We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Place”
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fauchere
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway Place”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A friend and I were looking for a place to relax and spend a long weekend that was within easy reach from New York City. Hotel Frachere was perfect. The service was wonderful and the my room was large and comfortable. Breakfast in the lovely sun room was yummy and dinner at Bar Louis was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARachelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    68
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
254
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A unique getaway from NYC. The hotel, while not large, had great restaurants and wonderful airy rooms. Wide-plank wooden floors, comfortable beds, luxury sheets, and a modern bathroom with a large rainfall shower. The decor of the guestrooms is modern and elegant. The common areas are decorated with fine quality antiques, marble tiled floor and a well-displayed collection of Hudson River landscape oil paintings many dating from the 19th century. The staff was enthusiastic, bright and well-informed. Excellent beverage and food choices in the restaurant (Bar Louis). Staying here was a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We celebrated my boyfriend's 69th birthday there. After settling into a lovely spacious room with a large marble shower, Jennifer from the front desk called and extended us an upgrade to a room with a balcony and a claw-foot bathtub, which became available due to a last minute cancellation. Although the weather was inclement for the use of the balcony, it was still nice to step out in my robe for a bit of fresh air. We dined in The Delmonico Room and enjoyed the Chef's Spring Tasting Menu with wine pairing. It was superb. Kerrijo, the waitress/sommelier was informative, professional, and like the pairing, did not over or underwhelm. Breakfast on the pretty sun-porch was delicious, especially their homemade breads. We didn't spend any time in Bar Louis on this trip, however it is delightfully decorated with a great vibe and a terrific bartender named Bob. Yes, even when the sun is not shining, this hotel is a shining beacon of beauty, elegance, and a safe haven for gracious living; topped off with a bedtime story, milk & cookies! We'll be back, soon! Merci!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms with a bathtub. We were upgraded to room 3 on the second floor which has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My girl friend and I were looking for a weekend getaway with a spa in an area neither of us had been to. Turned out Hotel Fauchere was our destination with access to Badea Spa. We spent three days at the hotel and it was a luxurious treat after stays in sparse chain hotels. The spa services were professional and reasonable.

The breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful sun room (no sun two of the mornings).

We ended up eating in the Bar Louis all three nights. There was enough variety and the food was delicious.

The highlight of the trip was found in the quality of the service and the nice people we met along the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We needed a getaway to break the winter blues. Had read about this hotel for years and were intrigued by the idea of a Relais & Chateau property in Milford, Pa. It was amazing! The atmosphere, staff and restaurants were exceptional. A wonderful mix of history and contemporary elegance. It is sublime.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boufie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALO ALTO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We found this hotel by accident in searching for places to stay on our way home. We arrived in Milton mid-afternoon. The hotel staff was helpful and our Golden Retriever was welcome. The room was rather small but it was substancial with a great comfortable bed, pillows, etc. The bathroom was nice with a big shower. The doorknob kept coming off-a laughable event.
I would not give it a 5-star rating, but it certainly was very good. Overall, the stay was nice except for a couple of problems. First, their restaurant (misnamed the Delmonico Room) was a disappointment. First, it's nothing like the Delmonico in NYC which we've been to and love. Its a rather modern sterile place. The waitress showed us the menu -- it was way overpriced--fixed price--and the choices were not something we wanted anyway. The wine menu was not impressive and so we ate downstairs in the Bar, which was good but very noisy (esp. the screaming children). The staff were nice. The breakfast was a disapointment-advertised as a full breakfast, it was nothing more than granola and yogurt and grapefruit. Their "hot" meal wasnt served until 9. I ordered a latte and the waitress gladly brought it to me--and i ordered another but was then presented with a 10 dollar bill. Never a mention it was not complementary with the expensive room. I asked the manager to remove it from my bill, but the waitress had to come in and argue the point while I was standing there--it was rather embarassing for everyone. It's a small point but nevertheless something that a luxury hotel (or adertised as one) should have avoided. Overall, thus, the hotel is a nice 3-4 star place, a decent restaurant down in the bar, and nice, but expensive and small rooms. The town was really nothing to see. And I wondered really why people would come there from NYC as a getaway. We live in Vermont, which has some really spectacular hotels and restaurants for the same price, and that's a getaway, altho further.
In any case, we've stayed at literally dozens of hotels throughout the US and Europe. I would certainly recommend the place as a nice place to stay if you're in Milton. Certianly not a destination for great food.

Room Tip: ask to see the rooms--they are tiny and you may want something bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Fauchere is a beautiful place to spend a few days.
The Hotel itself is quite nice, I'd give it 4 stars.
The town of Milford is a place in time, perhaps the 1950s.
Great bakery, vibrant art and antiques stores.
The town easily earns a four plus rating.
It's a great stop on the way east to Boston, or west to Chicago.
We spent an overnight there, and next time I'll extend by a day, if possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
215 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
60 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
23.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Property: Hotel Fauchere
Address: 401 Broad St, Milford, PA 18337-1508
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauchere 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing