We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YeeeeeHawwww”
Review of Malibu Dude Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malibu Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YeeeeeHawwww”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Excellent accomodations. Stay in the cabins because you get a more authentic ranch atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and courteous, and helpful. Rifleman Jerry is the best. Check out his place on the ranch and do some skeet shooting and riflery. Horses are great and wranglers know their stuff. They put you with the horse that matches your skill.
I wish Malibu much continued success!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranchero55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    51
    17
    9
    17
See reviews for
183
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vernon, nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Many years ago my family tradition was to take my grandson and granddaughter to Malibu for a weekend, then we would wrap it up with a canoe trip down the Delaware. These children, now in their late teens, asked if we could return so we did, taking with us my twin 9-year old grandsons. The boys had only ridden once but had a great time. We ventured into the woods, saw a lot of wildlife and they learned and loved to cantor. Two of the children are vegetarians and the chef accommodated their diets. The food was delicious and although it was not crowded as we had just experienced a heavy rainfall, we found plenty to do. Fishing, boating, archery, etc. We stayed in a rustic cabin overlooking the pond and saw the most beautiful sunset while watching the horses gallop to their night pen. Very inexpensive trip and certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: Depending on your family requirements, you may enjoy a cabin as opposed to a room in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniortraveller324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Everything you need is here! Three meals a day cooked by an excellent chef. Saloon with darts and dancing at night. Wonderful wranglers and wonderfully trained horses. The trails are great even in the winter. There's an indoor heated pool, a rifle range, an archery area, bonfires at night, hayrides, and the town is nice too with cute stores and art galleries. Reasonably priced for all that is available!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiPer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New JErsey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I came here with my wife and two sons ages 14 and 13 for a weekend. We were joined by my brother and his family with daughter and son younger ages. We liked it a lot. The new owner and his family are great. They are enthusiastic and and are putting their heart and soul into it. We stayed in the main lodge and the rooms were fine. They aren't new, but are clean, comfortable, and renovated. The horseback riding is great for all levels. The bonfire and hayride were fun. Food is good enough. If you are looking for fine dining, not the place to be. If you are looking for the 4 seasons, don't come here. If you are looking for old fashioned fun with people that really want to please, it is a great family weekend. We ate plenty and food was simple and tasty.

Room Tip: the cabins look awesome but we stayed in main building which was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have been coming to Malibu regularly for 2 years now, and it just keeps getting better. I have a special needs son, and am continually amazed at how wonderful the entire staff is with him. They are very understanding and always make him feel welcome. The owner, Doc, is always extremely accommodating and regularly checks with me to see how my son is doing. The wranglers are phenomenal; my son has simply blossomed as the wranglers teach him how to care for horses and help him with his riding. Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge have been recently renovated and are convenient to the pool, game room and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iluvhorses23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had a great time at Malibu. Rob, the head wrangler, had the patience of Job working with our special needs son. He took the time to convince our son to get on Budweiser, an old, gentle horse. He never once made us feel that it was a bother to spend the extra time working with him. All the wranglers were courteous and kind and extremely attentive. They always made sure each guest was given the most suitable horse for their individual needs. Even the owner's two young girls helped our son have a pleasant experience at the ranch. We were impressed that we had a champion barrel racer as one of our guides.
We all enjoyed the hayride and bonfire, as well as the boats on the pond. The owners did a beautiful job decorating for Halloween/fall making the main lodge very attractive.
All the staff, down to the young man who was our server at mealtime (which by the way the food was excellent), went out of their way to make our weekend special. Without a doubt we will be back to spend some more quality time at a stupendous and reasonably priced resort.
Our only suggestion would be to have fitted sheets for the beds!

Room Tip: Enjoyed the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitroexpress_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlennieK, tripadvisor supervisior at Malibu Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Just letting you know the fitted sheets are here..Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Went to the New Malibu Dude Ranch with my husband, a die hard "Surfer Dude", my daughter, her husband and their two children, ages 6 and 4yrs. Lets just say, my "Surfer Dude" is a now a wanna be "Cowboy". Our weekend at the ranch was just wonderful! From the patient wranglers who made my granddaugher's wish to ride a pony "Little Bear" come true..and "Bo Bo" the mule whose antics entertained us all, to just relaxing in the rowboat on the pond..our experience at the ranch was just great. My husband and son in-law really enjoyed riding the beautiful trails and having the indoor pool and game room provided more than enough activities to keep the entire family happy. The staff was extremely friendly and the chef, who prepared delicious meals, made sure we were happy and content. I should also mention that the new owners were gracious and eager to make sure our stay went as we had hoped..perfect! One more thing...if you have the priviledge to meet the owners daughters, you are in for a treat..they took the time to instruct my granddaughters about horse grooming, care and well let's just say they are my granddaughters new "heroines". The "New Malibu Dude Ranch" will see this beach-loving "Surfer Dude" family converted "Cowboy" family AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: cabins looked cozy...but the main lodge housed pool, dining room, easier with the children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
2.4 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
24.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
18.5 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Dude Ranch

Property: Malibu Dude Ranch
Address: 351 Foster Hill Rd, Milford, PA 18337-6580
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Malibu Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Dude Ranch Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing