We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad......possibly understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cincy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad......possibly understaffed”
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Room was very clean. Not very big, the two double beds were squeezed in the bedroom and the fold out sofa took up the whole front entrance to the room. Nice to have both a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was pretty good, a lot of choices, kept well stocked during busy mornings. Only complaint was with the staff. We arrived at 5:00 pm, well past check in to find out our room wasn't ready. Took them about 10 minutes to switch rooms for us and then the key card doesn't work. They apparently knew the lock was malfunctioning, so I'm not sure why nthey switched us there. Took about another 20 minutes to get us into a different room after various tries at reprogramming the key card, rebooting the computer, etc.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank RJB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
101
28
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

Having read reviews of this hotel prior to staying for 3 nights I was concerned about the potential noise from the toll booths out back. My concerns intensified when my advance booking request (via Amex) for a front-side room vanished into the ether and I was stuck with a second floor room with a lovely view of the turnpike. Thankfully I found the soundproofing to be totally adequate and the room to be acceptably quiet (and I'm a light sleeper).

In other areas the hotel was clean, staff polite, continental breakfast adequate...in other words an average business hotel.

Helpful?
Thank chozzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stopped at this hotel while driving between Washington DC and northern Indiana. Although the room was perfectly adequate and we were not bothered by traffic noise (as reported by other reviewers), we had no hot water in our room when we woke that morning. We let the water run for over a half hour to see if it would get hot. It didn't. The front desk clerk offered the spectacularly unhelpful suggestion of turning the water off and back on again. We never got hot water and had to get back on the road.

When we later called the general manager to discuss an appropriate price reduction, she offered only a small reduction and said that when the desk clerk went up to the room there was hot water. She was curt, unapologetic and seemed to be questioning the validity of our claim.

I would certainly not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

This is basically a single-person-suite hotel for business folks (based on the room I was in) although there were a few sports teams and couples around. Very basic but quality furniture, well laid out, clean, and convenient for the business I had to do. Lots of newspapers, help finding delivered food, clear directions to close-by eats, and high speed, free. Staff was nice and seemed competent. This is one that reflects the new Marriott philosophy of changing sheets, and 'really' cleaning every other night or so, so if you're looking for luxury and pampering without asking, this ain't it. The pool is smaaaaalllll, so if you plop two kids in, the third will have to wait. Bkfst was ok, with a varied cold selection (bagels, toast, some fat pills, cereal, juices). A hot thing was provided every morning. The company paid this time, but at the rates I see, I wouldn't mind dropping in on my own dime for a night.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2004

We stayed there on a Tuesday nite in anticipation of moving in to U Pitt. THe room was compact but clean and bright with 2 full beds, and the other room had a couch and a nice comfy chair a desk and fridge. There were 2 TV's.
More than we needed but very comfy. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice, and to our amazement, in the evening they had yummy looking cakes and brownies, pies, and even some soups and pot roasts. We went out to eat so we were not hungy but who know- next time maybe. We heard the food was really good. What a nice addition.
The staff was extremely nice, and I guess we were not on the side with the toll booth becuase we heard no noise.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2004

Upon our recent stay at this hotel, we were not aware, until we were already in our bed , how loud the toll plaza on the one side of the hotel was even with the air cond/fan on high. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, but even a higher floor on the same side was too loud. We suggest to book a room on the side facing away from the toll road if you like to sleep at night. Otherwise the room seemed spacious and clean.But we had to switch hotels because the noise was so unbearable.

Helpful?
6 Thank drw2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2004

I chose the hotel for our honeymoon. I booked it on the internet (to be honest it was because of the price!) so I didn't know quite what to expect. We were getting married and have a small baby. We didn't want to travel away from home, but just wanted a couple of days together. This hotel was perfect!! The staff was awesome and the room was absolutely gorgeous. We booked a jacuzzi suite and it was literrally our "home away from home". The kitchen area was perfect, the livingroom with the TV was very cool, but the best was the jacuzzi!! Great jet action and they placed little red candles all around the jacuzzi and on the nightstands. Very romantic!!

The only thing bad I would have to say was the location of the hotel and the proximity to the toll booth for the turnpike. But, we were so exhausted from the wedding hussle and bussle, we didn't mind. After all, we were on our honeymoon!! What's a little noise, huh?

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroeville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 12 in Monroeville
209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville/Wilkins Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Address: 122 Daugherty Dr, Monroeville, PA 15146-2710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing