We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The Inn was nice. We had a room on the first floor which I wished we had gotten a higher up room as all the noise was right outside the door. Although, that wasn't really a problem it was a little annoying. Sleeping was not a problem, the bed was super comfy. The heat seemed to not work (the fireplace would not turn on) but again, not really a problem/discomfort. The Inn is old so you do have the personality of an old house: squeaky floors, overhead noise, banging pipes.
The staff was excellent. Couldn't have been better :)
The food was so-so. The fish (Talapia) was excellent but the prime rib was 90% fat. And for the price of dinner I did expect more and better. The cost of alcohol is expectedly excessive. Double what you would pay if you bought it yourself. A glass of red wine cost as much as a bottle at the liquor store.
Overall it was a nice getaway from the kids/work/home etc. The price was a little high for what you get but our stay was a gift so we didn't mind it so much.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juster2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2011

We are happy you posted a review and plan on learning from you comments. We have to agree with you on the Prime rib, I fin it fatty, but then again it is the nature of the beast. If you are not accustomed to ordering is then you are not aware that it IS fatty and is where all the flavor is and therefore a prized cut.

Our pricing on wine is quite fare and lower than most comparable restaurants. The wine you chose by the glass was $5 from a bottle that cost $30, so we are not sure the wine price you compare the glass to is a comparable bottle at the PLCB. The cost to you covers more than just the liquid in the glass but accounts for the glass being brought to you by the wait staff and served in your glass cleaned by the staff and served in accommodations that have to be heated and cooled.

We as so glad you got a chance to escape from your rigors of life and did after all enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

A community-wide Dinner/Dance was held at the Cameron Estate Inn on Jan. 30, 2010. We were working with a limited budget, but wished for a Black Tie Affair. As we made decisions with Rhonda, a beautiful theme unfolded. When entering the Carriage House, that accommodates as many as 200 guests, a vision of elegance unfolds - a blank canvas of high ceilings with brass chandeliers and layers of lighting and white ceiling fans. One wall of stone borders real wood floors for dancing; a picturesque L-shaped room with 3 walls of mirrors with white wood moldings and brass sconces. An alcove before an expansive bow window that overlooks lovely landscaping is a perfect setting for a band. Our venue was a vision of white walls, sparkling mirrors, and white tablecloths accented by black napkins. Along with the fantastic band, the Headliners dressed in black tuxedos, we were a Black Tie Affair.
The owners are so gracious, the servers, with Jeanine as overseer, are so efficient and accommodating. Chef John Martin, said to be a master of the kitchen by the Lancaster Newspapers, prepared generously brimmed plates of flavorful fine food. Everyone was impressed with this facility, which is a four-season resort.

Stayed: January 2010
Thank Hersheyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My daughter held her wedding reception here. Pleasant grounds. The reception area is attractive but the rest of the experience was a nightmare. They request a $1000 "deposit" in case the LCB fines them for guests bringing in outside liquor. What a con! You can bet that you will never see this money again. I our case, we waited 2 months for the deposit to be returned only to have a final statement of expenses that contained a Late Payment Fee of nearly $1000. Ostensibly, we were late on our one payment. Interesting since the corresponding statement I was late on was for someone else's wedding! We are still trying to get our room bills straight. Oh yes. You can also believe all the negative reviews you've read on the breakfasts too. Minute servings and tiny coffee cups are the rule of this inn. Our one breakfast consisted of a custard cup of oatmeal with a slice of bacon over it. Huh!? We paid over $300 a night to stay here and this is all you get. I've stayed in plenty of nice B&B's and this is not one of them. This is a poor excuse for a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank psu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2011

We are grateful for your review and plan to glean from it any comments that can help us improve. We do appreciate your round-about compliment that we hold you to your contract commitments just as we are bound to honor our commitments to you. We do understand that should you not read, ask questions, and understand the terms of the contract you agreed to and singed that there is cause to comment, but we view it as a positive comment in the fact that we honor our contracts as we expect you to as well.

We are at a loss with your comments on the breakfast as it was exactly what you ordered and the baked oatmeal is our most popular breakfast. The coffee is self serve and available in endless supplies served in your custom 10 oz mugs. Oh well …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

When we booked our family get-together at Cameron Estate Inn, I knew it was a "nice" place. But I had no idea how "wonderful" it really is! Everything - from the rooms, decor, food, staff, environment - was exemplary. We felt so special and were treated as highly valued guests. The owners and innkeepers went out of their way to make our weekend perfect. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifeMomNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

As we approached the first anniversary of my father's death, my mother and sisters wanted to get together for a little family time. We came from different locations in Pennsylvania, Maryland and Georgia and met at the Inn on Friday night. Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. The restaurant served a delicious dinner and breakfast, and we were treated wonderfully the whole weekend. The coffee and desserts were especially delightful.

The grounds were beautiful even though many of the leaves had already dropped from the trees. It was quiet and elegant, but close to great shopping. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The owners and staff were very attentive and responsive to all our needs.

A special thank you to Randy and John for being the most gracious hosts ever!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinmomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

A family get-together with my sisters and mother couldn't have been enjoyed at any more appropriate place than at Cameron Estate Inn.

A special thank you to the innkeepers for their exemplary service to our needs and wishes. We all felt welcome to enjoy this wonderful inn with all its special nuances and character. Our room was on the 3rd floor and every time I entered it, I felt whisked back to another, more genteel time.

The changing Autumn leaves and pastoral grounds lent well to some beautiful family photographs that will help us remember fondly our special time at Cameron Estate Inn with one another.

The food was excellent and varied, service was very attentive, accommodating and friendly, the inn was well-kept and beautifully appointed, and our room was comfortable and spacious with an exceptionally comfortable bed.

Thank you all for a wonderful, special stay at the Inn with my family.

I am hoping to return soon

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lll72660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Terrible service, seemed to care less. No information when we checked in about the grounds or what is supplied by the Inn. They used "going green" as an excused to go cheap on bathroom supplies. You can buy shampoo, but it wasn't supplied. It was a gift for my wif'e's retirement. Beautiful grounds as shown by the pictures, but I would never stay there again. Quite expensive for what you get. Oh, by the way the breakfast was one choice for everyone and it was unedible and disgusting. Most B&Bs offer choices of delicious meals, fresh eggs, vegetables,etc. Not here, we went to another location to eat. Save you rmoney and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaketanner, Manager at Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2009

We appreciate the comments from our guests but feel that these guests misrepresent the services we provide.

A “Guest Information Book” in each room highlights what the inn and surrounding area has to offer. We assist our guests with things to see in the area with a copy of the Visitors and Convention and Bureau Guide and
a detailed travel itinerary

We provide Shampoo, Conditioner, Lotion and Shower Gel from Gilchrist and Soames
in 8 oz bottles as well as bar soap for the guest to USE at no charge and offer
to sell the guests the unused portion at a discount if they choose to take the
bottles home.

The breakfast is as mentioned on the website a fixed menu served hot each
morning to rave review and requests for the recipes.

We regret that our guests did not enjoy their stay but can only make amends if
we are informed at the time of the experience, not after the fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
14 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
984 reviews
19.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
370 reviews
2 mi away
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1855 Mansion Ln, Mount Joy, PA 17552-8915
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: $175 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Estate Inn And Restaurant
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing