We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! This tour exceeded my expectations”
Review of Fallingwater

Fallingwater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mill Run
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a rock above a gushing waterfall, this historic house was built for a Pittsburgh family by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930s, ingeniously designed to blend harmoniously into the tranquil and beautiful woods around it.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! This tour exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having toured many Frank Lloyd Wright buildings, I was excited to learn that Fallingwater would be open during our visit over the Christmas holidays. The staff at the site is very helpful. Our tour guide, Caitlin, was knowledgeable, personable, and entertaining. The house itself is incredible. The views from the snow covered terraces are fantastic. The furnishings are well preserved just as the Kaufmann family left te house. A wonderful tour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladyvol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,591
    275
    40
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I learnt about Frank Lloyd Wright and Fallingwater in Modern History in high school and when I realised I would be travelling near it I had to get there. So I stayed in Connellsville on my way to Pittsburgh just to visit Fallingwater. It didn't disappoint. This house is just amazing and the tour through it is fantastic. I unfortunately can't remember the name of our guide but he was so enthusiastic, it really made the visit. The day I visited it was raining so we were given umbrellas to walk down with and had to use every time we went out on balconies so we didn't wet the inside of the house which was good. One of the highlights of my trip through the USA.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vargasgirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place but read the restrictions before.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited on a chilly snowy day and it was very nice. No crowds. A very short easy walk to the house from the visitors center. Slightly slippery. Easy to see why this his most popular home. Disappointed that inside photos were not allowed. Guide was slightly robotic and needed encouragement to tell stories, but was informative.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful visit, difficult with wheelchair and no children under 6 allowed”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beautiful house and surroundings. Difficult to visit with a wheelchair because of the gravel and terrain. First floor of house can be visited and the staff provided a chair, second floor, through narrow doorways has to be done entirely on foot. Same applied for the third floor. The person can sit on the beds of the rooms. No children under 6 allowed. There is a Family Room on the premises, simple but with bathroom. More suitable for under 3-4. Surrounding woods are beautiful and can be accessed with stroller. Allow at least 2 hours for visit. Cafe on grounds, with soups and sandwiches, and Gift Shop with regular prices.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arielle L, Social Media and Advertising Coordinator at Fallingwater, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Ariana! Thank you so much for visiting us at Fallingwater! We noticed that you mentioned about children being unable to go on tour. If you are interested, we do offer a children's tour at Fallingwater. The tour includes a combination of hands-on activities and a guided tour of selected rooms in Fallingwater, Children explore basic structural principles and see how a house can be inspired by nature. The tour is designed for young children and a parent to enjoy together. The children's tour lasts about one hour. Thank you again for your visit! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

On a recent trip to Philadelphia, we went 7 hours out of our way to visit Fallingwater. It was totally worth the trip! Having visited Taliesin West in Arizona several years ago, we had also wanted to see Fallingwater. We were fortunate that the weather co-operated and it was an unseasonably warm day, with the rain deciding to stop about 15 minutes before we arrived. The house is spectacular with amazing architectural details. We did the standard guided house tour (not the in depth one). It was the right length - it took just over an hour. We were not able to take any pictures on this tour, but we could go take pictures outside afterwards. The guide was very knowledgeable and answered everyone's questions. If you are planning a visit, be aware that there are lots of stairs to climb in the house. I am glad we made the journey!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wloo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallingwater also viewed

 

Been to Fallingwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing