We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend spot”
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fauchere
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a lovely time. Rooms can be small but bathrooms are very nice. Good amenities, nice touches. Glass of wine on arrival, wonderful breakfast, very accomodating staff who are willing to Help you with whatever you need. It was snowing when we were there and it is in the middle of a nice town, chuch bells and some art galleries etc.

Nice for a Saturday. Try bar Louie in the hotel for a great dinner. The burger, scallops,salads, onIon soup. Everything good. Although it is a historic hotel there is an elevator.

Would have given it 5 stars but the pastries at breakfast,slightly overfilled.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe standards a little small with no nespresso macine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Fauchere after spending a few days in New York City and it was exactly what we needed! We wanted a place that was welcoming and relaxing and that is exactly what Hotel Fauchere was to us.

The customer service is exceptional: wine, welcome patisserie platter, hand written notes about what the weather for the next day would be, cookies and milk turndown service, etc. They were there to make sure that every little need of ours was met.

We stayed in Room 8. Big, clean, beautiful room! It is on the second floor of the building and it does face the main street in Milford. You wouldn't think that a small town could be so noisy - but in the morning we were awaken quite early by fire alarms from the fire station across the street and church bells that rang every hour. That really is my only downfall of the place (and not really the fault of Hotel Fauchere). The bathroom in the room was exceptional. Beautiful double marble shower with rainfall shower head, heated floors, heated towel bars....we took off our shoes and socks and hung out in there and talked for a while. :) The bed was so comfortable. Ipod docking station, nescafe maker, flat screen tv, dimmed lighting...just a lovely and comfortable space.

We had the continental breakfast in the morning in the Delmonico and it was beautiful. The food was so delicious and the room was so inviting - we are still raving about it!
We really hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I marked the Hotel Fauchere on my "to visit" list when it re-opened in 2006, but it took us 6 years to make it to Milford. A SniqueAway deal made it particularly intriguing. And I'm so glad that we made the trek up north to visit.

From the moment we walked into the reception until we checked in, we felt right at home. The staff (while very young) were all incredibly polite and would offer to help at any moment (though I can manage my own weekend bag, thank you very much for offering). We arrived about forty minutes before check-in, and while our room wasn't ready, they did take care of our paperwork and offered to take our bags (and took our cell # to call us if the room became available early). When we returned later in the afternoon, we were immediately greeted, given a glass of wine, and then offered a tour before showing us to our room. Our room, #6, was just as expected. Larger than most European hotel rooms but on the small side of luxury American chains, it was great for two for a weekend. The bed was paradise - lovely Frette linens, comfortable goose down pillows & duvet, firm mattress. The perfect place to curl up with a glass of wine and a book. The bathroom was well appointed (a large one person stall shower, small sink and Toto toilet...Kiehl products & soft towels) and covered in marble & blue stone. They even had the radio playing when we came in. We spent a few hours relaxing before heading to dinner at the Bar Louis (see my separate review) and were perfectly comfortable. They do offer a nightly turn down service.

Continental breakfast (included) the next morning was delightful. A bruleed half grapefruit, choice of breakfast pastry (we did an almond croissant and a plain croissant...though we heard that they had muffins later in the day), house made vanilla bean yogurt, granola, freshly squeezed orange juice & coffee or tea. Add the Sunday NYT, and we had a very cozy morning in the Delmonico. I'm sure the breakfast would get "old" after a multi-night stay, but I liked having something other than eggs & pancakes.

This place make a perfect weekend getaway...plenty of activities in town and outside in the rec areas, and a great cozy place to come "home" to.

Room Tip: I like the standard "deluxe" room...there are "nicer" rooms at the front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I spend New Year’s Eve at the Hotel Fauchere. After an easy drive to Milford, PA we pulled into the parking lot at Hotel Fauchere. Our check in was very easy. We were offered a tour, however we have stopped at the hotel several times within the past few years during our visits to Milford for a bite to eat at their restaurant Bar Louis.

We were given our key to our room (#7). I had booked a premium room because it had a balcony. Once we got into our room, we were very impressed with the furnishings and little details. We were given a bottle of red wine and a fresh fruit basket. The bathroom had a wonderful heated floor and heated towel racks. We thought the tub was very charming, but was a bit awkward to take a shower in the tub. The balcony over looked the intimate backyard of the hotel where you could hear the fountain. Each evening, turn down service was provided with a pastry of the chef’s choice. Our first night we were given milk and fresh baked cookies.

We enjoyed having several cocktails at Bar Louis, located at ground level in the hotel.
New Year’s Eve was spent at the Delmonico Room. We enjoyed a wonderful 7 course meal, followed by a champagne toast at midnight. Prior to leaving we had a terrific a la carte breakfast that was offered in the Delmonico room. Upon check out we were given a delicious departing gift of their very own granola along with recipe.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Fauchere. Even though it was only less then an hour away from home, it felt that we were miles away during our stay. We hope to welcome another year while staying at the Hotel Fauchere. Hotel Fauchere is a wonderful place to stay for any reason.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Fauchere in Milford, Pennsylvania. We were so pleased with the attentive and professional staff not only upon check in but throughout our stay. Our room was large and decorated beautifully. There was an inroom expresso machine as well as other amenities. The marble bathroom was large and roomy and even had a heated floor and heated towel rack and large double shower. We had dinner in their Bar Louis. I would highly recommend the sushi pizza. This is not to be missed. The included continental breakfast the next morning was served on their enclosed porch section and was huge. Not only did you get fresh orange juice, but homemade yogurt and homemade granola, a chocolate croissant and fresh grapefruit and coffee. The waitress was lovely and helpful. I would hightly recommend this bed and breakfast hotel to everyone. It's history is fascinating as well and information about its history is provided for you to read.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I did not stay at this hotel but I visited, saw the rooms and ate in its French restaurant. The hotel is a beautiful example of 19th-century American elegance. It has some original paintings by artists of the Hudson River School. Think of the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge, Mass., the Wyeth Museum in Pennsylvania, small-town New England, and you'll get the idea. The restaurant, which is very modern, seems a little out of place in this old hotel, but the food is very good. They have imported French cider (alcoholic) and a number of nouvelle cuisine dishes. That, and the photo over the bar of Andy Warhol kissing John Lennon, make this a bit incongruous in semi-rural Pennsylvania, but many New Yorkers come out for a day trip. All in all, a very pleasant interlude in Smalltown, USA.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JogNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Hotel Fauchere is a beautifully restored hotel. My only complaint was the size of the bedrooms. My room, #18, was small with no seating except for the small writing desk chair. The only place to sit is on the bed. It was a real treat to have a heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom as well as upscale shampoo and body wash. I would have expected a larger room for the $275 + tax($24.75).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
672 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
222 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
65 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
23.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Address: 401 Broad St, Milford, PA 18337-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $173 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauchere 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing