We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Pub Fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hide-A-Way Cafe

Hide-A-Way Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic Pub Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great Bar, Freindly Bartenders, perfect for late night dining.Too cool tonight for outside dining although deck looks great !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flick115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice date night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Hide-A-Way for a date night. They do take reservations, but only to eat inside. The weather was beautiful, so we took our chances on wanting to eat outside. The deck is a very large space, and even at dinner time on a warm, sunny Friday, we had no trouble. There is a nice sized bar outside on the deck you can also sit at. The bar has a roof over it, but open sides and a large screen TV hanging inside. The menu was quite large, with plenty of choices from sandwiches and subs to dinner entrees. The food prices were average to a bit more than average, but you are paying for atmosphere too. Overall, our dinner was very nice. The waitress was quick and attentive and we enjoyed our night out. We will go back again... Possibly on a weeknight for one if their specials!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Untapped Possibilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've eaten here a handful of times and came last evening with two other couples--six of us--admittedly because the place we wanted to go was full while this place had plenty of room. That says something in itself.

As others have pointed out, Hide-A-Way has a good choice of draft beers; but it takes more than beer to make a dinner. Two of the ladies had the Hawaiian Stir Fry, which they liked. Three of us had steaks; one a filet, the other tenderloins with crab meat on top and the third another cut. To a person, we were not happy with the steaks; the filet was thinly cut and all were dry and simply not that good. We asked about the filet and were told, "that is the way the are."

But the kicker was the appetizers. Two us us ordered the peel and eat shrimp, which was on special that night at $3 off regular price. We never got this appetizer before and thus did not know what to expect. When they arrived, we were surprised at the large size of the shrimp, which were, unfortunately, not as good as they looked--rather dry. Anyway, when we got our checks at the end of the meal, we were charged the normal price. We took it up with our waitress, who went to check it out. She came back and said that unfortunately she had placed the wrong order and we got another shrimp appetizer instead of the special and since it was her fault at placing the wrong order, and since we did not say anything about it at the time but ate it, they could not adjust the price. Our waitress said we could take the difference out of her tip. WHAT!!!

For starters, having never had this appetizer before, how were we to know that it was not what we ordered?; after all it was peel and eat shrimp, just the big size. Secondly, if their policy is to hold waitress responsible for wrong orders, why make us take it out of her tip? (Which we did not do, by the way. This was her first day.) We questioned this decision with the waitress and considered calling for the manager, but did not want our waitress to get in any more trouble. This is just a really poor policy.

Well, on previous visits the food was OK, but not outstanding, and with this experience, it is both easy to see why the place was half empty and why we will think twice before returning. Too bad, they have a nice deck area and a quaint location in a a quaint town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mr2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent beer menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an excellent place to visit in the warm weather for outdoor seating. The patio seating area is lovely, the beer menu is excellent and full of craft brews, and there are great food and drink specials throughout the week. As our (my husband and my) previous favorite area restaurant has become a bit too popular, we have moved to the Hide-a-Way, and have not looked back. Try to soft shell crab sandwich!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rag203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Above average food with above average service from Anastasia (thank you!). Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrtj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hide-A-Way Cafe also viewed

Mount Gretna, Lancaster County
Mount Gretna, Lancaster County
 
Mount Gretna, Lancaster County
 

Been to Hide-A-Way Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing