We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere... Great menu!”
Review of Iron Bridge Inn

Iron Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Mercer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere... Great menu!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We went on a recent trip to Slippery Rock U. Great, fun, family-friendly atmosphere... Awesome menu selection. My son and I both had steaks -- they were good if you like charbroiled flavor...but there were no other seasonings added which was kind of a letdown for me. My husband got prime rib -- the portion was mighty generous and the flavor outstanding. Our server was very friendly and helpful. Glad we found it... We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    122
    16
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
739 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite for Good Reason”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Iron Bridge Inn is a popular area destination. You'll want to come here for very good food in a fun, rustic setting.

The restaurant is located near - you guessed it - an iron bridge about a mile and a half from I-80 in Mercer. It's a popular restaurant in the area for those visiting or attending Grove City College or the nearby outlet mall.

The outside is unremarkable, but the interior warm and charming with lots of wood surfaces and all kinds of curiosities. There is a large wooden Uncle Sam as you enter near the tall fireplace, and at least one wooden Indian elsewhere. The restaurant displays all kinds of vintage signs and lots of taxidermy, including a polar bear and several other stuffed predators. The inside is the genuine version of what chains like TGI Fridays or Applebee's try to emulate. They have lots of little quirks, such as serving drinks in mason jars.

Unfortunately, they don't take reservations, so you may have to wait for a table. It's a popular place, so a wait is typical on some weekends, but people tend to be in good humor and don't seem to mind.

The menu does not appear fancy, but most of the offerings have interesting twists. One member of our party had macaroni and cheese with lobster. Another had Louisiana style chicken with Cajun greens. All were surprisingly good and the portions were large. We ordered the Ho-Ho cake for dessert, expecting it to be too sweet, but it was actually very good.

Our service was friendly and very attentive.

I would rate the restaurant somewhere between very good and excellent. It's a fun and memorable place where you can go out with friends and get a very good meal at a fair price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Some of the best steak in the area,a must have is there ribeye. I eat there at least once a week. A friend of mine took my wife and I there ten years ago for my birthday. I'm hooked, I have been going there faithfully ever since. One of the nicest atmosphere and laid back restaurants I have ever been to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Huge portions,fantastic food and prices,Brittany a wonderful server,ate on Sunday evening relaxing wait at bar

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kramthims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, cool atmosphere, exuberant waitress”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were headed home from a week-long road trip. It was getting dark and food offerings looked sparse on I-80 in western Pennsylvania. We had already pulled off at a few exits and discovered a lot of nothing. It's only by luck that I spotted the Iron Bridge's billboard in the fading daylight.

The Iron Bridge is about 2-1/2 miles from the exit ramp, but it is well worth the detour. This is a restaurant that delivers satisfaction in many ways. The shabby chic decor is delightful, the waitstaff is devoted to serving you, and the food is terrific. It's not often that you meet a server who is excited about their job, but ours certainly was and she made sure we were well taken care of. The prime rib is top of the line, tender and tasty. They even had fresh grated horseradish to go with it, a zippy addition to the entree and far better than the wimpy creamed variety usually served up. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of food the Iron Bridge delivers.

If we are pass through western Pennsylvania on I-80 at dinnertime again, the Iron Bridge will be the place we go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thirdshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing