We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location, excellent food..”
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Ocean view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Ocean view
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Beach and villa view Villa Sungai Tinggi - Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Ocean view
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Beach and villa view
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Beach
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Pool and lawn
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Poolside
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Living area
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Living area looking towards entrance
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Kitchen
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Upstairs study
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Media room
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Master suite
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Master bedroom living space
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Master bathroom at night
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Guest bedroom 1
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Guest bathroom 1
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Guest bedroom 2
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Guest bathroom 2
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Upstairs guest bedroom
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Upstairs bedroom living space
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Entrance
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Dining room at night
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Living, bar and dining area
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Pool view
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Pool and garden at night
Villa Sungai Tinggi - Poolside in the evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pererenan, Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kiwinui
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing location, excellent food..”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Over the years we have been to quite a few villas so we have know what to expect. This villa was chosen by our host as it could accommodate a large group of 12 for a birthday celebration.

The location is without doubt the highlight, the beach is right there in front of you in all its glory, but you are far away enough that those walking along can't really see in. The sea air, the roar of the ocean is sublime.

Proximity to Echo Beach is also great, we made a few pilgrimages to Theraphy an excellent spa in Echo beach.

The layout is expansive, there are four main rooms around a central living area, each with its own bathroom. There is also a second villa quite some distance from the main villa, it has two bedrooms a shared bathroom and a small kitchen along with its own plunge pool. The walls there were rather thin so would be suitable for a family group or two single people, probably not private enough for two couples. The outlook from this villa however is absolutely stunning, never seen anything like it.

The main pool area is large and comfortable with plenty of grass area if you want to follow the sun on your deck chair.

Our room had an outdoor bath, but for some reason had a sunken bathtub over which there was a shower. It made getting in and out of the shower a bit of a slippery nightmare. We had a few issues with the air conditioning unit being very noisy and needing a repair ( by the time we left it was going to need to be repaired again) and drainage seemed to be an issue with the toilet never really flushing properly.

The staff were friendly and eager to please, but lacked some of the initiative and confidence that you would expect when paying these prices. We gave up on the cocktail making ability after the first night and agreed we would be better off making our own. The food was excellent, but again I was surprised that breakfast was not included in the price ( nor was laundry which was sent out).

The staff were not as present as we would have expected and often we woudl have to go an find them to get something, or ask them to restock mixers, ice etc, things that should be obvious when a large group is there.

It was rather annoying at the end of the night to be asked to provide a breakfast order, I would expect that a villa like this would keep constant breakfast supplies and perhaps offer order ahead or exceptional choices as ones that needed to be ordered the night before, who is about to go to bed and think about what breakfast they should have. A firm word and the basics were then kept in stock for our stay, but really we should not have had to do that.

The meals we did order were excellent. The food was delicious, although ( and perhaps I am being fussy, I did at times think there could have been more generous portions) on the first night some off our group did not get to try the fish at all.

Massage facilities were available on site, but these were not chargeable to the villa and had to be paid for at the time, again this is a departure from the practice we have had before. The prices for these services were also at the higher end of the spectrum and while good were not at the same standard being offered cheaper at Therapy at Echo Beach.

A car was available for 8 hours a day, but it was only later that we found out this 8 hours started at 9 and could not be specified by the guests without incurring additional charges. It was also a little surprising to be asked for petrol money on the first day when we provided a $1000US kitty to cover expenses.

Overall, the location is excellent, the rooms need a little more attention, and the staff while very well meaning need more direction and training. The food preparation was also excellent.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Drainage issues
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you for your very positive feedback about location and beautiful aspect as well as the quality of the food. Whilst we get it right 99% of the time, as evident by our guest comment book, there can arise observations which we need to know about, and we very much appreciate your feedback and have taken them on board so that we can ensure that we maintain our very high standards for our beautiful ocean front villa. So in response to your comments:

• The design of our guest bathrooms will be reviewed by the owners to accommodate all guests. Although we have never received such comment previously regarding the bath/shower design we will take necessary steps to provide grab rails as appropriate.

• Air conditioners and all mechanical devices are in constant maintenance with our engineering staff. Being an ocean front this is especially necessary and comments on noise or performance are immediately taken up by staff and remedial action has been taken immediately to rectify this.

• Our authentic antique Indonesian teak Joglo is quite frankly the highlight for many who stay at the Villa. Surrounded by a glorious Coconut Grove and separated from the beach by our very own mangroves this is called Sungai Laut...where the river meets the sea. I am sorry that you found the walls to be too thin, but that is the nature of this beautiful unique structure. The Joglo was designed as a honeymoon getaway.

• With regards to your comment for more staff visibility, each guest has their own preferences on how visible they wish our staff to be. Some guests have asked for the staff to be discreet and not overtly present during their stay, whereas yourselves wished for a higher presence. We have instructed our Villa Manager to check with each guest on arrival on how much interaction they expect of the staff. The Balinese are very courteous and polite and it is their custom to be very respectful.

• We have taught our head of staff to make a selection of cocktails - We have already set a cocktail class for all the housekeeping staff.

• I am sorry you were annoyed about being asked about what you may wish to have for breakfast, but this is what the Kitchen has been trained to do. The villa is not a restaurant but is a private residence. Given the location of the villa, and especially for larger groups, and individual dietary requirements, the staff needs to know in advance guest selections for the following day. With regards to including breakfast as part of our package, we have been guided by our management company to have the arrangement that is in place. Food purchasing is done in the local markets before dawn as is the age old Bali custom with the opportunity for guests to indulge in delicious village fresh produce. Other provisions are purchased from the Western Supermarkets. The kitchen does have a wonderful pantry and provides coffees and teas, juices and stocks all the items that are on a usual breakfast menu as well as having all the base spices and condiments needed to make the popular local Bali cuisine. The kitchen start up Kitty that is provided by the guests on arrival provides for all expenses including as petrol. This kitchen kitty is well managed and the staff has been trained to keep a daily account with all receipts that can be viewed at any time by each guest during stay and is given to them prior to departure.

• We provide a selection of in house massage and spa treatments that are provided by various external agencies. The prices are directly charged by the agency, not us, so the choice is entirely up to our guests.

• I am sorry you felt that the villa rate and some in- house services were high. Again these Inclusions and exclusions and Villa Rate are guided by our Management Company and detailed in our website. Comparatively, our villa rates are modest compared to those offered by many other villas hotels for similar numbers of in house guests with our wonderful expanse of beach front and gardens.
As owners of Villa Sungai Tinggi we thank you for your comments and taken immediate action to ensure that we continue to provide our 5 Star Ocean Front Villa experience.

Our point of difference from a hotel is that we are a private residence.. your private residence whilst you are in Bali. Guests are welcomed not simply as house guests but as family and have a beautifully inspired Bali residence to holiday in as their very own.

Our staff provides a true, warm, welcoming Bali smile and experience. We have proudly supported our local Balinese community and engaged many of our staff from surrounding villages, who have remained very loyal and do their upmost to make your stay memorable. The owners together with Management and more experienced staff train the younger new ones to look after all guest needs, keep the villa and grounds manicured and spotless and basically ensure each and every guest leaves wanting to return again and again.

Very Truly Yours,
Peter and Venta Richter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo G
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant place to stay and relax - styled with warmth and heart.”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant place to stay for family and friends as well as a quiet retreat for tranquility and peace. In saying that you can also create a fun filled schedule with lots of laughter and locale trips. Great 3 days for myself and my partner. The staff are beautiful too and very attentive to your needs.The massage they booked for us was of a high standard too.

Jo Gillies and Bradley Field

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the central area and pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGK1980
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional villa with great staff and a relaxing environment.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Great rooms and friendly staff who do everything for you. Beautiful pool and dining area and right near the beach. Had an amazing few days and did want to leave the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The living area
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames_beck...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise at it's BEST!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Sungai Tinggi was everything we hoped for and more!
We were a party of friends and had the best week staying at the villas.
The staff were beautiful and friendly. The food was AMAZING! Traditional Balinese style.
There was plenty of room for everyone to have they're own slice of heaven -
(Pavilion style living, beautiful lawn and pool overlooking the beach)
Just a small stroll down the garden path leads to Canggu beach - great for surfing.
I would recommend staying here in a heart beat.
It is nothing short of perfection. We can't wait to revisit the villa's in May 2015!
Amy and Luke

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camtanner...
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

This place is sensational.

Quiet, traditional, clean and beautiful.

The service and food were spectacular. I really couldn't fault the place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia B
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average - needs updating and cleaning.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very disappointed, spent a decent amount to rent this villa and was very excited after seeing the photos on the website but assume they were taken a long long time ago. Could be a very nice place but some money needs to be spent to update it - no hot water in one bathroom, fans look fifty years old and hardly work, aircon keeps breaking. Also very very dirty, dust and cobwebs everywhere so lots of bugs. Also they allow a dog to roam around - regardless of if you like dogs or pets - sitting at dinner at 9pm and it's under the table and when asked to remove it, they couldn't and it tried to bite the staff. The staff were not really around much and apart from one lady who seemed to leave after lunch, they didn't really want to help us. Would not recommend - maybe would stay here if it cost half the price.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Dear Sonia,

I am very sorry to hear that your experience at Villa Sungai Tinggi was not to your satisfaction.

I sincerely apologise for the occurrence with our dog. She was rescued from the beach, inoculated and spaded. I have now found her a new home and I assure you that there will be no further dogs or pets at our villa.

I responded immediately to your air conditioning issues by purchasing a portable air cooler and I have personally repaired the air conditioners and hot water system in need of repair. We also replaced the ceiling fan on the second day of your stay and, as my villa is a beachfront property, all ceiling fan blades are replaced every three months.

I take great pride in my villa and staff. I have a committed team consisting of two full-time chefs, five service staff, three gardeners, four security personnel and a full-time driver all employed to accommodate our guests’ needs. My staff work on a rotating roster in order to be available from morning to evening. Many of my staff have been with the villa for over 10 years and our guest comment book is filled with praise and appreciation by guests for their cookery, service and warmth unique to Bali.

The villa and guest rooms are cleaned and maintained thoroughly twice daily with a detailed clean after each booking. Our kitchen and bathrooms have just been refurbished and all timber is painted every six months. We also polish all floors weekly.

My villa holds a high sentimental value and we as a team commit to continually improving our standards so that each and every guest has an outstanding experience.

Yours truly,

Peter Richter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing