We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

Waterwheel Cafe, Bakery & Bar
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vietnamese, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Sawkill Creek, in Milford, PA the Waterwheel Café, Bakery & Bar was started in April of 1989 in a restored 19th century water-powered mill, which is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Originally built in the early 1800's this lively example of American history is now in action and its doors are open to the public. Water rushes over the three-story high water-wheel, driving a series of shafts, gears, pulleys and belts that once powered the stones & grain-milling equipment, all visible through the glass walls of the Café & Bar. Starting at first as a bakery & lunch café the Waterwheel has grown into a full scale restaurant, bakery and bar-serving breakfast & lunch daily with dinners being served Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings. Waterwheel's customers are comfortable in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. The kitchen staff consistently prepares a fresh and flavorful eclectic menu that excites not only the palate, but the eye as well.
Caldwell,nj
1 review
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We went last night for my husbands birthday with our 20 month old twins. Not only was the food excellent but the staff was beyond nice and went out of their way to make sure we had a great meal. Make sure to visit this gem while in Milford.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ilene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    90
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting place to have a nice lunch!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My daughter's boyfriend scores points for picking the "Waterwheel" for lunch when we were in town this week. I always enjoy food choices that are not the usual burgers and sandwiches. Their sweet potato soup was delicious. I had a Vietnamese inspired sandwich with Duck Pate which I enjoyed very much. I could see tables outside which must be really nice in warmer weather. I hope to come back again and this time come for dinner and also tour the mill. To be continued....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spoiled by our stay and food and Hotel Fauchere, what could measure for an afternoon brunch? Their vegetable frittata, vegetable Don and grilled Reuben. Very, very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FRedman215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting place and good food!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Two of us went here for lunch and enjoyed it. Unique place in an historic building where you can actually see the old waterwheel through a window. After you're done eating, you can also walk around the building to get a better look. Food was good; bakery selections were even more enticing and delicious. You can also just order from the bakery section to take out. Worth checking out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food and Warm Service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The food at the Waterwheel is always tasty and fresh. The service is friendly and the price is right.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Cafe, Bakery & Bar also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Waterwheel Cafe, Bakery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing