We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding of our Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I recently got back from what can only be described as the wedding of our dreams at Cameron Estate Inn. It was magical from beginning to end. Our Wedding would not have been so lovely if it were not for the organisational skills and helpful insight of the staff at the Inn. They helped us every step of the way. They were flexible, kind, and delightful!! Everything was outstanding from the venue to the food. Thank you Cameron Estate Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I must admit, I did read a few recent reviews on here and was expecting the worse. However, I was pleasantly surprised that it was, on the whole a decent experience. The Inn is set in beautiful grounds and the room I stayed in was No. 21, it was traditional, spacious, clean and looked great. Two minor things, the large antique mirrored wardrobe was not actually useable as it was for display only. So there wasn't anywhere to hang clothing. The only other thing was that the floors were over polished so made the floors quite slippery, other people in different rooms had similar floors. Breakfast was included, limited to two/three basic choices and going by US standards not large in size either, but for me it was adequate. Just to note the service was good, friendly and efficient. The venue was fully booked by the wedding party for 2 nights and they didn't have any complaints that I was aware of. We did however notice one of the receptionists was not as friendly/chatty compared with the others but it wasn't offensive in anyway, they just got on with doing their job. The wedding itself went well, the ceremony hall is pretty. The wedding can also be conducted outside but unfortunately the weather was a little unpredictable, the hall was used instead. The reception was held in a separate building which catered for the 70+ guests but it was a bit of a squeeze. The remaining half of the building was left for a dancing area. The food at the reception was a menu selected by the bride and groom. I felt the food was prepared okay. Again we found the service was good (a guest had noticed a list of must do's in the kitchen for staff and it appears they have taken on the feedback left from previous reviews about service). Overall the wedding went well and I'd rate the Inn as above average, not quite very good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank GarethLondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I celebrated our anniversary here last December. The inn has a certain charm and elegance about it. The dining area (we ate on the enclosed porch) had a Christmas party of about 30 people. Although adjacent to the party, our dining was quiet and romantic. The food was excellent and my wife, especially, enjoyed her chocolate martini.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My 12 year old son and i visited this venue (we didn't stay overnight though) as we had a wedding to attend. The staff were lovely. The grounds were fabulous. All the guests seemed to have a great time exploring the grounds and having drinks on the veranda after the ceremony. The only problem was no wi-fi/poor phone reception, but when you're in beautiful surroundings that doesnt really matter.
This would be a great wedding reception or party venue.
I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Order a taxi beforehand...there are no local taxis readily available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsQ009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the cameron estate this past weekend for a little romantic get away. It was gorgeous. Yes it's in farm country but the scenes are breath taking. The staff was very pleasant and took care of us. Our room was huge with a jacuzzi tub. The breakfast was also very good we had the apple pancakes. So gooood. My husband and I will be back again. All I can say is this place is 5 stay and very classy. A very well maintained.

Room Tip: Room with jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went to the Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant recently to see if it could perhaps be our potential wedding venue.

To start, the entire time we were there it smelled like manure. I understand there's a farm nearby, but for those considering this as a wedding venue I feel I should still comment on that fact.

We were the only ones there, and given that we were here looking at the place as a wedding site you would have thought the owner(s) might have gone out of their way to treat us as though they wanted our business. Not that case in the slightest! No one greeted us upon arrival, and our room was just a standard room. A few horse flies were in our room as well, not that horrible, but since we were the only guests, again you'd have thought someone might have inspected the room more thoroughly.

For breakfast, we were greeted by a nice lady. She was kind and pleasant yet our food was cold as if they expected us to be up at 8:00 and when we weren't our food was microwaved. It honestly had the taste of microwaved food. The coffee was cold and there was no warm water for my fiancee's tea. For a B&B, it was probably some of worst food I have ever eaten.

After our dismal breakfast, we were supposed to have a tour of the grounds. It was to begin at 9:00 am sharp. We arrived promptly at the front desk, where no one was to be found. We called out, again nothing. We next when to front room where many wedding photo books were, hoping someone would enter and give us a guide. We waited 20 minutes and no one showed.

The Cameron Inn Estates is not punctual, thoughtful, nor do they go out of their way for your business. We were treated with the bare minimal. I highly discourage anyone from visiting his sorry excuse for a bed and breakfast and I certainly would not get married somewhere so disorganized.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CEI, Manager at Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for pointing out that we are in Lancaster County farm country which many groups enjoy as part of their country stay experience. It sounds like you stayed with us on one of those few days a year when the farmers take the opportunity to fertilize their fields. Fortunately that usually only happens once in the late winter or early spring before the crops are planted.

We are surprised and disappointed that you didn’t care for your breakfast. Our freshly prepared breakfast entrees such as our Olde English Apple Pancakes, Baked Oatmeal and freshly prepared quiches and frittatas are favorites of our repeat guests and items for which we regularly get asked for the recipes (which we are happy to accommodate.)

In checking back about the appointment our calendar shows your appointment at 9:30 and not 9:00 as you indicated. We certainly apologize for any confusion regarding the time. One of the big selling points of our wedding packages is how organized we are and we regularly get compliments on our attention to detail.

We wish you the best of luck in your search for the perfect location to host your wedding and thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Cameron Estate Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was a bridesmaid at a wedding here- while the Inn and grounds are lovely, the innkeepers and staff are not. The staff and owners added to the bride's stress on the day of the wedding- they were rude to her guests, difficult to work with, and completely unhelpful. I'm not sure why the owners are in this business- they act like you are an uninvited guest in their private home, and they are more concerned with making sure you don't inadvertently break any of their many many rules than enjoy your stay. If you want to hold your wedding here because the grounds are beautiful, have your guests stay at the Holiday Inn nearby for the half the price, cleaner rooms, friendlier service, and a better breakfast.

More specific issues- our room could have been beautiful, but as other reviewers have noted, cleanliness was an issue. Also, all the lamps were unplugged, and we had to crawl around trying to figure out how to plug them in. For $200+ a night, you would think they could plug in the lamps before guests arrive. All the guests also got a very small pack of vaseline brand bath products- although I noticed in the brides room only they had placed larger bottles of a fancier brand. The receptionist told our friends the wrong time for breakfast, so they came down an hour too late and were curtly informed they had missed it, tough luck. No coffee, no bagels, nothing. Also, although regular checkout is 11AM, the bride's guests had to check out 10AM the day after the wedding, even though she completely filled with Inn with her friends and family. How does that make sense? Again, for how much the rooms cost, better service is expected.

In reading the owner's responses to reviews, it's clear they are not interested in improving their service, only making excuses and blaming guests for not enjoying their stay. There are plenty of beautiful places to hold a wedding and stay overnight in Lancaster- this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Pick the cheapest room possible if you have to stay here- while the price greatly varies, they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CEI, Manager at Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Kelly P

Thank you for the compliments on our inn and grounds and for your frank and valuable feedback. We are surprised and disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and apologize that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations.

I’m not sure who on our staff you interacted with that left you with this impression but we would very much like to address this with you so that we can improve in the future. We would greatly appreciate it if you would please contact our Office at 717-492-0111 or by email at frontdesk@cameronestateinn.com.

We look forward to addressing this with you.

Sincerely,
Cameron Estate Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
14 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
984 reviews
19.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
370 reviews
2 mi away
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1855 Mansion Ln, Mount Joy, PA 17552-8915
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: $175 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Estate Inn And Restaurant
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mount Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing