We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to Say”
Review of Malibu Dude Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malibu Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sorry to Say”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Malibu Ranch has become a ranch "amusement park". The new theme seems to be lets see how much money we can charge people. They have "modernized" everything to the point where it's like a Holiday Inn with horses. The old charm of the ranch is gone. The prices, which used to be reasonable are now sky high. Way too expensive for a family vacation. It used to be a wonderful place to take the kids.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money honey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Dissapointed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    52
    18
    9
    17
See reviews for
184
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I attended the Malibu Dude Ranch Rodeo Finals on August 31, 2013. The rodeo was second to none. The bull riding was very exciting and the other events were entertaining. The rodeo was run with professionalism and true expertise. The food and beverages were reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I will be attending again. It was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family had a fantastic time at Malibu, the staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a great time at the Rodeo, so many neat things to do and see. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to share some quality time that is peaceful and fun with their family. The meals were delicious and loved the dessert!! Thank you again to Malibu Ranch for this fabulous time in one of the most beautiful setting in the Northeast!

Room Tip: Go for the lake side cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This past weekend we had the opportunity to participate in Malibu's first cattle drive. What a great experience!! It started with bringing the cattle from the pen to the arena. Then we mounted up and learned to work as a team with our horses & other wranglers to herd the cows in different directions before heading to the open pasture. Nothing is sweeter than 3 hours with your horse, gorgeous weather, beautiful scenery and great cowboys. It was so amazing we went and did it again the next day! Our Thanks to Doc, Tom, Rob, Cowboy Larry, Chris and all the other great staff at the ranch. From the minute we arrived until we left, everyone could not have been more friendly and helpful. See you next time Joy and Ann.

Room Tip: Lodge room with a balcony allows you to see the running of the horses out to the pasture. A tremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying what a surprise it was finding a dude ranch in PA. Spent a weekend there with my boyfriend this summer and it truly was something else. Always something to do with riding starting right after breakfast. Archery, boats, tennis, rifle range, and pool available all day. Meals are included in your stay and there are options. I loved that it was not just one thing and if you don't like it you don't eat. The chef made his was to every table to make sure everything was to your liking.

Saturday night rodeo was something else. Bull riding, barrel racing, roping! It was awesome and after the show the cowboys cowgirls and even staff come and hang out in the saloon with you. Thats the other thing... it's not staff it's like a family and they welcome every guest into it.

We heard they are going to be starting cattle drives this fall and we can't wait to go be a part of one.

Thank you Detweiler family and Malibu staff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been to many Dude Ranches and would go back to all but this one. Maybe in a few years to see if things have changed. Room was good, hospitality good, riding awesome, but the food was disappointing and they assigned seating. We are used to sit wherever and unlimited drinks. We waited for coffee every morning. Only water at the front counter. The first 2 meals were buffet I guess because more people were there. The rest of the time we ordered off menu with minimal choices. They are trying to fix things up but got along way to go.

Room Tip: No king size beds only 2 queens per room. We stayed in lodge with balcony that was nice but cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGeorge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The best place ever. The people are soooo great and friendly. You have such a wonderful time with the rodeo's in the summer. The rest of the year are different things but oh so great!!! I really can not say enough things about the ranch. Doc runs it with his family and they are the best ever. Everyone so friendly and sweet. I hate to see the rodeo season end but we will still stop by to say hi to all the wonderful people.
Really nothing else to say except this is the best place to go with kids.

Room Tip: Whatever room you get is just the best!! The rodeos are the best during the summer... Love you guy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#2 of 6 in Milford
376 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 6 in Milford
60 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
9.1 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Dude Ranch

Property: Malibu Dude Ranch
Address: 351 Foster Hill Rd, Milford, PA 18337-6580
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Malibu Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Dude Ranch Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing