We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great”
Review of Thomas' Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thomas' Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Taylor, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Absolutely Great”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great food. The famous barbecues are fantastic as are their other sandwiches such as the St. Louis and Memphis barbecues. Not to mention the baby back ribs and pig portions! So flavorful! Everything tastes so great and the food comes out in a timely manner. The staff is very kind and helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thomas' BBQ is a great place to eat. It is very clean, friendly staff, has a cozy atmosphere and delicious food. From their Ribs to their famous bbqs, all so good. My personal favorite is the Memphis BBQ. Great food at a good price. Stop in and try it out, also recommend trying a pink pig to drink!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not good to knock a great place”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We dine there all of the time...It is retro and owner is trying to keep the same look from years gone by.
If you want brand spanking new then you need to dine in a chain. The restaurants in the area are far ore dated, e can name a few but you chose to write this. Not fair. The food is not overpriced, unless you have never dined outside of Moosic - Even the famous :"Fast Food" place is expensive - do you have any idea what food costs are?
Thomas' is a great place and food is great - It's a shame that people like to degrade a great place but when it's great - so one says a thing...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank symarr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite like the original”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

IThe restaurant re-opened under the management of some original family members. The hope was that the food would be the same. The BBQs were just not the original, despite their claims that it was the original recipe. The food was good, but not great. The atmosphere that they call "retro" was really just shabby. The restaurant was however quite clean. Would I go back?....probably not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Richter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cost of the food is very high for a bbq”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I feel that the cost was outrageous for a small bbq I always went to Thomas since I was a little girl and I am very disappointed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tokach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing