We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Monroeville
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We briefly stayed at hotel on our way to NYC after visiting Pittsburgh. The location is very convenient. The staff at the front desk was very courteous at both check-in and check-out. The room was spacious enough; however, the sheets for the sofa were not provided. The room was pretty clean, even though the cleaning crew should pay a bit more attention to bathrooms and fridges (there was an open carton of milk in ours). We were able to enjoy the pool and the whirlpool (the water was a bit too hot). The Starbucks cafe in the lobby was pricey but what else can you expect from Starbucks. I would stay there again in a hearbeat (the price we got through Priceline is a big factor).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    72
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
64
33
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel. We had Centipedes in both our bed and the pack and play they gave us to use. The Manager and Asst Manager were very rude about the situation. They were not able to change our room and would not give a proper discount for the inconveince. Hotel as a whole looked dirty. The pool area was small and dingy and had shorts in their lights and they kept diming. I would stay at the Hampton or Doubletree next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville is located about 10 miles east from downtown Pittsburgh. It is located in the suburb of Monroeville and is conveniently situation nearby a gas station, mall and many other chain restaurants. If you are here to see the City of Pittsburgh, this location is fine provided you have a car. Be warned that the streets of Pittsburgh can be tricky to navigate through so for people unfamiliar with the city be sure to have an up-to-date GPS. Also, be advised that for whatever reason, construction occurs randomly and roads can be shut down - you will need to be patient (and this coming from someone used to rush hour in Toronto!) Parking never seems to be too difficult to find in Pittsburgh. I had a one year old with me and the driving distances from the downtown never seemed to cause a problem. And many attractions are spread out so it is nice to have a vehicle to get to each site.

The hotel itself is very clean. The lobby nice and presentable and is where one of the best continental breakfasts is served (starting at 6:30am weekdays, 7am weekends). There is also a little place to get some snack items (though likely at a cost - I always grabbed some readily available and free fruit at reception when entering the building). Our room was clean and perfect for travel with a little one. We got a crib with no problems. The room had a kitchen (stove, sink, fridge, coffee maker, cupboards with cutlery and glasses/mugs + tea). There was a table, living room with flat screen TV, bedroom with flat screen TV, and bathroom (toilet and tub separate from sink). The location of our bedroom was not adjoining another room which was nice when our child was cranky. I will say my big issue with the room was that the bed was definitely not comfortable. Having a bad back, I did wake with discomfort in the morning. Otherwise, I was very pleased with the room. Free Wi-Fi provided.

Booking the room was easy, and Marriott did send a follow-up reminder of our stay. Check-in was easy and the staff very helpful and accommodating. There is a nice outdoor fire pit with seating which looked very relaxing for those using it. There is a pool and workout room here, but I did not use them. The price we paid was terrific for 5 nights.

This is a great place for families, but for the party crowd I would recommend seeking a different location. It is a nice branch off place for people wanting to see a variety of Pittsburgh, or those with something in the Monroeville area. I would recommend not attempting to go into the downtown on a weekday 7-9am to avoid the rush hour traffic, unless of course you don't mind. For those vacationing in Pittsburgh there are a number of "don't miss" places including PNC Field to catch a Pirates game (great park, great fans), The Strip District (must go to Primanti's on 18th Street), Fallingwater (the Frank Lloyd Wright house - about an hour southeast of here), Andy Warhol Museum and the Cathedral of Learning/Phipp's Conservatory. If you have kids, the Carnegie Science Center and the Children's Museum seemed fun for the little ones.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent a week here as everything in Pittsburgh was booked and it was pretty much as we have come to expect from a Marriott, fairly decent but bland service. But we had one thing that put us right off the hotel, we left our pajamas on the bed and came back that night to find the bed unmade and a form note ticking off a line that stated that the bed could not be made due to clothing left on the bed. We have never seen anything as lame as this before and were, quite frankly, dumbfounded. Lots of hotels even fold up your pajamas and place them neatly on the bed, or most just put them to one side, but never have we been chastised and penalized for leaving pjs on a bed. Very strange. We complained and it was almost like we had to sign a waver to allow the room staff to touch our clothes, but they did make the bed from then on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatguy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, good bistro and easy checkin/out. There were several kids teams located at this hotel, so with my room near the elevator the kids were a bit loud. I was there to relax not for business, so it was okay.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms next to the elevators. I could also hear flushing from the room above me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raineydaydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times for Pens games over the past 2 years. It is now a newly renovated hotel with a great location outside the city and close to the Turnpike. Comfortable updated rooms and amenities, new fitness equipment, restaurant and bar in lobby with new seating area for relaxing. Lots of services (gas, restaurants, stores) close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Standard and good courtyard hotel. Good all around. Somewhat difficult to find since it is off the road

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroeville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 12 in Monroeville
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville/Wilkins Township
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville

Property: Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
Address: 3962 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146-2477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville hotel features a new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is 'The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.', providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning as well as evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Monroeville hotel is convenient to the Pittsburgh International Airport, Monroeville Convention Center and the Rivers Casino. Perfect for business and leisure travelers since we are located near Philips, UPMC East, Oerlikon, Westinghouse and Cleveland Brothers as well as to Heinz Field, PNC Park, Kennywood and Sandcastle Waterpark. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville is the ideal hotel for visitors of universities like Pittsburgh, Duquesne, Robert Morris and Carnegie Mellon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Courtyard Monroeville
Monroeville Courtyard
Monroeville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing