We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is terrible!!!!”
Review of Colonial Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Inn Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mercer
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Upon check in, the rooms have wooden doors that you can see outside because of the crack in the door. Flushing the toilet is an experience, the toilet filled up with brown water, and the tank would not fill up to re-flush, this was explained to us as a breaker problem, this problem was fixed, but left us with light brown dirty water. I believe there are are families living in the room beside us, there were children running up and down the side walk most of the evening. The room smelt terrible, there was only 1 bar of tiny soap, no shampoo or conditioner. No coffee pot and the ice machine was broken at the time of our stay. Did not see the colonial breakfast when we checked out, not that I would have eaten in this place. I would not recommend this place to anyone we spent $79.99 and it was in no way worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvpatel1130, General Manager at Colonial Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We have reason to believe this review may not be authentic and is likely to be written by our competition. For that reason we strongly encourage you visit a verified travel website such as Booking.com or hotels.com where the reviews are written by verified guests from the reservation website who have paid and stayed with us.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

the whole hotel reeked of smoke despite paying extra for a nonsmoking room, the bathroom was disgusting with the heat radiator ripped out and leaving the bathroom even uglier, outside was trashy with ripped out sinks and paraphernalia, no coffee for the coffee maker??, no shampoo or conditioner, only two towels provided one with a very large yellow stain on it, and the website claims free colonial breakfast on weekends but there was no breakfast to be found when we looked. Oh...and to top it off our doors did not lock from the outside leaving us stranded in out room the whole time.

NOT worth 66 dollars, maybe would pay 30 dollars to stay here. the pictures really are decieving this is the worst place I have ever stayed at. Don't waste your money on this place...we could have spend 66 dollars on a much nicer hotel containing a MUCH nicer room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

when we pulled up to the hotel, my first thought was "OMG!" we were not given the option to use my husbands AAA discount. we were told by Nick we should have used that when we booked the hotel, not an option when you book online. the rooms were not what i expected, no heat in the bathroom, no hairdryer (which usually comes with every hotel we stay in), coffee pot in the room but no coffee or cups, and you have to clean up after yourself because they have no maid service. which is on a sheet in the room letting you know the rules of the hotel. we stay at a lot of hotels because of my husband business, WILL NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: don't go by the pictures advertised, looks are very deceiving. we feel it was very high false a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvpatel1130, Manager at Colonial Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Ms. Terns,

Firstly we kindly ask you that you not bend the truth in spite of our inability to grant you AAA discount. The truth of the matter is we are not allowed to temper with any online reservations and their prices as they are made with our third party venders. Any changes to your reservations including any discounts must be addressed to your online vender such as expedia or hotels.com. For that reason we highly encourage all of our guests to make all reservations directly through our facility. Our records also indicate that we also granted you a free upgrade to a King size room as a courtesy. The very same room that appears in many of our photos. We kindly ask you to explain our future gests in depth how the photos had misled you.
Also you must understand that this is a budget hotel where you only paid $45 on Friday for a King size room. We do not have in-room hair dryer nor is it advertised anywhere about this amenity. However, we have hair dryer ironing set and shampoo in the main office for your personal use. However, we do not recall that you made any inquiry about these items. We have coffee pot in each room as a convenience to our guest so they can enjoy 24/7 coffee. However, the guests must bring their own coffee or the coffee must be purchased from the vending machine, which I informed you when you first checked in.
We also ask that you read our in-room motel policies very carefully next time as the same copy is available on our website for all of our perspective guests to crosscheck your claim. www.colonialinnmotel.org. And click "MOTEL POLICIES." It reads,

"You are expected to leave our rooms clean before departing. (Permanent Weekly Guests: We expect you to take out the trash and wash any dishes you use. Maid service is available only once a week for permanent weekly room guests.) A bill will be rendered for excessive dirtiness."

I don't know how you concluded that we have no maids working at our facility from this paragraph.
Please keep in mind, no disrespect is ever intended here. We only ask that you be truthful to our current and future gusts as they strongly rely on your honesty and input.

Best Regards,

Nick Patel
General Manager
724-662-5600









Ms. Nancy,

Firstly we kindly ask you that you not bend the truth in spite of our inability to grant you AAA discount. The truth of the matter is we are not allowed to temper with any online reservations and their prices as they are made with our third party venders. Any changes to your reservations including any discounts must be addressed to your online vender such as expedia or hotels.com. For that reason we highly encourage all of our customers to make all reservations directly through our ficility. Our records also indicate that we also granted you a free upgrad to a King size room as a curtousy. The very same room that appears in many of our photos. We ask you to explain in depth how the photos had mislead you.
Also you must understand that this is a budget hotel where you only paid $45 on friday for a King size room. We do not have in-room hair dryer nor is it advertised anywhere about this aminity. However, we have hair dryer and ironing set in the main office for your use which we do not recall you ever asking us for. We have coffee pot located in each room as a convenience to our guest so they can enjoy 24/7 coffee. However, the gust mush bring their own coffee or the coffee must be purchesed from the vending machine which you were informed when you first checked in.
We also ask that you read our motel policy very carefully next time as the same copy is availble on our website for all of our perspective guests, www.colonialinnmotel.org. and click "MOTEL POLICIES." It reads,

"You are expected to leave our rooms clean before departing. (Permanent Weekly Guests: We expect you to take out the trash and wash any dishes you use. Maid service is available only once a week for permanent weekly room guests.) A bill will be rendered for excessive dirtiness.

I don't know how you concluded that we have no maids from this paragraph.

Please keep in mind, no disrespect is intended here. We only ask that you be truthful to our current and future gusts as they strongly rely on your honesty and accurate information.

Best Regards,

Nick Patel
General Manager
724-662-5600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This motel is dirty. Advertises free local calls and then tries to limit the amount of local calls that guests can make. High speed internet is very unreliable. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvpatel1130, General Manager at Colonial Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Hi, I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Colonial Inn was ruined with false advertising along with other issues with the previous management. However,since then the ownership has changed along with the quality that we offer. Since the transfer to a new ownership, we have listen to our customers and completely renovated the entire Hotel. With us, customers are our number one priority. I ask you to give us a chance to serve you and I assure you we will meet or exceed your expectations. If you need to contact us please call 724-662-5600 and ask for Nick

Best Regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercer
8.3 mi away
Monroe Heights Hotel
Monroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 4 in Grove City
195 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mercer
Comfort Inn Mercer
#5 of 7 in Mercer
171 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grove City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Motel 6 Barkeyville, PA
Motel 6 Barkeyville, PA
#1 of 2 in Harrisville
56 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grove City-Prime Outlet Mall
8.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Grove City - Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn Motel

Address: 383 N Perry Hwy, Mercer, PA 16137-5043
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mercer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mercer
Price Range: $46 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Inn Motel is 3 miles from Spring Valley Golf Club and Lodge and 12 miles from Grove City Premium Outlet. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk. All rooms are simply furnished and feature a small refrigerator and microwave. Tea and coffee-making facilities, a desk, and a sitting area are provided for added convenience. This Mercer Colonial Inn Motel provides both beverage and snack vending machines. Free parking is available. The motel is 2 miles from Mercer County Historical Society and a 3 minute drive from short track auto racing at Mercer Raceway Park. Downtown Mercer is one mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Colonial Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing