We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
243 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for one night. The rooms have a mini kitchen which is nice if you are staying longer and they also offer free breakfast in the morning which was also nice. The only reason I didn't give a higher review is that this hotel over looks the turnpike exit and they were doing construction during the night...by the time I got back to my room from working all day it was 10:30 at night and I was too exhausted to change rooms. The construction workers were loud and I could throw baseball to them that's how close the hotel is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our various amenities and free, newly designed breakfast. We strive to provide a comfortable environment for those travelling either for business or leisure. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience of the turnpike construction and the subsequent noise. We have made numerous attempts to contact the PA Turnpike Authority to better understand their schedule, in order to let our guests know. Unfortunately, they have been unable to communicate when this construction will be occurring. We hope that once this project is finished, you will stay with us again for an uninterrupted night of rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    75
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
97
27
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel itself was fine...clean, up to date, etc. The noise from the interstate and toll booth was ridiculous. Our room was on the backside of the hotel. The semis started rolling through the toll booth at about 4:30 am. It sounded like they were rolling through our room. I would not stay here again for this reason. It's really too bad because the room was great.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
While we are very happy that you enjoyed our newly remodelled hotel, we apologize for the regrettable noise from the Turnpike. We have put in place various protocol to try to prevent guest dissatisfaction regarding this matter. We are always striving to find ways to make our guest's stay more enjoyable, and we welcome any and all suggestions for improvement. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Not far from downtown Pittsburgh. Not in a very good area for eating or shopping. Everything was closed early. Beds were comfortable and room was spacious. Descent breakfast. Lemon water, cappuccino, hot chocolate and soft chocolate chip cookies available at check in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and nice comments regarding our complimentary amenities. We endeaver to create a welcoming environment with all the comforts of home. We are very sorry that you were unable to enjoy our immediate area more. Our front desk associates are very knowledgeable about places in the Pittsburgh area that have the best shopping, restaurants and nightlife. They are always happy to share their knowledge with our guests and if they don't know something, they will quickly find the information that our guest's are looking for. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Yesterday we (mom, dad, 2 kids) arrived a little after 12 PM, hoping to check in early if possible. The front desk lady made it plain by her demeanor that we were a bother. She said flatly that check-in was at 3:00. I said, "No problem, can you make a call to housekeeping to see if a room might come available before 3?" She said, "I cannot tell you an exact time." I did not ask for an exact time. Again, we were a bother.

I don't know if her response and demeanor were a result of company policy, poor attitude toward customers or just plain laziness. It doesn't matter.

We cancelled the reservation and had a great stay at the Doubletree just a mile down the road. Incidentally, the front desk at the Doubletree was 5 stars!

For those who care, this is a franchised Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I was appalled when the Assistant Manager relayed to me what had happened. The associate that you spoke with that day is not longer employed here. We take our customer service very seriously and will not tolerate anything that affects our guest's satisfaction. I'm sure that if you chose to stay with us again, you would see that we offer "6" star service. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience and would like the opportunity to prove to you our level of professionalism and customer service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked in late at night after our first day of 12 hours of road. Feeling exhausted and looking ragged my family was chomping at the bit to check in and catch the overtime of the Penguins/Bruins game. Carolyn at the front desk checked us in quickly and we were able to catch the Bruins win. The next morning April was at the bkfst buffet and provided a friendly smile and welcome conversation. Since it was raining our plans for Kennywood were nixed but she made some suggestions of things to do in Pittsburg. We went to the Heinz museum which I would highly recommend to get a feel of the city's history.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for one night on our journey. Hotel was updated and absolutely spotless. Would definitely stay again. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Hot breakfast, free, even included cappachino machine. A winner at a decent price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had 2 days to rest up in the hotel on our road trip while our granddaughter visited her aunt in Pittsburgh. We had no place to go until check in time the first day, but Brittany, who is very nice, let us check in late morning. Her name tag hometown said Fredericksburg, PA, but should be VA. They had tried to add an h to the end like Pittsburgh, but when they tried to fix it they changed it PA. I guess she gave up. She also recommended a good restaurant to get a steak at lunch (Steel City Steakhouse on Mosside Blvd). Hats off to April Brinza, the breakfast manager who is very friendly and all the guests love her demeanor and the fantastic spread every morning. The housekeepers and maintenance man were also good to us and we appreciate it. The reviews are correct in that the hotel backs up to the PA Turnpike toll booth, but we hardly could tell due to the thick drapes and thick window glass. If that concerns you ask for a room in the front.

We like SpringHill Suites because the rooms are larger than most Marriotts. We had 2 queens, but if you get a king, the partitioned living area is larger. The area of concern was that the hotel ownership has opted to provide no digital or HD channels on the flat screen LG's. 100% analog, except for the Monroeville community affairs channel is digital. I would not stay here again if we were going to be in the hotel most of the day and evening again. Otherwise, I would have given an excellent rating. The hotel does provide the Pittsburgh paper in addition to the USA Today. Also, it is close to the Monroeville Mall and many restaurants nearby, including an Outback Steakhouse within walking distance. There is a miniature golf course within a block.
In addition to easy access to the Turnpike, I-376 is nearby and will zip you right into downtown Pittsburgh. Monroeville is a very nice suburb.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front do not back up to the Turnpike. Try to avoid being across from the ice machine ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroeville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 11 in Monroeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville/Wilkins Township
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Address: 122 Daugherty Dr, Monroeville, PA 15146-2710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing