We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking place but some things lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice looking place but some things lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Recently stayed here for one night before bringing our daughter to Camp Woodward. The hotel looks very new inside and out. Check in is 3pm, we arrived at 2:45 only to be told our room was not ready so had to wait about 5 minutes. On the plus side, hotel was overbooked so we were upgraded to a suite, which is really just a bigger room with sitting area and kitchenette, not 2 separate rooms. We asked the front desk clerk for directions to camp as we had forgotten ours at home, but she had no idea how to get there. Then we just asked how to get to Route 45 since we knew camp was on that road and she couldn't help with that either. Frustrating as you would expect staff to be familiar with local area. Later on we found business center had computers available so we just looked it up ourselves. It would have been nice if clerk had pointed this out to us instead of having no info and no suggestions as to where we could get it.

Took kids to the pool which was empty at first but soon filled up. No problem except that 2 obnoxious teenage boys arrived and took over half of the pool, leaving all other kids to squeeze in the other half. They broke a floating volleyball net that was provided and then proceeded to slam the ball against the walls in the room so that the ball was flying all over the place, narrowly missing hitting numerous people. They were there unsupervised, and another guest kept telling them to cut it out, that they were going to hurt someone. The boys had an answer for everything. We called down to front desk and asked for the manager on duty but he was gone for the day, at 4PM on a Saturday! Told the same front desk clerk about the situation and she said she couldn't make them leave because their parents were paying guests. What about all of us other paying guests who deserve to use the facilities without worrying about being hit by flying balls???? Ridiculous answer in my opinion.....went back after dinner and pool was empty again. Hope the parents of those boys read this....

Room was spacious, very up to date and nicely furnished. A few annoying things though....bathroom door was warped and did not close all of the way and the shower/toilet area was very dim and had no ventilation fan. The closet was pretty much unusable (although we didn't need it) as doors kept falling off track and half of the closet was behind the sink (very weird setup). Kitchenette had no paper plates/plastic utensils which is pretty standard for hotels, no trash bags in any trash cans so food trash just went all over can. There were only blackout drapes for windows so you either had to have them completely open for daylight and everyone could see in or completely closed like you lived in a cave. They also ran out of pool towels at 7pm so we had to get regular bath towels from the front desk, yet the hamper in the pool area was full of wet towels that obviously just needed to be washed.

We never expect any place to be perfect and are not a bunch of picky nuts but there were so many little things that were lacking that we can't rate this hotel higher. In general the staff was friendly but upon checkout, the clerk (a different one) didn't even ask how our stay was.

This hotel is fine if you need a place for the night off of Route 80 but I don't think I would stay longer than that and will probably try somewhere else next time we are heading to camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    117
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
212
99
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were driving from NYC to Chicago and did not have reservations. Our family was ready to get off the road and relax. We were extremely lucky to have gotten the very last room in the hotel. We ended up in a king suite which was lovely. Very spacious, clean and a wonderful view of the mountains. Plenty of room for our family of five. Fresh fruit was available in the lobby in the evening and breakfast was fresh and offered many healthy options that the kids liked. The location was perfect. The pool and hot tub were very clean and large. Overall very nice hotel and a nice value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1erin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Cannot say enough good things about our brief stay at this hotel. I have a large family with 4 kids. We arrived in the middle of the night with from New York. It was easy to find right off the insterstate. The front desk clerk was accommodating. The suite was quite spacious to handle my whole family with two queen beds, a pullout couch, and a chair with footrest just the right size for my 4 year old son! We keep Strict Kosher and the breakfast person was super nice in working with me and showing me a list of what was Kosher for breakfast. First time at a Hampton Hotel but it will not be the last. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: If a large family like mine, ask for the suite and spend a few more dollars, well wirth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGroveFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Marketing17751, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
I am so glad we had a room and Kosher items to accomodate your family needs. Thank You for your kind words and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were passing through after a long day on the road. The parking lot was mostly empty but we were told that all they had left was suites..? So, being exhausted, we booked for $150. The 3rd floor room was very large, with very classy linens and pillows, comfy armchair and sleeper sofa. The view towards the mountains was just plain stunning. Breakfast was very good, as is usually the case with Hampton Inns. However, one odd thing disturbed our sleep: there were no heavy curtains on the windows (yes, we had two huge windows)--just sheer drapes that opened and closed, with heavy, decorative side drapes that did NOT close--we tried.(They were fixed narrow pieces along the sides of the windows.) So, the sun came up at 5 a.m.....and that was the end of our night's sleep. It's the first hotel I've stayed in anywhere that did not have heavy curtains, blackout drapes, or even shades. I should think that on the ground floor, privacy could be an issue at night. Maybe it's because the hotel is new --?

Room Tip: Ask about blackout curtains--esp. in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Marketing17751, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank You for bringing that to our attention. I am so sorry that the early sunrise shining through out drapeless windows awoke you. I am fowarding your comments and concerns to our General Manager. Thank You for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

When we couldn't find a hotel in Williamsport, we booked this one in Lamar. The location is pretty remote, except that it's right off route 80. Despite its proximity to the highway, the hotel is situated so nicely that you can't hear highway or truck noises. The farmland and mountains surrounding the hotel are serene and beautiful. Our room was huge--I could have stayed a long time! It was probably bigger that it needed to be--but it was nice not to feel closed in as I worked at my computer at the large workspace. (I work from our room while my husband works at a nearby plant.) This would be a great place to stay if we need to come here for a longer time. We had a clean kitchen area with counter top, sink, microwave, coffeemaker and fridge. There were 2 queen beds, a nice workspace, comfy chair and not quite so comfy couch. We also like to use the pool when we stay at a hotel. This one was a little chilly, but once I started swimming it was OK. It was big enough to actually swim a little. There's a hot tub and a "patio" which is really mostly parking lot, but not too many cars go back there, so I guess that's ok. You'd have to drag your own chair outside, as there aren't any chairs out there. There were quite a few kids here in the evening--the hotel was pretty full-- so I only used the pool during the day. I don't mind kids, and I don't feel like I'm entitled to a private pool--so that was fine. It seems like a pretty good place for families. Also, the lobby is nice and breakfast was not bad. The fruit was fresh, which is not the case at most Hamptons. I would definitely come back here! And if the weather is nice next time, I'll spend a little time at Bald Eagle State Park, which is about 20 min away and has a nice lake. Also, the Woolrich Company store is about 15 min away--a great place to go, but if you go often, sign up for the email list so you can get coupons. The prices are pretty high.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Marketing17751, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
I am glad you enjoyed our location, the surroundings are beautiful here and we hope to have you back again soon, it is so pretty in the fall as well. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West Az
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We always stay at the Hampton Inn in Lamar when visiting Lock Haven because it's consistantly good - friendly - clean - comfortable beds - nice breakfast. Work out facility is nice but had to ask them to turn on the air. Of course the internet was free and I don't know if it was because we are hilton honors or if free to all.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scwretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Marketing17751, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank You so much for the kind comments. I am happy to hear we could help with the air in the fitness room. Guest satsifaction is very important to us and hope to see you again soon.

Thank You,
Heather Muthler
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Cleanliness is king and it's a good motel that is clean. The room we stayed in was well executed with updated furnishings and bedding (do be careful though since the mattress top moves easily away from the base and the base edges protrude out which can be a tripping hazard).The continental breakfast, the table area, and especially the employee who made sure everything was properly set up and maintained, were definitely better than is found at most other motels and a pleasure to have experienced!

In the two rooms we rented, they did not have a refrigerator, nor was the sink area separated from the bathroom which is apparently the case with some of the rooms in this motel, therefore, if these are important features be sure to ask about them before booking the room. The front desk employees could have expressed some enthusiasm but promptly provided all the necessary services. A major drawback for us was that the indoor pool was extremely cold rendering it fairly useless for young children to use comfortably (we arrived too late to ask management if they could increase the heat in the pool). The Internet connection was not secure, per a message that popped up and was confirmed with the front desk.

It just seems to me that all the motels we've stayed in for the past several years are all priced beyond their value when all they are providing is a standard room with no exceptional amenities. The price for this motel was right in line with the higher price charged at most motels these days, which is too high in my opinion, but the cleanliness and better continental breakfast and its presentation helped to offset a little the higher room pricing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Hall
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in Mill Hall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lock Haven
BEST WESTERN Lock Haven
#1 of 2 in Lock Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
22.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
Address: 24 Hospitality Ln, Mill Hall, PA 17751-8988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mill Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar Hotel Mill Hall
Hampton Inn And Suites Lamar
Hampton Inn Mill Hall
Mill Hall Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing