, apple crisp, fruit, coffee, orange juice, and water. It's a family style set up. Everyone sits at the same table and passes the food around. It's a good to meet the other guests there. We met people from Denmark, New York, New Jersey, and Virginia.

After breakfast, you can take an optional hay ride tour of his and his brother's adjoining farms. You sit in an open trailer type wagon pulled by a tractor. It's an interesting tour. The ride lasts about 25 - 30 minutes. After the hay ride, you can participate in "chores", which is optional. All it consists of is feeding the sheep and goats, milking a goat, petting the animals, and collecting the eggs from the hen house. I really would not call that back breaking work :) My kids enjoyed it. It lasts about 20 - 30 minutes.

The farm has a trampoline and swings behind the house for kids. The owners also have friendly cats who hang out in the barn and front porch, but they are not allowed in the house.

The owners have a common guest area on the ground floor and porch where you can hang out and relax.

They reserve over the telephone. I spoke with Jim. He will check what dates you want to stay and will let you know if the dates are available. I reserved my dates with him by credit card. They only make reservations by credit card, but payment has to be made by personal check or cash. We paid by personal check. I think you can also pay by Traveler's Check.

Needless to say, we enjoyed our stay at this farm!!!! If we visit this area again, we will stay here!!

You can check out their website link below for more information and view pictures of the farm and rooms.

[--]

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick_Fury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 89 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2008

For those of us who are used to making online reservations and getting a confirmation email within minutes, it takes some patience to book a farm B&B. Although Country Log House and Farm doesn't post its availabity online, I just called its number and owner Jim answered the phone and checked his book right away. This is a much better process than the other popular farm B&B in town which you have to make a reservation "request" online and wait for days to hear back. Calls to the other B&B were not answered and messages left not returned. Jim answered his own phone every time I called and even gave me his cell phone number. Like everybody else, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MyTwoCentsWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

my husband and i took our 3 year old son to country log house and farm for one weekend in november 2007. we had such a wonderful time. for my husband and me, it was a great respite from city life to be surrounded by rolling farmland and peaceful farm animals. for our son, he was just full of delight our entire stay there. he loved just walking around looking at the animals, jumping on the trampoline and playing with the wagon and other ride-on toys in the shed. and the morning "chores" were so great! he had the best time feeding the goats and sheep, collecting fresh eggs from the hen house, then the hayride around the farm to top it off (to the adjacent dairy farm that's managed by farmer jim's brother). and i can't say enough about the breakfast. we could never finish because there was just so much delicious food every morning. it seemed like an endless supply of muffins, pancakes, a yummy "eggbake" with bacon and cheese, baked oatmeal, sausages, juice, cookies, etc.
it was a wonderfully fun and educational experience to stay at a working farm with gracious hosts jim and mim. we can't wait to take our growing family there on more trips in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juneyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My husband and I took our 5 year old son and 3 year old daughter to stay at the farm one night. The kids had a blast playing with all the kittens that ran around on the farm and they also liked exploring around the barn and looking at the goats and chickens. The farm is located in a nice private location surrounded by several other farms and staying there makes you consider whether you would want to become a farmer! The hosts are very nice and were willing to help and give us anything we needed to enjoy our stay, yet they also were not in our face and let us explore the farm and have a nice family vacation of our own. In the morning we had a very yummy breakfast that had a lot of selection and was very fresh and hot. Then we went to feed the goats and gather eggs from the chickens. The kids really enjoyed this part. Afterwards we took a hayride to the owners brother's dairy farm at the next farm. This was very educational and it was amazing to see and learn about all the cows and chickens. Then after we returned we got to ride the ATV around the farm. We learned our daughter was allergic to cats during this trip (several family members on my husbands side are too) but that didn't stop her from having a blast and the kids and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in the loft room and it was very nice and we would definitely recommend this to other families.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xstitchquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

This place is just wonderful. The kids love it, the rooms are comfortable. Jim and Mim make your family feel so at home. We've been there twice already and will be there every year to come!

Thanks!

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank lovebugsmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Wonderful, warm and cozy place. Jim and Mim are like family and make you feel right at home. The breakfast was great and a favorite is the Baked Oatmeal. We enjoyed the hayride with Farmer Jim and the tour of the vast property on his quad. This is a warm setting for any family getaway. The kids loved the numerous animals, especially the friendly and very playful kittens. Everything was very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jimbomoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

This was our first official family vacation. My husband and I have two boys, 3 and 5 years old. We spent the first part of our week doing the Hershey thing, but we wanted to do something authentic and special, something the boys would remember for a very long time. This was exactly what we were looking for! Ms. Mim and Farmer Jim are fabulously welcoming and kind. The breakfast spread is awesome: fresh fruit, breads, oatmeal, meats, eggs, juice, water, coffee, tea, and some DELICIOUS cinnamon french toast casserole. It is an actual farm with sheep, goats, hens, and kittens surrounded by cornfields. We started the day at 8:00am with breakfast then off to the farm chores (gathering eggs, feeding the sheep and goats, and then on to a hayride to the neighboring dairy cow farm. Then back to the rooms and off for the day in Amish country or Dutch Wonderland. The rooms are clean and cozy with a real country feel and so nice and quiet. The bathroom in our room was teeny-tiny, but that is the ONLY negative report I have. If we return to PA, we will definitely stay here again! And, I am happy to report, whenever our family talks about our trip, Ms. Mim and Farmer Jim and the farm stay is what our boys talk about the most! You will love it!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlvrFamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1175 Flory Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9048
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: $127 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in the New York Times, this lovely farm and quiet setting captures the essence and heart of Lancaster County. You will enjoy a homemade family-style breakfast followed by a hayride with Farmer Jim. Relax on the porch or play in the spacious yard. Your family can also experience the farm life by feeding the sheep and goats, playing with the cats and kittens, or gathering the eggs from the henhouse. Our bed and breakfast is conveniently located between Hershey and Amish country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Log House And Farm Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing