We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mifflinville
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We left NYC and traveling west we needed a hotel for the night. We chose this hotel. What a pleasant place to stop. The hotel is very clean and nice. Comfortable beds. TV has lots of channels available. The breakfast was great. Lots of choices (the sausage was excellent). We did not experience any "rotten egg smell." while here. We used a coupon that was available at the PA visitors center so the price was $20 less than other motels with a swimming pool. Too tired to swim, but the pool area looked great. If we are in this area again, we will definetely stay here. EZ on/off Interstate 80.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLanCo, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and a positive one at that. We do have systems in place for the water and we will be adding a UV system by the end of the month to make the system more redundant just in case of any failures. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you down the road again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was so nice and pleasnat but the breakfast needs work! Even the staff was most pleasant! The location is great and the fact that the area is being built up is a great addition! The value for the room was most outstanding... I plan to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apostlewhitlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLanCo, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the acknowledgement of our staff. They do work very hard and strive for customer service. Value and customer service are our top two priorities. We'll look for things to help in breakfast to offer more variety. Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I agree will other who have said that the water smells like rotten eggs. Apparently this is cased by hydrogen sulfide in the well water. In response to some other reviews the hotel seems to say that they treat the water in some way to remove this smell but whatever they were doing when my wife and I stayed was not working. We were in bad need of rest after a long trip and I otherwise would have given the hotel an excellent review but this smell is horrible.

According to The Texas A&M Agrilife Extension even high amounts of hydrogen sulfide can be removed from water. They say, " Continuous chlorination using an automatic feed pump can effectively remove medium to high levels of hydrogen sulfide." It is mentioned in their publication that this may be expensive but it can be done.
(soiltesting.tamu.edu/publications/L-5312.pdfchemical )

Until The Comfort Inn in Mifflnville, PA installs a system to remove this smell from the water I would suggest avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLanCo, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you sir for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry for your inconvenience. We do have treatments for the water but clearly it was not working well the day you had stayed with us. We are also looking into a permanent solution with the chlorine drip system that you have mentioned. Our Water experts tell us that for that system to work properly, the water needs to be exposed to chlorine for at least 10 minutes. Due to that, we will need a storage tank to assure that water gets its minimum exposure. We are looking for creative solutions to storage since our current maintenance room does not have the area. I have been assured by our contractor that this water problem will be solved within the next two weeks. It is our number one priority currently. Thank you once again and I do hope we will get a chance to better serve you down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a comfortable, clean hotel. They could do more business if they added carbon filtration to remove the odor from the water. The breakfast was good, hot and cold options. The staff at this hotel is friendly. There is not much around this hotel but you are only a short drive from everything. Even with the smelly water, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We reserved this hotel room for an overnight stay on the way to Upstate New York from Ohio. We (my husband and I) were traveling with our 18 yr. old daughter, so we chose the room that had a separate bedroom with a king bed and a main room with a queen bed. The room was spacious. The main area had the queen bed, a TV, small fridge with microwave, and a smallish couch with a coffee table. It also had an easy chair with ottoman. The bedroom had a king bed, desk area with chair and tv. The single bath had doors leading to it from both areas, which was convenient.

The space was appreciated and worked well for our group, but the furnishings were very worn and dated. Things appeared clean however. There was an odor of cooking - perhaps curry? - permeating the building. The king bedroom had a cracked window and there was also a lot of colder air coming in around the heating / ac unit. The shower was okay, but the water there smells of sulfur. One of the reasons we booked it was for the hot tub area by the pool, but it wasn't working.

Overall, the facility was quiet and secure. It was convenient for our stopping purposes. It was comfortable, although worn. For the price we paid, I thought it was a pretty good value. I would stay again, however the place really needs to take care of some maintenance and updates. There's not a lot of eating establishments near by. I think I recall a McDonalds and a Subway.

Fine for the money, but don't expect higher end finishes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpochard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We wanted to spend a weekend exploring Rickett's Glen State Park (waterfalls/hiking...) and got this through hotels.com for 85.00 per night. We decided, as it was right off of I80, it would make for a good "base of operations".
We arrived late Friday night-- the staff was courteous and helpful.
Overall, I'd say this was a reasonable lodging for what we paid. The room as in fairly good condition with newer (but not new) furnishings. Bathroom was sizable with nice sink area. There was a min fridge, desk... etc. The bed was firm and comfortable.
On the plus side, while near I-80, outside noise wasn't an issue. It did give us convenient access to Rickett's Glen SP and some quaint restaurants and ice cream places in between.
The closet had an iron/ironing board, which could be handy. The breakfast food choices were pretty ample.
As for negatives, there were numerous little flaws--while not big, showed a lack of detail. Smudged or splattered room mirror (note pic), crooked lampshape (note pic), and a showercurtain that was too long, so you had to avoid stepping on it (note pic). While the water pressure was fine, the shower temperature was what I'd call 'very warm'. So if you are a fanatic for hot showers (like we are), then you will be disappointed.
The walls and floors are not very noise-proof. (We heard the guy snoring next door and people walking around upstairs.)

The weekend we were there, the place was OVERRUN with kids. I attribute this to two things:
1. It's not far to Williamsport (i.e. there was probably some little league baseball tournament going on and families were looking for a reasonably-priced place rather than overbooked/overpriced downtown Williamsport ).
2. This motel has a nice indoor pool.
The result was that in the morning, there were little kids running and yelling up and down the halls. The breakfast area was CRAZY (we felt we were eating in a kindergarten classroom). On our way back to our room after eating, we noticed a trail of crushed cheerios and fruitloops and the rest in the the elevator and halls. Don't get me wrong: I don't blame the hotel for this and, frankly, though we don't have kids, we didn't really mind (kids will be kids and all the parents seemed to be doing their best), but I just mention this as it might be a plus (families needing a good place where there's something for kids to do and lots of breakfast goodies that the kids will love) or a minus (business travelers or singles/couples wanting a quiet getaway or to eat or swim in peace).
In sum, it was reasonable for the money we paid and fulfilled its purpose, but keep your expectations realistic. This would be a great place for some, but maybe not for all.
A few suggestions if you want to stay here:
**Bring your swimshorts (the pool!)
**If you want a complimentary weekend newspaper, grab one early (there were some by the front desk, but they were all gone by Saturday).
**If you want to get work done, bring your own laptop. The one computer for guests is in the main lobby, so it's not a great work area.
**If you are going to Rickett's Glen S.P. take the local route 487North (which you kind of have to do anyway). Heritage House family restaurant is 'good eats'! Great place for home style meal a very good price. As well, if you like local ice cream stands, stop at Melonies Kold Kup (careful, it's easy to miss) near Orangeville or to Krazy Kone (which is further north, in town).

Room Tip: **If you don't like noise, get a room at either end of the hallway. **Ask for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett-n-Jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLanCo, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your buisness is very important to us and we value your feedback by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve it. You are helping us to deliver superior expereince for you and the other guest in future. We hope you will come back and see you again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Milan Shelat
Manager
Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Came to the area for a picnic and was spending the night. Our room was perfect...clean, nicely updated bathroom, comfy and the desk clerk was very nice. We even took a dip in the pool. Breakfast was good; just what we needed to start our day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmkatz458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnLanCo, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property. your buisness is very important to us and we value your feedback by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve. You are helping us to provide superior expereince for you and other guest in future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mifflinville
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#5 of 8 in Bloomsburg
269 reviews
16.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
290 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 8 in Bloomsburg
622 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
1.6 mi away
Budget Host Patriot Inn
Budget Host Patriot Inn
#6 of 8 in Bloomsburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 488 West 3rd Street, Mifflinville, PA 18631 (Formerly Motel 6 Mifflinville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mifflinville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mifflinville
Price Range: $56 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 Room Hotel located on I-80 less than 5 miles to Bloomsburg! We offer a free hot breakfast featuring fresh scrambled eggs, waffles, & sausage. Free & Fast Wifi. Hotel has exercise room, indoor pool, and Business Center. 20 minutes from Knoebels. 10 Minutes to Bloomsburg University. Golf Course and Bar adjacent to property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing