We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing house”
Review of Fallingwater

Fallingwater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mill Run
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a rock above a gushing waterfall, this historic house was built for a Pittsburgh family by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930s, ingeniously designed to blend harmoniously into the tranquil and beautiful woods around it.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The house was awesome the tour guide was a young self absorbed girl who spoke down to people and enjoyed hearing herself talk. The tour was ok. I would encourage seeing this in the fall. The cafe was extremely overpriced but we expected as much. If we were to do it again I would do the self guided for more money instead of hearing that particular tour guide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JS474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,695
    284
    47
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Long awaited visit to an architectural icon.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Ever since we saw Fallingwater on a documentary years ago, we vowed we would one day visit, and were lucky enough to tour on a warm autumn day in early October. The visitors' center is a well laid out open plan hub with amenities and shops feeding off the center covered boardwalk. Tours leave every six minutes, and our group of eight was directed to follow the path along through picturesque forrest for five minutes until the familiar shape of the Kaufman house appeared looming through the autumn foliage. We were met at the bridge/driveway by Susan, our knowledgeable guide, who led us on a military precise tour of the inside of this three storey, and apparently gravity defying, sculpture. Although several groups being led by guides are inside the house at any given time, the house does not appear cluttered as each group moves from room to room, cross crossing each other's paths at what appears is a well choreographed manoeuvre to ensure everyone sees everything. The house is furnished with Frank Lloyd Wright designed furniture and fixtures and the function, style and intended effect is explained in detail. Many of the design features of this house set a benchmark and became standard in future house design. I was amazed to see cafe doors leading onto a balcony and frameless corner glass in a house of this era. There is a strict "No Touch" policy in the house, as there are no barriers or covers on furniture or ornaments to detract from the overall effect intended by the architect. Also, photography is not allowed inside the house. Once outside, we were free to wander the grounds and take photos, and were directed to vantage points to obtain that "classic" Fallingwater shot that has become world famous. Although there were many people touring the house on the day we were there, patience will reward you with some clear shots when no one is on one of the many balconies. We spent two and a half hours at Fallingwater and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyJay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“On our way back to Florida”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On our trip from New Hampshire back to Florida, we took a side trip (quite out of the way) to Fallingwater in Mill Run, PA. It was definitely worth the trip! What a beautiful location, Frank Lloyd Wright building was amazing. To tour the house you have to purchase your tickets in advance and they do sell out for the day. I highly recommend that everyone visit this attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“WORTH THE TRIP”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Yes it is quite a drive from just about everywhere, but it is worth it. To see how this home was constructed, mostly by hand without much heavy machinery is impressive. The rural setting, trees and rushing water is so peaceful. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept the tour interesting, not at all boring. Went with 20 year old son who agreed it was worth the trip.

Best to get reservations. Tours booked in advance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Yes. Get There!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The site is just great, get you tickets well in advance. There is a place to eat and the food is well done. There is also a gift shop that should be visited. You can walk around the site and take pictures, but if you want to take photos of the interior you will need to book a photo tour. These sell out fast, so book early. There are lots of steps and many passages are narrow. Another Frank Lloyd Wright home that is a must see is " Kentuck Knob ". It is very near Fallingwater. You can do both in one day. The number is 724-329-1901. Dress for the weather since about half of the tour is outside. Those that need wheelchairs or the like should call first since both sites have hills, steps and narrow areas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallingwater also viewed

 

Been to Fallingwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing