We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Fallingwater

Fallingwater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mill Run
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a rock above a gushing waterfall, this historic house was built for a Pittsburgh family by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930s, ingeniously designed to blend harmoniously into the tranquil and beautiful woods around it.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Worth the trip to visit this amazing architectural gem. Visitors center is very nice and appropriate to the area. Be sure to make reservations in advance on the website. Can be quiet warm in the house. During the summer, a tour before noon may be best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lewisgirlnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,615
    278
    43
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fallingwater is so unique and enchanting, you can tour it again and again. It was quite crowded the last time we visited, but the tour crew were quite organized, so the wait that we experienced was not long. The tour is interesting to young and old. The area surrounding Fallingwater is beautiful, so there's much to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKubick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An amazing work of art”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

You don't have to be a fan of building architecture or construction techniques to enjoy a visit to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. There is a good deal of walking on the tour, but the setting is beautiful. A trip to visit Fallingwater will not disappoint.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 479DeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have wanted to see for so long and it exceeded expectation”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My family and I are FLW fans, especially my 11 year old son. We have been planning this trip for a while. I made reservations for the in depth tour (4:30) a couple months ago and was glad because it did sell out. Once the big day came, I was a little nervous that the home wouldn't live up to the hype. Well, it did. Quite simply-- spectacular. Make sure to go early enough to eat and shop and wander the grounds. The parking lot is very near gift shop if you have a late tour and need to shop first and store your things. Umbrellas are plentiful /available to everyone, so don't bring your own. It rained on our tour briefly, but that didn't spoil things. The food at the cafe was excellent. Go to Fallingwater!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyC767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rising while Falling!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is quite simply the finest piece of American architecture. Ever.
We toured Fallingwater many years ago, but this time we did the two-hour in-depth tour, and I can thoroughly recommend it. You really get under the skin of the property. Worth arriving at least an hour early to wander the grounds and take the plethora of photographs that (I guarantee) you will want to take! Every new angle offers a new perspective (in all senses of the word!). I've been an FLW fan since I was about 9 or 10, so to have been lucky enough to visit twice, well, it's bucket-list stuff, squared!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallingwater also viewed

 

Been to Fallingwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing