We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for Kids, Relaxing for Parents”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for Kids, Relaxing for Parents”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Country Log House Farm and had a wonderful time. It was a great place to chill out and relax -- lots to keep the kids occupied at the farm, and also a great base to head out to other fun activities in the area.

The Room: We stayed in the Whispering Pines suite -- 2 connected rooms. My 3 elementary kids shared the two double beds while hubby and I got a little bit of separation with our own bedroom. There was also a private tiny bathroom w/shower. Our bed was a little soft, but overall everything was quiet and comfortable.

Worth noting: the tap water gets EXTREMELY hot, so those with kids should beware. The water is also very "soft", it was hard to rinse out the soap.

Each morning Mim cooked a delicious and huge spread of food: pancakes, egg+sausage casserole, fruit, potatoes, fruit crumble, and more. Everyone in my family enjoyed the food. I especially loved that the eggs were fresh picked from their own hens!

Worth noting: Jim & Mim are clearly people of faith, and Jim starts the meal by reading a few Bible verses and saying a blessing (less than 5 min). We thought it a lovely way to start the day, and can't imagine non-religious types finding anything overbearing or offensive.

The property: it is a beautiful property just outside of the town of Mount Joy. Cornfields for miles, and several barns on site. Animals included sheep, pygmy goats, chickens and cats/kitties galore. My kids were in heaven with the 3 baby kitties -- so cute.

Property also includes a swingset, trampoline, plenty of grass for running, shade for keeping cool and a front porch with rocking chairs for relaxing.

Worth noting: the fencing for the sheep and goats includes an electric fence, along with a warning to not touch. All kids respected this rule and did fine, the only one who got zapped was the hubby who decided to "test" it.

After breakfast, Farmer Jim took the kids (and adults) out for a wagon ride and farm chores. The kids had a blast feeding the sheep and goats and collecting eggs from the henhouse. For the wagon ride, Jim took us through his cornfields and over to his brother's poultry and dairy farm -- an extensive operation. The tour was quite informative and interesting to the adults (the kids got a little squirmy).

We found Mim & Jim to be gracious hosts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We enjoyed the location as it was close to many popular Lancaster County activities: ~15 minutes to the "Turkey Hill Experience", ~35min to Hershey, ~25 min to Dutch Wonderland. The town of Mount Joy is also quite charming, we ate some delicious BBQ at Harvey's BBQ and had great coffee drinks at the Higher Grounds Cafe.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay -- we would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Whispering Pines was a 2 room suite, good for our family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rardnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this farmhouse with our 8 year old daughter in August 2012, after spending two previous night in the Hershey Campground. Jim and Mim were wonderful hosts. Mim cooked great breakfasts, with gluten-free options for our daughter. Jim took us out on tractor rides to the neighboring dairy farm. We fed the animals and collected eggs from the chickens. My daughter loved playing with the kittens in the barn. The room was pretty and clean. We asked if they could arrange for us to have dinner with an Amish family and they gave us the name of a family to call. It was great to experience a different way of life and to teach our daughter about the Amish. About 4 other families with kids joined us for dinner, and the kids played out in the backyard afterward (though the Amish kids did not join them). All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night stay on the "farm." We have two daughters ages 16 and 13 and they really enjoyed helping with the animals. My oldest even tried to milk a goat. Room was very comfortable for the four of us. Breakfast was very filling with a ton of food. The location was very handy for getting to the Hershey area and also Amish country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitravelinfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were actually guests at the house a year ago and my 3 kids, who were ages 9, 9 and 6 at the time still talk about staying at the house and farm as one of their FAVORITE experiences of all time (and we travel quite a bit). They seriously rank it with our week spent at Disneyworld. Our 2 nights on the farm were part of an east coast trip for a family wedding in Baltimore. The kids got up at dawn to play with the kittens and honestly did not want to leave. Jenna prepared delicious breakfasts both days and gave us plenty of helpful information to get us off to Hershey Park (with information on where to buy discounted tickets at a nearby grocery store). They loved every moment and we loved watching them have so much fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights there in April. The first night and morning we had to ourselves and Jim and Mim were so warm and welcoming. Breakfast was incredible. So much home cooked food. We were stuffed. Jim even said a prayer and some scripture verses before the meal. Very nice. My two teenaged daughters loved helping Jim feed the goats and sheep, collect eggs (finding a green one) and going on a hayride to the neighboring dairy farm. The girls had so much fun they didn't want to leave and go to Gettysburg for the day. The next night and morning the house was packed with guests. Still a wonderful breakfast. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. I was surprised they had wi-fi and tv. I was hoping to escape that being on the farm. We had so much fun just sitting on the porch and enjoying the animals, even the new kittens, we didn't even use the tv. Highly recommend the home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2homeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I understand and celebrate that lots of people are religious. But I really see no justification for this place's prioprietors to insist that Jesus ought to be part of all their customers' breakfasts. The cold, rubbery pancakes weren't right for me or my family, either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jtx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed two nights there in June. Room was clean, house was well kept, and breakfast was yummy! Tractor ride and animal feeding were a big hit with our son. Both the room and the bathroom have A/C, which was much needed in those warm summer nights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
12.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1175 Flory Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9048
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in the New York Times, this lovely farm and quiet setting captures the essence and heart of Lancaster County. You will enjoy a homemade family-style breakfast followed by a hayride with Farmer Jim. Relax on the porch or play in the spacious yard. Your family can also experience the farm life by feeding the sheep and goats, playing with the cats and kittens, or gathering the eggs from the henhouse. Our bed and breakfast is conveniently located between Hershey and Amish country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Log House And Farm Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing