We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Meals”
Review of Gia Visto

Gia Visto
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Murrysville, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Meals”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here last night for the first time and had two excellent meals. My wife had spaghetti and meatballs and I had the rigatoni with a braised lamb Bolognese. The pasta in both dishes was done to perfection and i thoroughly enjoyed the braised lamb Bolognese twist. We also enjoyed that it was BYOB.

We also had a very nice apple crisp with vanilla gelato that we shared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steeler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Some of the best food in the area. So many homemade items, love the asparagus appetizer and the risotto balls, not to mention the awesome pastas....and deserts! The staff is ok, not always quick... but not really an issue. They are great with kids however, and have once monthly cooking classes on Saturdays for children that my son loved. I recommend sitting in the front room as it is a casual and fun atmosphere, back room is more formal. Don't forget it is BYOB!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SASY302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Gia Visto (formerly La Cucina Dolce) remains our favorite Italian Restaurant. The chef is creative and innovative yet "standards" like Spaghetti and Meatballs are still on the menu. The atmosphere is quaint, but small. The service is kind and knowledgeable of the menu and the specials. This restaurant reminds me of having dinner with my Northern Italian Great Grandma! You don't go for fancy bells and whistles, but the food is 5 star!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better visit the second time around”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Gia Visto and I had to say it was a much better experience than the first. The service was MUCH better and we were seated right away. The food was just was great as the last time we visited. They keep up with the good service and this place will blossom! We will definitely be returning. If you are looking for a BYOB with italian food that has the basics but also some different items, please check this place out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skells716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Versailles, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at Best...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Formerly La Cucina Dolce - this Italian food is so-so. We used to really enjoy La Cucina back in the day - but aside from the name - something has changed with the food. Quality and quantity have really been lacking over the last two visits. The salads and bread were good though our main entrees were not impressive at all. They lacked in flavor and quantity. The interior is still as charming and inviting as ever. The service is usually friendly (though sometimes slow, passive and forgetful). Prices are a bit elevated for the small amount of food that you receive. It gets crowded quickly so advanced reservations are recommended (either that or plan an early bird dinner). You may BYOB to this establishment which is nice though there is a cork fee (which I find absurd in restaurants that offer such a "service").

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnysMommy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gia Visto also viewed

 

Been to Gia Visto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing