We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Veg food”
Review of Udipi Cafe

Udipi Cafe
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Good Veg food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the oldest Indian restaurants in US and very Good Veg food. The thali was very good.The dosa and the poori were good. But wish the accompaniment, the chutney and sambar were spicier. Conveniently located near the SV temple. make a trip after mandir visit is a must here...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brijendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Slightly above average!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a vegetarian Indian restaurant. we only tried the medhu vada, rava dosa and poori. The medhu vada tasted like it was just warmed in the oven. The dosa and the poori were good. But wish the accompaniment, the chutney and sambar were spicier. Conveniently located near the SV temple. Cheap to very ordinary looking ambience. Will do if you are hungry or want the vegetarian food before or after visiting the temple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a friendly Indian Restaurant !”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Food is average ! The service was really very poor ! Especially the manager was very rude ! The quality of food is definitely a question. The sambhar was very watery ! Coconut chutney was not fresh. Overall we didn't like the service and the food in the restaurant. Definitely not a good choice for Indian food in that area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank premalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It was WOW!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I travelled to the Sri Venkateswara Temple last weekend with my family and on my way I found this restaurant.
I saw on website that there are 2 more Indian Restaurants in the same place but this one had the maximum rating of all, 87 compared to 12 for the next highest. I decided to go there. First look at the restaurant was not that impressive but then I noticed that there is no space in the parking lot.
It must be something, I told to myself.
Went into the restaurant and inside also it did not look that impressive but I had to stand in a queue to get a place to sit. After 5-10 minutes I got a table.

Its a complete vegetarian South Indian restaurant. I ordered a plate of Idli and Vada. Also a plate of their starter platter. Both were awesome...

We tried their Palak Paneer and Baigan Bharta, and again, both exceeded my expectation. We also tried their Paneer Dosa and Sada Dosa. Both were good. Chutney and Samber was also good.

I had such a great South Indian food after all most two years. The total bill for 4 of us came to $55 or so. Looking at the quality of food, it did not look at all high to me.

If I ever visit the same place, I would surely go to the same place again.

Thumbs up for Udipi cafe! If you like South Indian food, it is a "must visit"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sourav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty Indian vegetarian food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I should say this restaurant has one of the best Indian (authentic) vegetarian food. Cooking is my hobby and believe me the food here was mouth watering. We had Medu wada, chole batura, Poori, Manchurian, Rava dosa, Samosa between four of us. Food was excellent. I would go here again any time.

The owner is from Karnataka and you get very authentic South Indian food such as Idli, Dosa, Vada etc. They also have good north Indian food.

The bad: Service not up to the mark, may this is due to lot of customers. We had ordered Mango lassi and never got it. The place is not so great looking and AC was not working properly. It was hot and little uncomfortable. The items are also pricey.

Finally, I should recommend this restaurant since the food was very good. The food is spicy, hot and tasty. Very authentic. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurudesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udipi Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Udipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing