We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unexpected satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The inn is not what the name would lead you to believe. This inn is basically a convention center and an extended motel. That said, it is excellent value for money. The rooms are spacious, spotless, well-appointed and quiet -- surprising for a place just off a busy highway. What really surprised us, however, was the quality of the attached restaurant. There, food, service and price could not be beat. The wine list too, was very well chosen and the price was considerate.

Room Tip: Try for one away from the parking lot where it can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here while attending a conference. It added character and fun to the whole conference experience. Interesting drive. The whole area is like Revolutionary War (colonial era) looking with rock walls, many museums in the area. Noted several taverns on the drive there but did not get to check them out I may just have to go back. Enjoyed getting there then when you get there it has an old fashioned atmosphere from the carpet to the wall paper and choice of lighting. Fresh flowers in the lobby. Easy to maneuver staircase with period carpeting that made going up and down fun even though there is an elevator. Staff was friendly. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. Good water pressure and hot water to take a shower with. Clean room and shower. Could hear people in other rooms using their blow dryers - did not have adjoining rooms. Was on the top (third floor) floor would recommend this floor so you get maximum noise control. Very few people were staying there when I was there but I would expect it to be noisy with lots of people around. Could hear hallway noise (internal hallway) and the door had a crack through which light shone through. Comfortable bed. BREAKFAST IN THE MORNING WAS FANTASTIC. Real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy just like mom made and I would assume this was made at the adjoining restaurant and reheated in the am. Excellent food. Of course they had the obligatory cereal, Belgian waffle maker, and bagels. Chocolate and regular milk and yogurt. Definitely enjoyed my stay and would consider coming back off season to explore the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BB411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Though we didn't get a room here, we did look into some of them and found them to be good size, clean, and nicely decored (some are a little dated but no biggy). Thought we'd stay here next time we tour Longwood. However, having arrived fairly hungry we decided to stay for dinner at their cozy colonial accented dining room. We had the filet mignon and a strip steak dish and both were flavorful and cooked perfectly.

The grounds are nice and their is plenty of parking off the road.

Definitely planning on staying here and enjoying the restaurant next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a very nice hotel off the main roads. Nice rooms and the staff was very friendly. Free Wifi and free breakfast and a very good price make this a bargain. I do ding one star for the breakfast. Processed re-heated scrambled eggs, one meat - sausage of unknown origin and perfectly cubed processed potatoes. There is ample parking but it is a hike to the hotel entrance. There is a very nice restaurant and bar directly across from the hotel entrance. Sunday brunch is very nice.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank RegenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Rooms are clean and well-maintained. Breakfast included is a plus. Check-out glitch with no paper receipt for on-line bookings--need to fix that as business travelers need paperwork for travel and/or IRS. Pleasant, quiet surroundings with an emphasis on wedding parties. Inn's restaurant offers quality meals and excellent service. Good choice for local museums, Winterthur and Longwood Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Here with a group of 15 co-workers for a team meeting, this inn is a good choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Near several area eateries, there are good options for group dinners. The single nit I have is that they use those awful stark white curly light bulbs which take away any warm feel in the room.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank IndyTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed at the inn before I been there for several weddings and also been there for many dinners. Over all we really enjoyed it we will be coming back in the new year. I will tell my friends about staying at the inn also.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelers1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
632 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 323 Route 52, Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range: $143 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing