We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh”
Review of Myer Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myer Country Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Maybe our expectations were a bit high from viewing the Myer motel website and from all the glowing reviews here- but in any case we were let down.

First of all the name Myer COUNTRY motel is misleading...it is on the edge of town but there are businesses and residences surrounding the property, it's not by any means rural. The website features photos of streams and waterfalls, and there sure aren't any of those nearby, unless someone leaves the shower running.

The website also features a photo of a cute antiquey bed...the furnishings in our room were fairly Hotel 6ish- and the bed, though large, was incredibly hard, as if it didn't have a mattress but just a box springs. The carpet was worn and bunchy, with exposed nails by the sink that would poke ya in the bare feet while handwashing. The room was not all that clean either.

All in all, I guess $85 a night in August is a low enough price to pay for the Poconos area, but this tired, joyless place did not feel like any sort of bargain. Any charm it has is from the outside only, and we wouldn'tstay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ohByJingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

Each year our family has a get together and my moms house is getting too small for the families of her seven children and grandchildren to all stay there. Myer's is a family owned business and for the past 4 years or so, they let us feel like family. The cottages are clean and updated inside. There is plenty of room for our family of 5. The owners are wonderful. Each cottage has its own parking space and they are arranged in a circle. Its quaint! My sisters and brothers also take the cottages when we make our family trip. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwithpennygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We travel this route each year in the fall or near fall time and we always try to stop in for one night or two. Myers has been around for a long time and it is still wonderful. Of course, the prices are increasing just like everywhere else, but the cleanliness and care is still the same..Nice time spent and a step back in time to a gentler moment..Pleasant experience and close to Milford, a lovely town with lots of pleasant things to see and do. Enjoy, we shall once again...

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaBrowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I was very curious about this motel b/c by and large these types of cabin motels have become run down, but the reviews were good. I am happy to say this place is kept up really well, it is clean, neat and friendly. Also quiet. One past reviewer said that it was like Walmart plastic, I couldn't disagree more. The cabins are made of wood, there is wood trimming in the rooms (mine was cabin 4). There is tile in the bathrooms... nice wood picnic tables on the lawn in the middle, overshadowed by pine trees.

It is a very short bike/car ride to center of town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliveseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We only stayed 1night, on our way further down into the Poconos. We have stayed here several times in the past and it is always very nice. The rooms are spotless. Check in is friendly and quick. The only thing that grossed me out was that when I got up in the morning and went out onto the porch, I looked right at a dead deer on top of an SUV - lots of hunters!

We like Milford. Love the cupcakes at Just Add Sugar, had a nice dinner at Apple Valley, and a good breakfast at the Milford Diner. Visited some small shops in town. The biggest problem is that there are no public restrooms anywhere, including stores (grocery, convenience) or shops.

We'll definitely stay at the Myer Country Motel again.

1  Thank KatMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

A stay at this motel is like being transported back in time to the 50's and 60's before the advent of chain motels.
You stay in individual self contained cabins...all of which are large, well appointed and decorated, and very clean. The owner greets you at check in and the following day at key turn in.
Some of the folks staying in adjacent rooms were "regulars" having stayed there several times before. I can't think of a single hotel/motel that I have stayed at in the past that I would go out of my way to stay at again.....Myers will be the exception.
Family owned and operated for three generation, his property reflects pride of ownership in every category.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank araho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Myer Country hotel for one night with friends who formerly lived in Milford and recommended it. Even though it is close to the center of Milford, the motel seems bucolic with fresh air blowing through the porch and front windows. Each unit is like a half of a cabin. There is ample parking space between the cabins, and the two rows of cabins are separated by a side lawn with a picnic table in the middle. Our unit, #4, had two sinks, large room with two queen beds, and a reasonably-sized bathroom. We were checked in by one of the owners and introduced to Shane, the family's large and friendly dog. They used to allow pets in the motel, but they had to change policy a few years ago. The refrigerator was good, and the TV seemed large. We never had to use the air conditioner. We could use wireless in the room, but sometimes the signal was not so strong, so we had to sit by the vending machines behind the main office to get a strong signal. It's relaxing to sit on the porch chairs and listen to the quiet. It seems ideal for longer term stays, and we were sorry we had to leave so soon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
3 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
229 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
44 reviews
3 mi away
FairBridge Inn Express
FairBridge Inn Express
#6 of 6 in Milford
75 reviews
2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myer Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myer Country Motel

Address: 600 Route 6 and 209, Milford, PA 18337-6505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Myer Country Motel where for over 68 years our standards of innkeeping excellence have been our trademark. Nestled among the Pocono Mountains of North Eastern Pennsylvania, the cottages sit on four acres with blue spruce and white pine trees lining the courtyard. The Myer Country Motel was established in 1945 by Ralph and Matilda Myer. Ralph remarried in 1952 to Audubon Winfield and they together continued to run the motel well into their 80's until their daughter, Audubon Cox, took over in 1975. She brought her energy and knack for decorating to the motel to give it a country home feel. Many people comment that this is their "home away from home". In June 1995 the third generation took over to continue the family business. Today you'll find the same warm, country friendliness that has set us apart for over 68 years. We hope you will visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myer Country Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing