We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited Pittsburgh for the weekend. We didn't want to drive into the city on a Friday evening (especially with the tunnel closed), so we chose Monroeville. Worked out great. Chose this hotel because of tripadvisor reviews plus availability. Absolutely no regrets. Location worked fine, the place was clean and nice, and all of the staff was superb and genuinely friendly. I didn't have any issues with noise (of which another reviewer complained), but I sleep with the fan on in hotels to drown out external noises. BTW, a word about finding the entrance, because it's not actually on Wlm Penn Hwy. At Duff Rd, turn toward the Sheetz (gas station and convenient store) and follow the small access road (or driveway?) that runs up a little hill to the Courtyard. You'll see it easily enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
56
31
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at random at this hotel while on a road trip and were very glad we did. The first thing I noticed was how fresh and clean the whole place smelled. The room was clean and tasteful, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Even the breakfast was better than expected. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keksi2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We drove through on our way to VA twice and stayed here both nights.

Reservations were easy to make.
Check in was easy.

The lobby was nicely decorated.

The first night we were on the 3rd floor with a balcony....very nice.
The room was nicely decorated.

The 2nd time we stayed we were on the 1st floor without a balcony. room had less furniture and we also missed the outdoor space.

We paid the exact same rate for both rooms...both on weekend nights.

the pool is tiny but we were the only people swimming.
the water was kinda cold so we all went in the hot tub to warm up.

we enjoyed the outdoor courtyard. we went and walked around out there.

gas station and restaurants right by the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this Courtyard several times over the past few years. We have always booked through priceline at a very reasonable rate rather than the high rack rates (not sure if I would select this hotel for $130+). Under those circumstances, the hotel is a good value as it is very clean and convenient to both the PA Turnpike and 376. If staying here, request a room on the back of the property. The rooms in the front of the hotel (especially on the left side if facing the hotel from the front) are directly behind the Sheetz gas station. If you are a light sleeper, during the night you can hear plenty of noise from the station like trucks idling, car stereos, etc. Also, you will get street noise from Business Rt. 22 on this side of the hotel. However, the worst noise offense was from the housekeeping staff on this last visit, and it might prompt us not to stay there again. In the morning, I kept hearing a loud BANG noise every few seconds. I went into the hall to determine the noise, and it appears that the housekeepers use the door's deadbolt to hold the door open. When they retrieve their supplies from the cart, they let the door slam on the deadbolt and it makes an awful noise. I did notice another housekeeper down the hall using a towel in the door instead. This was not a pleasant way to wake up on a Saturday morning, especially right outside doors that had 'do not disturb signs'. I noticed another housekeeper vacuuming the hall early in the morning right outside another room with a 'do not disturb sign'. This is not acceptable at a hotel with a noon checkout and people are trying to get some rest if they were out late.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel away from Rt. 22 and Sheetz gas station.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thrillrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Courtyard was a pleasant surprise- bright and modern with a large bar/bistro area and nice lounge space. Room was clean comfortable, staff pleasant. Really felt I could relax or get work accomplished in the room.. One of nicer Courtyards I've stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knitter06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The service was excellent, rooms clean and atmosphere great. The pool was kind of small but it still met our needs. When staying in Monroeville this hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

New look that apparently will be rolled out to all Courtyards: Very spacious, open lobby; very modern look with giant plasma screen dividing guest reception and library / desks / fireplace / reading area; bar; and the list goes on. Very nice surprise.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was good, but we had some bad luck: Although we were given a high floor, there were some very noisy / partying guests spanned across multiple rooms, chatting loudly and slamming doors until 3 am. This went on to the point that several other guests complained (we could overhear the manager on duty providing some explanations). They should have managed it differently. Other than that, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEscalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroeville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 11 in Monroeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville/Wilkins Township
0.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
Address: 3962 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146-2477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville hotel features a new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is 'The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.', providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning as well as evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Monroeville hotel is convenient to the Pittsburgh International Airport, Monroeville Convention Center and the Rivers Casino. Perfect for business and leisure travelers since we are located near Philips, UPMC East, Oerlikon, Westinghouse and Cleveland Brothers as well as to Heinz Field, PNC Park, Kennywood and Sandcastle Waterpark. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville is the ideal hotel for visitors of universities like Pittsburgh, Duquesne, Robert Morris and Carnegie Mellon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Courtyard Monroeville
Monroeville Courtyard
Monroeville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing