We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Eats in the Area!”

Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Millheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Yeagertown PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Eats in the Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Elk Creek Cafe use the freshest locally sourced foods available, you can taste the difference with the first bite. Everything on the menu is gourmet quality and country goodness delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nhivefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beer, comforting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Elk Creek Cafe & Aleworks is a bit of a drive from State College (35-40 mins), but well worth the trip. The cafe is of modest size in a general store size storefront. The tables are nicely spaced and the decor is simple.
The beer is consistently good with a good variety of brews - all satisfying. The food is the simple comfort variety and the chef does try to use local farm / provider products. The service is attentive and prompt.
Try to make reservations just to ensure prompt seating, especially on the weekends. The cafe also has music on the weekends - check their website or call for listings of events.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucykat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Call first”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Be sure to call first as they do book private events and close the restaurant. This poor review is due to the terrible things the staff told us about other restaurants in the area. There are ways to say things without being rude..."the place has typical bar fare" as opposed to "they only use frozen food." According to the staff there is only one worthwhile restaurant - 45 mins away in Boalsburg. Being from the area, this is not quite true. I would not want to be their business neighbor!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The beer, at least, is always good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Really, better than "average", but not "very good".

We were delighted the first time we went to ECC. (Love that they are great supporters of local farmers and have established a loyal following in such a small town.) Since then it's been more of a mixed bag. I've had fabulous mussels and Steak Frites that just wasn't very good. (Go figure.) I've decided it's best to stick to basic, uncomplicated food and to enjoy the beer.

Most recently, we hoped to eat there on a busy (Penn State event) weekend. My husband called and was told they weren't taking more reservations, there might be a wait, but we would be seated. We got out there and were told that, no, we would not be seated without a reservation and that there was no way we would have been told otherwise. (Essentially, they called my Boy Scout hubby a liar.) My husband was getting ready to leave town on a business trip and there was no way in h*ll we would have driven out there if there was a chance we would not be served. Sadly, we have not been back since.

Obviously, most people would not have this problem and to them I say-- "Order something simple and enjoy the beer". :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A favorite stop in the Penn State area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fresh, locally-grown food; a small, but extremely well-prepared list of items. Relaxed, open and airy ambience of a restaurant/bar, hip-crowd joint. Impressive selection of super beers; get the sampler and a designated driver! Eclectic live music at bearable volumes through the evenings.
This place is the best-kept secret in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barkley_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks also viewed

 

Been to Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing