We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Gifford Pinchot”

Grey Towers National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penn
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thank you, Gifford Pinchot”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having been a fan of American History (OUR history) since I was a child, I always wanted to go to Grey Towers. Finally got here over the 4th of July. Many people do not know that Gifford "suggested" to Teddy Roosevelt to "set aside acres of land" for our National Parks. What a team! Thank you, Gifford Pinchot!! I also found out his wife, Cornelia, was a very "outdoors" woman. (In a time when women were supposed to be "indoors".) The architecture is stunning, the grounds and gardens laid out beautifully. It is more suited for adults, a bit too "boring" for young children. Anyone with a love of American history and our National Parks has to go here!
(Handicap access is being worked on. Call to see if available.)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtoretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    103
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Bank, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting and beautiful!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a beautiful mansion to tour that looks like a small french castle. The grounds are also beautiful and sits high on a hill over looking Milford and the Delaware River. Small admission fee that is well worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CelticLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grey Towers”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Tour of the summer cottage was given by a well-informed and entertaining guide. The grounds were well kept and lovely. The tour of the first-floor of the cottage was very educational. I would definitely recommend this for anyone interested in American history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PAdoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and we learned a lot visiting this beautiful mansion and the grounds surrounding it. The tour takes in the first floor of the mansion but we were told that, other than one bedroom upstairs, all the upstairs rooms have been converted to offices, etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sethsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

it was interesting and a very good guided tour, the family made a huge contribution to the surrounding enviroment

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Towers National Historic Site also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Grey Towers National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing