We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fallingwater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fallingwater

Fallingwater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mill Run
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a rock above a gushing waterfall, this historic house was built for a Pittsburgh family by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930s, ingeniously designed to blend harmoniously into the tranquil and beautiful woods around it.
Luzerne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fallingwater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just amazing. Especially since it started in 1936. So many nooks and crannies in such small areas. Huge house that accommodated staff also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,549
    265
    36
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
832 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,501 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Even for the Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to seeing Frank Lloyd Wright’s famous Fallingwater which was build for the Kaufmanns who owned the premier Pittsburg department store. However, we were skeptical of the interest that the kids would have so we decided just to buy tickets for the grounds and gardens. To our surprise, our 12 and 14 year olds were very interested and we thought we probably should have bought tickets to tour the home but one of the members of the staff pointed out that we still we allowed some limited access to the first floor and the guest house with the grounds only pass which provided us with a reasonable feel for the whole. We found the staff to be knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Go in the fall when the leaves are at their peak for the best experience, but anytime is great. If you go after a rainy spell, the water will be running through and it's an amazing experience. What a masterpiece of architecture!

Helpful?
Thank momoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“" Will visit again "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A nationally known attraction. Should be on your list to visit. I have visited other frank Lloyd Wright attractions, and like Fallingwater the best. The grounds are very well kept, tour guides are extremely knowledgeable. The architecticure incorporates futuristic design which must be seen to really appreciate..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous historic house with a great story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is very well-done and a real treat to visit. It can be a little pricey, but it can't be cheap maintaining a property like this. The photography restriction inside also seems overblown, especially considering it is lifted if you pay for a premium tour - probably the only reason it didn't rate 5 stars. Each tour has its own twist, depending on the guide - most are very well-informed, interesting, and love to tell their stories.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallingwater also viewed

 

Been to Fallingwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing