We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood site”
Review of Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - CLOSED

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoppes at Montage
Description: We developed our classic 1900's Oyster House as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, these little aphrodisiacs. We have spared no expense to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun, and merriment, in a local watering hole. It is our joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good seafood site”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great and varied choices for seafood in NEPA; especially if you love oysters. Nice atmosphere and plenty of parking, but make a reservation on Sat nite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    102
    46
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wapwallopen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“buck a shuck”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

monday night is "buck a shuck" night. any oyster for one dollar. they had eight varieties and they were all delicious. i also got the lump crabmeat cocktail and i have never seen such big lumps of crabmeat. specials and happy hour every night of the week. if you live in the area, join the loyalty club and get even more discounts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, but oysters were pricey!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There isn't anywhere in the area to get oysters, my husbands favorite.... so we go to Doc's. This visit, they were all priced between $2. and $3. each. Normally my husband would get 3 dozen plus, but not today. He said they were good... but didn't rave. I think the price did him in. Otherwise, the food and service were great. We'll be back !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babs067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blindshot”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Blind shot at Doc Magrogans following rail runners game. We got fish and chips and crab cake sandwich soup and salad. Food was very good and fresh. A little pricy but a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pghkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality has gone downhill...”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I had visited the Moosic location a few years ago and had a great experience. This time we visited with a larger group. Very disappointed in the food quality and quantity - was not worth the price.
The service was exceptional, but unfortunately that's not going to keep me coming back. I would not visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahZinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing