We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday brunch”

Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Millheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Returning from state college, we stopped into Elk Creek Cafe. They were serving Sunday brunch. I had a cheeseburger made from local cheese and grass fed beef. It was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeD_Carribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“entertainment/music always good, clientelle?”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Cover charges are steep for a place in the boonies. Last visit-$12. The few times I've been there the entertainment is always above par. The clientelle is odd- everyone looks like they grow their own food, buy their clothes at Goodwill and bring their small children, a lot of lesbian couples (which is all fine) but at the same time, the place can be very pretentious and unfriendly if you're not a local. Even if there are open seats at the bar, don't dare sit down. You'll get a tap on the shoulder and asked if you "checked in" (?).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PAM52182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Out of the way, worth the drive”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Friends recommended this place. It was a forty mile drive to the middle of nowhere but it was worth it. Went for lunch. Limited menu choices but all looked good. Wife had the shitaki wrap and I had the schnitzel sandwich, both were quite tasty. I also had the carrot cake, very good. But the true star here is the beer. I tried several and they were great, I should have tried the sampler they were offering. The place was quite loud, that would be the only negative. Overall a very good lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy little discovery”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Was staying in State College for a long weekend and at the suggestion of a few faculty members we tried this place out. It's a little gem in the area. Seems to be of a higher quality than most restaurants in State College. The food is very satisfying and the atmosphere is fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unterwegsbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ales, food, and atmosphere done right; relaibly good and fresh food; a hip crowd; hidden gem away from State College”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is one of those places that you want to keep a secret but it is too good not to share with friends. We were told about Elk Creek burgers a few years ago and from the first visit it has been ideal. The proprietor, a nice fellow named Tim, introduced himself to us on the first visit. One in our group happened to be wearing a t-shirt from an Oregon ale house and he explained that Elk Creek was largely influenced by the Pacific Northwest style. We concur that his was a winning model.

As mentioned, the burgers were the first appeal. The beef is by far the freshest we have tasted in PA. Our preparation of choice is medium well, with cheddar. Although the bun can be a bit large removing the top portion provides just enough bread for dipping into any remaining spread, or for dabbing up salad dressing. Although we favor the burger, the meatloaf, salads, homemade potato chips, fries, hummus, salmon, and the turkey wrap all taste spectacular. Be sure to check the chalkboard next to the bar for specials we have had chili (oh-yeah) and trout (as good as when camping).

There are some very tasty ales; perhaps try the sampler to get a bearing on the flavor and aroma that is most appealing as each has a distinct note alone and with different dishes.

The crowd has always been very chic, locals and visitors alike; everyone is friendly in here. In particular, this is the place to go when you want to get away from the Penn State climate (nothing Nittany in there). The large windows, the color of the walls and the wood, and the local artists' works on the walls make for a bright and jovial setting. Live weekend music that we have heard include folk and bluegrass artists that make for a good vibe, although it may not be ideal for the conversational endeavors.

Although some folks may find the trek a bit cumbersome, we find that it only adds to the experience as Millheim has a great sense of community.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanBeachSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks also viewed

 

Been to Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing