We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Going”
Review of Myer Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myer Country Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

While the room's interior had been redone somewhat recently, the bathroom (with sink outside the tub/toilet) was straight out of the . . . when were pink fixtures, pink marble-lized Formica, and pink tiled floor, walls AND ceiling popular?! I agree with another poster that, while these cabins look appealing from the outside, the charm ended there. The screening on the door to our cabin was torn . . . a flyswatter was provided vs. fixing the screen? Not only were the beds very hard, both of ours made a "farting" sound whenever you sat down on them -- REALLY. How annoying is that? And the bedding, pillows and towels were extremely worn . . . in much need of being replaced. For the price paid, the "free" coffee and o.j. were hardly worth the trip down to the office.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelers-R-US-246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Myer Country Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

Went to Milford to do some hiking and enjoying the Woods and upper Delaware river. The motel is simply charming. Spacious clean rooms, wide porches and friendly inn-keepers. Almost had a "B&B" feel to it...but also very private with each cabin/room with own parking space and entrance. Grounds were immaculate and grass was so perfect I actually took out my putter and practiced my short game a bit.
Later, we chatted with the man up front several times about best places to eat and hiking recommendations. Super friendly and accomodating.
We made a short hike right behind the motel that lead DIRECTLY to the banks of the Delaware River. 5 minute walk to the banks of the river ; it was right there for you to fish or tie your tube to if you wanted. Even saw a deer!! I would certainly remommend this motel to anyone based upon my stay and we will be ading back up in Fall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeMayBeachBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed in cabin #6, very quaint and clean. The owners were very friendly and the staff most accomodating, Location is close to town and easy to find (once we figured out where we were). Very quiet.

If you need something to gripe about, the internet isn't the fastest and complimentary coffee doesn't start until 8am.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecoinbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

These cabins are the cuttest, cleanest, & affordable cabins we have ever stayed at. The owner's, personel, & house keeping staff are absolutely terrific. We are outdoor people. We love to walk, backback, & hike. The location is close to everything. Even if you don't walk, each cabin has its own parking area. The front porches are great. the staff comes around in the evening & turns on your porch light. Theysweep your porch & leave fresh towels in the morning. Each cabin has its own style & decor, which is nicer then many fine hotel's. Its simply, "the best ever". stay once, you'll return!!!

Room Tip: one thru ten have more charm
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Clean, clean, clean cabins surrounding a green common area where kids can play safely, away from traffic. Family run with great attention to detail--owner came at 7:30 pm to fix the TV remote without being asked to (previous renters had notified them at check-out). Don't pay the same price for a second-rate Days Inn type of motel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Other reviews have hit it. A couple of things to know:
3 pretty tall steps (with railing) up to the rooms
Less noise from adjacent unit (if you're in one of the duplexes) than I've experienced in many hotels
Google Maps has it wrong. There is no side street that you turn into to get to the motel. It is right off Rt 6/Rt 209.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainwalker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

There's about six or eight duplex cabins (one single) that make up this motel. At the farther (more northerly) end of Milford near the Delaware River. Close proximity to bazillion hiking trails, which we're very much in to. It provided the quietest, most comforting respite after a long day's hike. The beds, however, are a bit too hard for me. My bad back was made a bit worse by them, unfortunately, until I figured out a way to soften it up a bit by placing some extra blankets under the sheets. Clean, cozy and all the ambiance of a small cabin but much larger rooms. Plenty of heat & hot water. Good size fridge. Double sinks. Internet connection a little sporadic, but workable. Could have used a microwave and/or at least a small coffee pot in the room. Fortunately, I brought my own mini-coffee pot (never travel anywhere w/o it). But they do serve coffee & juice in the main lobby after 8:00am. Informative owners who helped us search out nearby trails. Friendly and thorough staff. Fairly good value w/AAA & AARP discounts. Would definitely stay there again. Still lots more trails in the area to hike and nice to know there's a 'home away from home' right there in the neighborhood. Do consider this place when anywhere near Milford or the Delaware River area. Make sure you book w/at least a month's notice in high season. We lucked out at the last minute only because the fall season was winding down. High recommendations overall!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
1.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#2 of 6 in Milford
378 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 6 in Milford
63 reviews
7.7 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myer Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myer Country Motel

Address: 600 Route 6 and 209, Milford, PA 18337-6505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Myer Country Motel where for over 68 years our standards of innkeeping excellence have been our trademark. Nestled among the Pocono Mountains of North Eastern Pennsylvania, the cottages sit on four acres with blue spruce and white pine trees lining the courtyard. The Myer Country Motel was established in 1945 by Ralph and Matilda Myer. Ralph remarried in 1952 to Audubon Winfield and they together continued to run the motel well into their 80's until their daughter, Audubon Cox, took over in 1975. She brought her energy and knack for decorating to the motel to give it a country home feel. Many people comment that this is their "home away from home". In June 1995 the third generation took over to continue the family business. Today you'll find the same warm, country friendliness that has set us apart for over 68 years. We hope you will visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myer Country Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing