We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great memories” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Acre Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

It has been a few years since I've stayed here and I remember that vacation with my two children as one of the best visits. We actually got to witness a newborn calf the next morning right after it was born. I defintely recommend going !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyntema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent over a year researching and reading all of the Trip Advisor reviews on all of the working farm B&Bs in Lancaster County. Rocky Acre's reviews and website really caught my eye and I knew we had to visit. We were not disappointed at all. My expectations were exceeded with our stay. We stayed in the Efficiency Room for 2 nights in early June 2012. My children immediately found things to entertain themselves, with the basketball hoop for my two boys and the many cats and kittens on the property for my daughter. The playhouse was so cute and my daughter also loved playing in there with a new friend she made. The room was very clean and comfortable. The atmosphere of the entire farm was very charming and cozy. Mrs. Benner and her staff made such a delicious breakfast every morning and we always had more than enough to eat. They served everything from fresh fruit, muffins, pancakes, hashbrowns, scrambled eggs, and anything else you could think of. When I made the reservation, I made a dietary request, since we do not eat pork. The staff accommodated our family and only served turkey sausage while we were there. After breakfast, Mr. Benner entertained all of us with pony rides, a barrel train ride, a hayride and an ATV ride. He kept bringing out one thing after another and made sure everyone got a ride. I don't know how he could keep up with all of us. I know I would be tired doing that every day for the guests but he really seemed to enjoy making the guests happy. We also had an opportunity to bottle feed baby calves and collect eggs from the chicken coop. It was a great experience for our family. My children also saw fireflies for the first time and loved running around at night, trying to catch them. Holly was a gracious hostess and got the conversation going at the breakfast table and had us all introduce ourselves. We met a lot of nice people with children about the same age as ours. We would love to go back again when we get a chance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I always wanted to live on a farm, but discovered that farming is way too much WORK. Rocky Acre is the perfect vacation spot for you and your family if you ever wished to live on a farm. It has all of the beauty, fun and relaxation, while someone else does all the work! And if you think you'll be bored - think again. Breakfast is incredible - like the Waltons on steroids - followed by pony rides and a train ride for the little ones. Then there's an incredible hayride (nearly an hour long, with a stop at an Amish farm on the days we were there).

After all that, it's only mid-morning, which leaves the rest of the day to enjoy the kittens, milk the cows, collect eggs from the chicken coop, feed the goats, drive a golf cart, and (my kids' favorite part) visit the meadow where there's a tire swing, chairs, kayaks and a clean, shallow creek for hours of fun. There's also a playground and an odd hiding spot - historical, since the farm was once part of the Underground Railroad. And if you must leave the farm, you can dine with an Amish family or take a buggy ride, explore caverns, ride horses, or spend a day at Hershey Park. We didn't leave except to eat dinner - the kinds of food you'd expect to find in the country: barbeque, diner food and pizza.

We stayed in the guesthouse, which was absolutely perfect. Not only did we have a trampoline, but we had our own private getaway with all the benefits of the farm only a short (and really fun) walk away. We did drive more than walk to the farm, usually for speed and convenience. We had a ton of space and it was all very clean. We even had a campfire one night with the other families, where the kids chased fireflies and played glow-stick tag all evening. It was awesome.

A note about the cows: this is a TRADITIONAL working farm, and these folks are traditional in all respects. Breakfast is traditional (with a long, sincere grace) and the people who run the place are kind and trusting, like people should be. They open up their home to the world, and share their farm with those who want to share it. I consider myself a contemporary liberal, so it can be hard to accept that, in most of the world, life is slow and the earth and its animals are still considered to be our servants.

But if you can accept it, whether or not you agree with it, and just enjoy what this place has to offer, you won't find a better family vacation spot in the world. When we got home, my kids decided - without being asked - that they liked this vacation maybe even better than Disney World. With a recommendation like that, what more can I say? We LOVE this place.

Room Tip: Choose the guest house if you want more privacy. Stay in the farm house if you want to get to know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keerstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our 2nd year at Rocky Acre Farm and we loved it as much as last year if not even more. This kids have such a great time just playing outside and being kids. It is good, clean, simple fun. Riding bikes, playing in the play house, or with the kittens, riding the tire swing, kayaking etc. If you want you can help with some of the farm chores, collecting the eggs, milking the cows, bottle feeding the calves or goat.

After breakfast the kids get to go on a short little pony ride, then on a "barrel train ride". After that the whole family gets to on about a 20 minute hay ride to see a bunch of the back roads, beautiful country and barns.

The best part is the people. Both the staff there, and also all of the people that you meet. There is a real atmosphere of friendship, and Christian love. We would highly recommend this place to people with families. If you were going as a couple, you would probably want to choose another place that had more of the fancy b&b offerings, like wine and cheese, or chocolates on the pillow etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family very much enjoyed the accomodations, the hospitality of the innkeepers, the delicious food, and all the fun activities. We especially enjoyed bottle feeding the newborn calves! However, I was and still am very disturbed by several things. First, the newborn calves are taken away from their mothers right way. The calves we fed were only a few hours old! And secondly, the cows of this operation are not happy, grass-eating, pasteured cows. Rather, they are kept in cramped quarters inside barns, where they spend their entire lives. As visitors we are privey to see only one barn, but there are many more barns and cattle out of sight. It is everything I despise about the cattle industry, only now it's packaged up in a homey B&B. But don't be fooled--this is a CAFO (a Confined Animal Feeding Operation) and if you are concerned about the ethical treatment of the animals, this is NOT the kind of farm you ought to be visiting. My youngest son cried when we left because he loved it there so much; I cried because I felt so sorry for the dairy cow mamas and their babies. I didn't realize what a huge corporation this farm really was.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tracy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyacre, Manager at Rocky Acre Farm B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain our dairy operation. We have one of the most high quality operations in the state of Pennsylvania. Our farmer’s wife is on the National Dairy Board and is very active in making sure the policies and procedures practiced on our farm ensure the animals utmost comfort and produce the safest and highest quality milk.

Our calves are very special to the farmer as they are the future of our operation. We have less than a 1% mortality rate. The calves are given their mother’s colostrum milk rich with natural antibodies soon after they are born. It is given through a bottle so that the amount can be monitored and the calf can be helped if not sucking naturally. All cows are not natural mothers and sometimes abandon their babies or step/lay on them producing an early death. In addition, calves do not suck evenly on all 4 teats and thus the cow develops a mastitis infection, which needs to be treated with antibiotics. Milk with traces of antibiotics is not safe and must be thrown away.

Cows are most happy when they have nice mattresses to lie on and plenty of grain and water nearby. They enjoy being in the barn and if given a choice would prefer to stay in the barn. They have fans and a sprinkler system to keep them cool in the summer and the barn protects from the cold and snow in the winter. However, every cow gets two months off each year from milking prior to giving birth and is encouraged to be out in the pasture.

CAFO (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation) is a designation for how many animals are owned by one entity. This does not differentiate whether these animals are in one barn or leisurely grazing on 100 acres of grass. The dairy operation at Rocky Acre is owned by the son and his wife who together own two other farms and have plenty of barns and pasture for the cows.

Our cows are happy here at Rocky Acre Farm and we are proud of our dairy operation. We are committed to animal comfort, awarded for high quality milk and granted green energy resources. We are in the process of creating electricity with our manure digester.

We are glad you enjoyed the Bed & Breakfast, the accommodations, hospitality, delicious food and the fun activities on the farm. It is a wonderful place to visit and get a glimpse of the hard work that goes into having plentiful food on all of our tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Every morning when I wake up I look forward to pony rides, breakfast, hay rides, tractor ride, and the fork ride. This is a great family trip, if you don't want to stay at the farm during the day...there are many attractions close by. In the morning you can feed the calfs and at night you can milk the cows. There is something here for everyone. We have been coming for over ten years now and have made many new friends. We all meet back here every year. If you love breakfast this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have been several times over the past six years to Rocky Acre Farm. Every time we leave, we think about when we will return. It feels like a home away from home. The charming and comfortable rooms are clean and roomy. The breakfasts offer delicious and plentiful food as well as the opportunity to meet such interesting people. Our kids (12 and 15) love, all the farm has to offer, from basketball, to opportunities to milk cows, gather eggs or ride a golf cart or even to relax and watch a movie.
The Benners are gracious hosts and you can join in conversations, card games or retreat to a sitting room or your own room for quiet reading. The staff is wonderful and adds to the feeling that you are visiting with family. We would recommend a visit to all!

Room Tip: Each room has a personality.We have stayed in many different rooms. Some rooms are more suitable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sondra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.5 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
16.8 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
10.2 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Acre Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Acre Farm B&B

Property: Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Address: 1020 Pinkerton Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9242
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring your family to experience the dairy farm. Milk the cows, feed the calves, gather eggs, pony ride, tractor rides and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Acre Farm Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing