We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip. Will return when in town again.”

New Amber Indian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Moosic
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southington, CT
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the trip. Will return when in town again.”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Imagine how pleasantly surprised I was when I found an Indian restaurant in the Moosic, PA area. Indian food is my favorite so I was excited to try it.

The service was attentive, albeit hard to understand. The menu didn't do a great job with explanations and although I know my way around an Indian menu, I didn't recognize some of the names and got strange descriptions from the staff. That being said, their recommendation was very tasty. I would have loved the meal if it weren't dark meat chicken.

Rated "very good" for the area, which is full of chains, a weird kind of pizza, and not much else.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank amdandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As Good As India”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I have been to India three times and we have not eaten better food than at the Amber. Their daily buffet is wonderful and they bake their bread in an old time Indian oven. We go every chance we get.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaPaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

New Amber Indian Restaurant or Amber has the best Indian food in the area. Anyone that isn’t familiar with Indian cuisine try some Chicken Tikka Masala with some warm Naan (flat bread). During the day they have the buffet but you can still order off the menu. After 5pm it’s the dinner service.

Food = 4/5 (great)
Price = 3/5 (good)
Service = 3.5/5 (very good)
Atmosphere = 3/5 (good)
Overall = 4 out of 5 stars

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheeselog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceelent Indian Fod!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We drive 25 mintues to eat here. Wonderful Indian food and very nice service!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Inidan Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Went for the lunch buffet and we enjoyed it very much. My favorite was the Chicken Makhani (not sure of the spelling) and my wife's favorite was the Rose Ice Cream. Very unique tastes and flavors. Nice atmosphere. If you are in the area and like Indian Food, then I recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gambit4Hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Amber Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Amber Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing