We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn Class”
Review of Mercersburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercersburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Mercersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been visiting the Mercersburg Inn over the past 20 years, and the current owners, Jim and Lisa, have brought the Inn to levels of grandeur, comfort, and relaxation not experienced at any other establishment. My wife and I spent 3 glorious nights there (April 2014), and the atmosphere has done nothing but improve. We dined there on Saturday evening and were delighted by chef Dan Nowalk's menu offerings. Our room was elegant, yet cozy. The breakfasts by owner Jim McCoy were wonderful. The grounds were immaculate and just showing signs of Spring. If you are anywhere near Mercersburg (or can plan to be), please take the opportunity to visit this wonderful B&B, though that designation hardly does it justice. And for those inclined to try outdoor activities, golf or skiing is not far away. Being a fisherman, I especially enjoy the trout streams nearby. I will continue to find reasons to travel that way just so I can enjoy the amenities, and the hospitality of the Mercersburg Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the front of the inn are superb (they refer to them as "estravage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

It is always an extra pleasure when long time guests visit us. I hope the fishing around here continues to be great. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I got married at the Mercersburg Inn the weekend of April 4-6. Every room at the Inn was beautiful and had its own unique touch, and there were enough rooms to fit close family members, friends, and wedding party who could spend the entire weekend. The Innkeepers owner, Jim and Lisa, are absolutely awesome and were very helpful in communicating and helping us organizing the wedding festivities. We traveled from DC and Richmond for our wedding, so a lot of planning had to be done via email, and they were great about everything.

We had a brunch wedding and the food/drink and décor were great, and we had it at an awesome price. Every single thing about the Inn and its operation is top-notch, and I would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be coming back for return visits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexBecca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

What a great couple and what great families!
Congratulations again and hope to see you on your first anniversary, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited the Mercersburg Inn in central Pennsylvania during one of the worst winters we have experienced in years. A Napa wine dinner and tastings sounded like a great way to celebrate a personal occasion together. The dinner and wine were wonderful, the hosts charming, the Inn very turn of the century elegant. But we were c-o-l-d. Houses this size (11,000 square feet) which were pre-WWI came with radiator heating. The problem with uniform heat for everyone was obvious. The sunroom's heating (the room with the Napa dinner) threw off the rest of the house. We went back to our room and chattered under the covers! (There was a supplemental electric heater in the closet which we used, but it was not fast enough to heat this big room!) The food was fabulous and the class/tastings were terrific. Maybe we go back in summer....

Room Tip: Not much to do in town (ie. NOTHING)so head to Greencastle about 10 miles away. Even then, the shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestonVaDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the wine weekend. This was an unusually cold winter. This is our largest guest room and with those low temperatures the radiator and fireplace were not enough. But just in case there is a repeat next year we have have replaced the split unit AC unit in the room with a split AC and heat unit. It should provide plenty of extra heat. Hope to see you again. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We really enjoyed a nice ski weekend here at the Inn. The romantic retreat room was just that. With no tv in the room, I may have been a little freaked at first, but enjoyed the alternative - romance! The gas fireplace makes the room super toasty and the clawfoot jacuzzi tub was so relaxing! The restaurant was high quality dining and the owners made a point of stopping by the table to chat, which was warm and welcoming. Breakfast is hearty. Only a short drive to the ski resort and there's a good pub in town called Flannery's with surprising elegance in a sporty setting if you want to dine off-site.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eatdrinkandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the inn and our little village.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a "no drama-one stop shop" for our wedding anniversary/vow renewal this year. We chose the Mercersbug Inn. We live in the Baltimore/Washington DC area, so it was a little more than 2 hours from us. We had a fabulous dinner the first night at the restaurant inside the Inn then we played pool until we decided to retire for the evening. The second day we had our vow renewal downstairs in front of the fireplace (too cold in December outside). The minister was open to all of our suggestions and actually welcomed input, so not only was the ceremony very intimate, but was also one of a kind. The flowers were absolutely gorgeous and the cake was good, too. If you are looking for a small wedding venue or somewhere to elope/renew your vows, this is a great little place with a good price. By the way, Jim cooks the breakfast which is really awesome, too. Both Jim and Lisa enjoy having guests in their home and it is evident. I am sure we will be back in the future. The location is super convenient and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask Jim for a recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Congratulations again.
Come visit on your anniversary.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A magical evening was shared with eclectic and charismatic guests that began with an outstanding 5 course French Dinner, good wine and interesting conversation followed by dancing and a wonderful night's sleep in a comfortable, clean and absolutely charming room. The next morning included a delightful three course breakfast and a convenient later check out.
Jim and Lisa, the Innkeepers were at all times friendly, attentive and easily engaged in conversation,

We had stayed here 2 mos prior for a weekend get- a- way, and were so impressed with the Inn that we returned to celebrate the New Year. Intimate four star dining, cozy room and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thanks for joining us for our New Year's Eve celebration.
By consensus you and your lady won the dance award for the evening.
Hope to see you next New Year's Eve if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at The Mercersburg Inn which included a fabulous New Year's Eve celebration.We stayed at the inn a few years ago and decided to stay in the Carriage House this time.It was charming and very comfortable.The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub & shower.The New Year's Eve dinner with wine was superb followed with dancing and festivities.The hosts were excellent and pay attention to details.( cheesecake & champagne at midnight) The other guests were very sociable and fun.We will be going back!

Room Tip: The Inn itself does not have TVs in the rooms.There is one in the entertainment room for all to shar...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

It was a great New Year's eve party, but the people make the party so thanks for joining us.
We have 2 rooms with TV. It was a problem to some years ago but now with our high speed wireless network though out the inn and laptops and IPads the issue has gone away.
Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercersburg
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Greencastle
206 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
193 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
806 reviews
15.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
696 reviews
15.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercersburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercersburg Inn

Address: 405 South Main Street, Mercersburg, PA 17236
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mercersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mercersburg
Price Range: $153 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 17 guest rooms at our Georgian Mansion on 5.5 landscaped acres. All rooms feature A/C, private baths, fine linens & luxury amenities. Experience fantastic meals at our fine dining restaurant. Cooking classes, wine and food weekends, romantic getaways, golf, ski, & spa packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mercersburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercersburg Hotel Mercersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing