We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean...what we learned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location and clean...what we learned”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice hotel if you're going to be in the area. Central to restaurants, shopping and PNC stadium. Couple of tips:

-> if you are going to stay during a Scranton Rail Riders home game, if you want to hear the noise or see fireworks (check the schedule), request a high floor overlooking PNC stadium. Our room did on July 4th and it was AWESOME! The fireworks were right outside our room.

-> if there is a game with fireworks, ask the front desk if the parking lot will fill up - it's that close that we found a bunch of local folks hanging out in the parking lot to watch the fireworks - a bit annoying since it was tough to find a spot to park. After the fireworks, the parking lot emptied out.

-> Bring water bottles to drink...if you're not used to tap water in PA. We're not, so water bottles were helpful.

Otherwise - room was nice, clean and did the trick. Enjoy!

Room Tip: In addition to the room recommendation above, go higher if you want quieter - rooms on the main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear elmcityboy - Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean suite and our convenient location to the Railriders field. We do have quite the view for their firework celebrations! We look forward to hosting you again on your future travels to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    75
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
80
41
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, things went downhill from there. This property needs a thorough cleaning. Furniture in the room was stained and worn. But what was most troubling was the condition of the bed. Hair on pillow case, blood stains on the sheets, and crumbs in the bed. Although the bed had been made by housekeeping, it appeared the sheets were not changed. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am genuinely sorry to hear about your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites Scranton. While I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the issues that you mentioned about your suite are completely unacceptable. I can assure you that this is not a normal practice at our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent experience for all guests. I am investigating your concerns; they will be addressed and corrected. I ask that you give us another try on your next visit to our area. I would like to show you the product that our staff is known for delivering. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further or if you are making plans to visit our area again.

Sincerely,

Heather Edwards
General Manager
heather.edwards@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen rock, nj
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First time I ever ran into this problem in a Marriott. The sofa bed, when opened, butts up right against the end of the king bed so anyone sleeping in that side of the king has to either climb over the other person sleeping in the king or climb over the sofa bed, to get to the bathroom. Ridiculous design and I left the place after one night and switched to the Courtyard around the corner. Folks at the suites were very nice but they did not have any other rooms to switch us to. Also, the sofa bed was horrific! You could easily feel every wire on the top and the bed was slanted. Would NEVER sleep an adult on that thing. The room was the smallest room I had ever gotten in a Marriott hotel even though there was a kitchen area (which was actually nice).

Room Tip: Do NOT expect to sleep 3 by using that sofa bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvturquoisesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
I am sorry to hear that the functionality of our suite did not meet your needs. Since you enjoyed the in suite kitchen and the service that our staff provided, we encourage you to give us another try on your next visit to our area. We offer larger one and two bedroom suites that may better accommodate your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We checked in after a long drive, my kids were excited to use the pool so they got their suits in, we're in for about 5 minutes and we're told to leave because it was being cleaned. The front desk speculated it would be closed until at least 1 pm the next day (Memorial Day weekend folks, really?). They called us a few minutes later and said we could use the pool at the hotel next door (points for service). We moved a chair in the sitting room and the floor lamp behind it fell over ( obviously propped up by the chair). Maintenance came and collected it (another good point for service). The above mentioned chair and matching sofa & ottoman were garage sale worn out. I will post pics. Wow, just wow. I can't believe this is a Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydogconan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at our hotel. I am glad that we got to meet during your departure to discuss your stay more in depth. Now that we have pinpointed areas for growth, we will be working to ensure that all other guests have a smooth experience every time. We look forward to your family returning so we can show you the product that I know our staff is capable of delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our second night on our annual snowbird's trek to northern New York.........we decided to try this because it offered a coupon which stated that it was a "new" hotel.....it isn't but its still an impressive value and terrific location, with the rooms and carpets beginning to show their age. Not threadbare old, just in need of replacement soon. We were put on the top floor with a pretty view of the mountains and I-81 below........the location is in the midst of a new shopping area, complete with restaurants, movies and upscale shopping. Our room was clean, the appliances needed an extra cleaning of their exterior and the lamp was wobbly.......yet the ingenious design, full size fridge and comfortable bed made us feel like we got a good value. Breakfast was nicely presented with several options. All in all, we would stay here again but hope that they have scheduled their update already.

Room Tip: top floor king valley view rooms have a nice vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalbeauty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear naturalbeauty53, we appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your suite, as well as the scenic views that surround our hotel. We are in the process of making updates to ensure that our hotel stays looking brand new. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I gave the overall rating as a 4 instead of a 5 only because of the size of the swimming pool.

I was there with my best friend for a girls weekend. We had the King suite with a soda bed. The bed was good and the soda bed was good for a good night's sleep.

We had a second floor room and the view was great.

The breakfast was typical continental breakfast with an added treat - the make your own waffle area. The first morning that we went down for breakfast, the line was long for the waffle machine. On Sunday, there was no line and the breakfast area was not crowded.

The gum was small, but I was able to do the treadmill and weights so i was happy.

The location is good. There is a Ruby Tuesday within walking distance which is where we ate one night. There is also a Johnny Rocket in walking distance. They are other places to eat across the street. You can walk to them but we chose to drive to Starbucks which is located in the shopping center across the street.

Check in was under 5 minutes and check out was just as fast. The staff was super courteous and extremely helpful.

I would definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear rarjackson, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our relative location to shops and restaurants, as well as the scenic view from your suite. We look forward to seeing you again on your next weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennesee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Spent three nights in an 'upgraded' suite. The suite consisted of a full kitchen (refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, stove and microwave along with cookware), living room with couch, chair and desk (plus TV), nice size restroom (good shower with good pressure), and bedroom w/TV). The room was clean. The coach, chair and rugs need to be replaced. Breakfast was slim (cereal, prepackaged muffins, some fruit, milk, some bagels and Belgium waffles). No meats, believe there was OJ but that was about it. Obviously with kitchettes, they expect I guess guests to cook.

Staff was friendly and provides a tray (just one) of cookies at night (chocolate chip). Newpapers available daily in lobby are local or USA Today. You can buy some snacks in the lobby as well (chips and candy). Coffee available most times of day.

Hotel does offer airport shuttle (my experience was it took them 45 minutes to arrive after I called (it's about a 10 minute or less distance).

Eateries nearby include a Johnny Rockets, TGIF Friday, Longhorn and Doc's Oyster House. There's an outlet mall within walking distance which also has a Starbucks, some pizza place and Panera Bread. No grocery store within walking distance so you'll need a car to get around. Other than the outlet mall, there's a theater that you can walk to but not much else. No onsite restaurant

Overall a good, not excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff service and the cleanliness of your suite. We are in the process of updating our furniture, so new couches and chairs are on the way. We do offer a shuttle within the local area that is based upon a schedule. I do apologize that it took so long for the shuttle to arrive; I understand how frustrating that must have been. We appreciate your detailed review for others to see about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moosic
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
404 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Property: TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Address: 26 Radcliffe Dr, Moosic, PA 18507-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Montage Ski Resort, TownePlace Suites by Marriott is your best choice for extended stays in Northeastern Pennsylvania. TownePlace Suites by Marriott offers you separate places to work and sleep. Our Studio, One- and Two-Bedroom Suites include a fully-equipped kitchen, sleeper sofa, and free wireless high-speed Internet. Nearby you will find plenty of shopping and eateries. We are surrounded by many companies such as Flowserve, Bank of America, Prudential, CIGNA, and Procter & Gamble. There is always plenty to do with Montage Ski Resort, Toyota Pavilion, and Mohegan Sun Casino closeby. Stay with us and see why TownePlace Suites by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre is the only place to stay when traveling to Northeast Pennsylvania. Pets are welcome ($100 non-refundable fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre Hotel Moosic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing