We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasure to visit this Treasure!”

Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mertztown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mertztown B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure to visit this Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

There is nothing to say about this establishment except: PRICELESS!!! This is the best b&b that I've ever been to, and trust me, I've been to PLENTY. There is something about coming to Longswamp that is akin to visiting the place where I grew up. It is familiar yet 'different'; it is like home, yet quaint enough to know that you have gotten away from it all. At the last minute we asked for--and were accommodated with--a DVD player. I called from the road and it was set up by the time we arrived. I have been coming here for 7 years now. I was shocked to see a recent negative review, having stayed in that very room the traveler mentioned. To John and Jo Ann: your reputation and character speak for you. Don't change a thing, you do everything so perfectly already! See you again next month!

Room Tip: The Barn Suite is like home away from home! Except with all the quaint touches that let you know yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriLovesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This B & B is a delightful spot to stay any time of year. We most recently visited in the winter, and it was lovely, but when the gardens are in bloom, the grounds are gorgeous. A glass of wine on the terrace is a must in nice weather. There are a couple of out buildings in addition to the lovely main building, all beautifully maintained. The rooms are comfortable, well-decorated and spotless. The Inkeepers are friendly and knowledgeable about all local attractions, but not intrusive. And the breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Once upon a time an overworked and exhausted mom and dad booked a weekend at Longswamp, looking to rejuvenate. Joanne and John took care of every detail - breakfasts to die for (tasty fresh fruit in January!?! - yum!), massages, directions to church, and tasty dinner recommendations. This story has a happy ending. The mom and dad went hope restored, rested, and looking forward to a return trip! Treat yourself and book a weekend here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stopped at Longswamp on our way home to NYC from VA. We stayed in the Cottage, it was rustic but quiet, comfortable, well equipped (we enjoyed the fireplace!) and immaculately clean! We stay at B&B’s frequently, many pretend to be foofy or upscale, but are dirty and dusty under the bed. Not here!
JoAnn served us a great breakfast with fresh baked banana bread, a bowl of fresh fruit and a crunchy French Toast that was delicious. I have to add that we are a same-sex couple and we felt very welcomed here. Not always the case at some B&B’s. The Innkeepers could not have been more friendly or helpful. They made reservations for us at a fantastic local restaurant and had pre-printed directions to local wineries. They don’t advertise “gay friendly” but they are certainly our new friends. We will be back and we highly recommend this place!
Thom and James
NYC

Room Tip: Cottage and Barn Suite offer the most privacy....and have TV's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom NYC a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently moved one of our parents to the Diakon Home in Topton, PA, during the Christmas holidays. During the week long process we stayed at the nearby Longswamp Bed and Breakfast because they were recommended. We stayed in the Lower Cottage. It was perfect for us- lots of room, kitchenette, amenities and a fireplace! Our accommodation was very clean and refreshed daily.
Breakfast was great with warm banana bread, fresh fruit, and a fantastic baked french toast! The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. They were able to point us to nearby restaurants, wineries and shopping.
We will be visiting our parents frequently and we plan to stay at the Longswamp every time! Thanks JoAnn and John!
Ted and Judy
NY

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted and Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed only 2 nights, but it felt like we had a long weekend vacation, it was wonderful. We stayed during the October snowstorm and could not get out to dinner, but JoAnn provided us with a delicious meal, not normally included in the weekend. The rooms we had were very clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Longswamp! JoAnn and John were so very hospitable... and especially accomodating! We were there, during the snow storm of October, and while there was intermittent power outages, JoAnn made sure that we were comfortable and well-fed. We could not have had better hosts! Food was outstanding, and if you stay at Longswamp, ask JoAnn if she can share her awesome "brown sugar bacon" recipe! We had everything we could possibly need in our room, and it was also extremely clean. We would highly recommend staying at Longswamp... we felt like we were home, AND very pampered!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mertztown
7.0 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
1.5 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
6.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longswamp Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longswamp Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1605 State St, Mertztown, PA 19539-8912
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mertztown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mertztown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing