We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel is right out of the sixties..just off highway. Looks nasty but for the price was clean.had Fridge,coffee in the morning. Stayed 2 different times and would return. Owner/clerk was an interesting guy to talk to..very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the office appear to be in better shape.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spryfieldCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

RODEWAYINNPA305, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this review, May 29, 2015
I'm concerned about the problem you experienced at our
Hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide
Dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

PHILLIP PATEL
FRONT DESK CLERK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

When I arrived, I had a sinking feeling. The outside of the hotel looks run down. There is some abandoned rooms, and buildings behind the hotel. The lobby was nasty. However, the room was ok for $59.95 a night. It was clean in all the right places. No signs of bed bugs, the sheets and towels were all clean. The room was made up fine. The decor is drab. The tv and A/c worked just fine. There was soap, shampoo and cups. For a bed to stay in after the concert on Montage mountain, it was all I needed. All the rooms have Wi Fi. They do not list as breakfast buffet, but they do have coffee and donuts of poor quality in the morning. A great choice is the old school diner next door, which is walkable from the hotel. There is a supermarket right up the road, with a fresh bakery too. If all you need is a clean bed, this place will do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

I'm concerned about the problem you experienced at our
Hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide
Dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

PHILLIP PATEL
FRONT DESK CLERK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the mixture of good and bad reviews. You never know if someone is looking for upscale but booking cheaply. We received a good rate and the individual we worked with was very nice on the phone. However, once our workers came to the rooms, they found them to be very dirty. In fact, they slept in their clothes over their bed. This is not what we expect out of a hotel. We attempted to find another hotel, which is difficult in this area. Once we found another room, we were out of there! We contacted corporate, and received an email from the hotel stating that they didn't understand the cleanliness issue if our guys stayed there for a time. This is due to having trouble finding another clean room in the area! The room we were moved to was satisfactory and clean, and that's all we ask for. We would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank GfieldMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
Guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
Doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Just needed a one nighter so I wasn't looking for anything special. However, the outside looked run down so I asked to see the room first. Room 163, smelled musty and old, carpet dirty, and another bathroom where housekeeping passes a mop but leaves the corners to accumulate crud - bathroom also needed upgrade. Didn't feel the least bit uncomfortable about telling the front desk "No Thank You" and condition of room. Another good example of trusting the reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

I'm concerned about the problem you experienced at our Hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We are 24 hrs open if you would have brought to our attention at the time of stay we would have changed your room any changes would have been done prior to stay. Also we had given rock bottom rate for the for two double beds and ground floor room

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide
Dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Its all in the title. Outdayed everything, but everything worked, so I gave it a 2. But old, old old and not a nice area. Staff English hard to understand

Room Tip: choose somelace else, unless money is your only consideration. This place IS cheap.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qvdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

please ask front desk if you want to check the room prior to your stay.
If you 're not satisfied with our accommodation or service please let the front desk know without delay so we can make it right.
satisfaction could not be simple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

THEY HAVE BED BUGS IN ROOM 179 and I feel like they knew cause the next morning when my husband and I woke up we had ten bites between the both of us...... I went to the guy and complained and they gave us another room that had plastic over the whole bed @ that point I was done cause not only were there bed bugs but these really big crunchy looking bugs and the bugs were in both rooms my husband got rid of four in the new room they gave us..... dont know if the new room had bed bugs didn't sick around to find out. they had very dirty carpets. and a very bad smell from the time you first walk in the sheets look clean but that top blanket is def. not..... the bathroom for the most part was clean and the towels the heat in the room was good I brought some room spray with me and sprayed the hallway and our room...... the mic & fridge were clean..... I payed $55 exact if your money is tight and your looking for a cheap spot you may want to think about it cause I pulled the sheets back and looked all around the bed for bugs before I even got in the bed i was positive I didn't see any but there were holes in the mattress so maybe they came from out of there I just never want to have to stay there again but I have been in worse and the guy yet he was very weird he was cool until I complained about the room then he wasn't so nice anymore I didn't even want to ask for my money back I just felt like I got what I deserved for even paying for the room

Room Tip: ask to see a room before you pay than make sure that is the room you get lol cause they all don'...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide
Dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

PHILLIP PATEL
FRONT DESK CLERK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I would certainly recommend this hotel when traveling through the Northeast. The front desk was very helpful upon both check-in and check-out. The king bed room that I had was very spacious and clean as well has having all the amenities possible. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bgt1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYINNPA305, Manager at Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Thank you for your correspondence.It is always beneficial to hear from our guests
and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel.
We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moosic
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
414 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
643 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton

Address: 4130 Birney Ave, Moosic, PA 18507-1320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range: $52 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn® hotel, located near Interstate 81, is within four miles of Scranton, PA, Montage Mountain and the Wilkes-Barre / Scranton International Airport. Additional area attractions include: - The Scranton Cultural Center - University of Scranton - PNC Field - Lackawanna County Coal Mine - Steamtown National Historic Site Shops, restaraunts and museums, such as the Everhart Museum of Natural History, Science & Art, are also nearby. Enjoy delicious fare without leaving the hotel by dining at our A.V. Italian Restaurant and Lounge. Additional amenities and features offered include: - Free coffee - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Copy and fax services - Pet-friendly; fees apply - Guest laundry facilities For your convenience a safe deposit box and ample parking are available. Guest rooms include cable television with premium movie channels. Select rooms include microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites are available. The Rodeway Inn hotel provides economical rates and friendly customer service. This is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Scranton and Moosic areas of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn Moosic – Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Moosic
Moosic Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing