We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Mendenhall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Memorable Mendenhall”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We frequently vist Winterthur and Longwood Gardens and have now stayed at the Mendenhall Innt on on two occasions. The Inn is immaculately clean with well appointed quiet rooms.The staff is helpful and friendly. The adjoining restaurant is top notch and offers some of the best food in the area. Un fortunately the morning breakfast is the one weak spot in an otherwise great establishment. On Mon-Fri omlets are cooked to perfection but watch out for the weekends. Blah scrambled eggs with hard biscuits and artery clogging gravy do everyone a dis-service. Better to raise the room rate and earn five stars in all areas!!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms across from the elevator. The east side of the inn has the nicest views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    84
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
44
106
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel upon his return trip from Brazil. We booked it for one night to celebrate my birthday before we travelled back home. I travel a lot for my job so I've stayed at some pretty nice hotels. The Inn and Mendenhall was a nice, small hotel for the area, nice decor and it was clean and has convenient parking. They do provide free breakfast as part of your stay. However, we chose not to get up that early, so I can't rate the breakfast. I have only one complaint, they have VERY THIN WALLS. I could hear two people having a conversation from my room. I could hear the toilet flushing and the showers running from my room. And the most annoying part of our trip, we received a call from the front desk asking us to keep our voices down and to turn the tv down because a guest complained that there was too much noise coming from our room. We were having a normal toned conversation in the privacy of our own room and the television wasn't up that loud because we were talking and not looking at the television. Not even five minutes after the phone call from the front desk, we were startled by the loud snoring that was coming from the room next to ours. Maybe we should have called the front desk to complain that we couldn't finish our conversation because of the snoring. Just a thought.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripdiva421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just completed a two week visit back home with a few nights at the Mendenhall. The Inn at Mendenhall is very nice. The decor is a bit dated and the layout of the Inn is odd but overall it is clean and well appointed.
Check in was easy and they allowed us to check in early which was nice. The room has a microwave, fridge and a nice size flat screen TV; room service is also available which is a nice touch for the price. In addition to room service and an onsite top notch restaurant the hotel offers free hot breakfast, served on actual plates with actual silverware :).
It is a little out of the way but is a nice quiet spot and you can easily access local attractions.
The only thing that stood out as not a good thing for me was the parking and the ability to easily load and unload your vehicle. Because of the odd layout of the property parking was a bit of a walk and no easy place to park to unload your car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I liked this hotel's location, on a country road in between Winterthur and Longwood Gardens. I bought the package that included tickets for these 2 attractions and it seemed to be a good value; there may be a cheaper package out there, but I couldn't find it. The hotel was easy to get to, the room was nice and comfortable (and extremely quiet mid-week), and the staff was very polite and helpful. All good things! I will add I was hoping for something a little special -- more of an "inn" feel with a public space where you want to sit, or a really good breakfast, or less of a chain-hotel feel -- and that hope went unfulfilled. The Mendenhall Inn reminded me of the newer Holiday Inn Express properties, down to the pillows and the adequate but uninspiring breakfast options. The hotel's website includes a "history" page with very interesting historical background on the property, but as far as what is apparent to the guest's eye, the hotel is just another (perfectly nice) hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel prices in Wilmington have soared. At $104 a night including breakfast, this hotel is a nice place to stay. Clean and a 10 minute drive to downtown. Spacious room with mini fridge and microwave. Room temperature was hard to regulate, but since it was cold outside, we did not mind being on the warm side!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Bed was very comfortable with a variety of pillows to suit all types of sleepers. Room was not fancy, but very well appointed. Bathroom was also well appointed. The included full hot breakfast had egg stuffed with cheese, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, in addition to the typical continental breakfast items.
Had an excellent dinner at the restaurant, a bit pricey, but very delicious and large portions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed at in recent years. We were on the 3rd floor and had no issues. Elevator was adequate. The room itself was immaculate and nicely appointed with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, etc. The beds were extremely comfortable as was the temp in the room. The bathroom was roomy and spotless. The only possible negative was no bathroom fan, but not a big deal for us. We ate dinner at the hotel and it was very good. Service was excellent. Our breakfast was included and it was one of the best as far as food choice goes, including scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereals, bagels, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. Perfect place to stay if you are heading to Philly or Longwood Gardens (also quite impressive). I highly recommend this hotel-excellent value!

Room Tip: About 45 minutes from Philadelphia and only 2 miles to Longwood Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 323 Route 52 (Kennett Pike), Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing