We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend!”
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fauchere
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We picked Hotel Fauchere for a weekend get together with some friends and a bit of leaf peeping and it was a resounding success. From the hotel and dinner reservations to check in, to breakfast the experience was unrivaled. And I have to compliment the entire staff for handling our myriad of special requests quickly and professionally.
All of the rooms are extremely well kept and comfortable. The decor is a bit understated and, as some other reviewers have noted, bath functionality might not be perfect but it doesn't detract from the overall great experience. And this hotel has the most comfortable beds!
The food deserves a special mention (both Delmonico Room and Bar Louis) and is a revelation. Our special Chef's menu was hands down one of the most memorable meals I have ever had. The bar and restaurant staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.
This is Pocono's hidden gem and a perfect place to get away from it all. Please check it out. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilT1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauchere1823, General Manager at Hotel Fauchere, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind endorsement of our accommodations. We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our food and service. A special note; we have renovated several of the aforementioned bath room features which you noted for their imperfections in functionality. Mainly we have removed many of the tubs in favor of walk in showers. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    66
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
249
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and the lady at the reception is efficient and helpful. The rooms are decorated in a minimalist, almost contemporary style but are comfortable. The view from our room on the 3rd floor was beautiful. However, in terms of the dining experience this place has some rough edges. We had dinner and breakfast here and the food was barely passable. My husband ordered a burger and his patty was the size of a tennis ball; needless to say exceptionally low on flavor. My french onion soup was so salty I could barely finish it. However when I bought it to the attention of the staff they promptly took the soup off the bill, which was quite considerate. The breakfast experience was lousy. My coffee cup was stained and the cutlery had crusted leftovers stuck to it. This is quite shoddy given the league the hotel claims to be in. To top it we didn't want scones that come with the continental breakfast and we asked the waitress to substitute them with croissants and if they weren't able to substitute to just charge us the croissants which by the way are on the menu as sides. Instead this waitress brings in a burnt croissant and sticky bun (which we had not ordered), charges us and doesn't even serve the breakfast as is-with the scones. By then we were fed up with explaining our modest requirements to her so we just ate our breakfast and fled. It isn't that difficult to really substitute an item and if, for whatever reason, you *do not* substitute, serve it *as is* and add whatever side has been ordered from the menu. If you do not have the croissants don't put them on the menu and inform the guest before sticking them with a burnt bun they never ordered. Dining, again, was the only flip side. If you are ready to look past it this hotel makes for a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyc_t08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I live in New York and have travelled extensively worldwide. We were visiting Milford to see family, and showed up at the hotel at midnight in a blizzard with a sleeping toddler. The staff was expecting us and incredibly attentive. They got us quickly and quietly set up in our room, offered to prepare a meal, and were gracious and helpful the rest of our stay. The room we had was a little small (we did have a toddler bed set up in it), but the bed was extremely comfortable, the furnishings tasteful and high-quality, and the bathroom like a spa. Breakfast was heavenly, and the Delmonico restaurant was also great. We gave my in-laws a night at the hotel as a birthday gift a few months later, and they too had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I am baffled by the positive reviews from NYC travellers. I can understand that if you find your way to Milford this may be a nice inn to stay at for a night. However, there is no reason to drive a couple of hours to spend a night at this hotel (the town does not offer much either--neither a beach nor quiet farmland type getaway). The room we stayed in was very average--the energy lightbulbs make the lighting kind of cold and the furnishings are sparse and the color scheme in the dull browns. Although the bed was quite comfortable, we definitely could hear every car that happened to drive by at night. The bathroom as others have commented is poorly designed--the bathtub is definitely not designed for women who may not want to get their hair wet (they should also provide shower caps if going to the length of providing Kiehl's products), and the bathroom smelled of dampness (maybe from the mat or something around the tub--in any event unpleasant.
Contrary to many, we did not find the food spectacular at all.
I just do not see the point... For a weekend getaway from NYC, go to the Hamptons or Newport, RI.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank voyageurNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I came to visit friends who live near by and decided to stay in the hotel instead of their house (they have a full-house without us anyway...). After some due diligence, we felt Hotel Fauchere would be more suitable to our taste and, even though, have expected it to be nice, based on our research and friends recommendation, we did not anticipate for it to be THAT NICE! Worth every penny! Great hotel, wonderful service, charming historical town, breathtaking nature and an UNBELIEVABLE French restaurant.

The restaurant is worth mentioning in a separate paragraph...that good. We live in the city (NYC) and like French food, so have tried every French restaurant we came across by......this one is now in the top of our 3 favorites and we plan to come back to Milford again because of it. Done to perfection, served properly and not overpriced - what's most importantly, the food is incredibly delicious! In addition, they have a Bar Louis cafe downstairs, with a less impressive menu but also a great food and a nice "lounge" atmosphere.

It was great seeing our friends, relaxing in the local spa, hiking, watching several beautiful waterfalls, visiting sites in historic Milford and the Camelbeach water park, as well as a huge shopping outlet and casino...... we have had a true VACATION experience over all. Will definitely come back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirl004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

As the executive director of Pike county's art council, I suggested the Hotel Fauchere for our 60th anniversary celebration/fundraiser. When making our plan for the event, the Board of Directors unanimously approved the choice of the Fauchere because of our individual past experiences dining in both the Delmonico Room and the Bar Louis. There is no finer hotel in this tourist mecca/arts center of the Poconos -- and there are many other fine restaurants nearby. Most of us on the board of directors are used to NYC quality in service and food, so we frequently meet friends for drinks or supper at the Fauchere. Many of the people who celebrated at our 60th on July 15 returned later in the week to enjoy the simpler, high quality food in the Bar Louis. It is definitely a place that we will continue to recommend to others and to which we will return again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethCMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

the hotel is in the center of town, the staff was pleasant and accommodating, the food was delicious and the room was comfortable and cozy. furnishings were nice and decor was lovely. highly recommend the bar and the restaurant. breakfast was fab! my only complain is the bathtub / shower is badly designed and awkward so you have the shower curtain sticking to you while you shower. this was extremely annoying. hopefully they have this fixed for future guests.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RafeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
23.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
22.2 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Property: Hotel Fauchere
Address: 401 Broad St, Milford, PA 18337-1508
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauchere 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing