We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Branchville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The bed, TV, and internet were fine. The room was ok, a bit musty and small, but ok overall. However the toilet never did flush, and it never did get fixed even though I called repeatedly and told the woman at the front desk personally. Also the tub had a huge stain on the bottom, and the elevator didn't work one morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    87
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
109
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

It's a very special hotel which gives you a rustic feeling in an excellent setting. The serene surroundings are perfect for a morning walk, which can re-charge you like anything.

The tranquility and quietness is unparallel and ideal for people will to take a day out.

Good, well appointed restaurant, with a variety of items, including authentic traditional dishes

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bijotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I attended a wedding reception and stayed overnight. The food at the cocktail hour was good, but the dinner was terrible. The staff at the front desk are not friendly or welcoming at all. Returning to my room after the reception I was met by the manager and a security guard who were roaming the halls seeming to look for problems. My room was quiet except for hearing the manager banging on doors of other rooms to ask them to be quiet - I couldn't hear any noise from the rooms, only from the manager and security guard. Would not recommend having a wedding there if you want your guests to stay overnight - several who attended my wedding were evicted.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank krackr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Recently attended a wedding at the Mendenhall and upon returning to our room with my 84 year old mother there was a loud bang on the door. We had just finished settling in for the night. When I opened the door the hotel manager informed me that this was our first notice that were we distubing the other guest and the next knock would be our eviction without refund. Seriously, I was appalled actually thought it a practical joke. My mother was very upset and felt unsafe I said he better make arrangements for my mother's transportation. Noise up and down the hall and when I looked out the manager was banging on various doors along with a vested securtiy guard. Very disturbing and unsettling - like something out of a Steven King novel.
Lovely wedding reception -venue is lovely - food very good - bar and waitstaff at reception truly lovely - breakfast the next day was a nice experience. However, none of it made up for the treatment of the hotel manager.
Would never stay at the hotel again - my advice anyone attending a wedding in the future to hire a limo or call a taxi to take me to a hotel where you could actually have a good nights rest. for alot less money than Mendenhall.

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank irish1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We had a large group involving a wide range. The staff went out of there way to let you know you are being watched and they had the power to remove you at will. Upon leaving the bar at 11:30 pm I was met with a disturbing glare and a most unpleasant face. I am 56 years old and have not had an issue with any authority in my life. Several of the people attending were US Marines, good enough to fight for us in the middle east but not stay at the mendenhall. The manager evicted them with extreme prejudice. The manager was overheard using an awful curse when he became aware they were marines. I have 2 daughters that we are planning weddings. Mendenahll won't be considered.

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank HugeTraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We found the hotel to be quite pleasant, although rather quiet in October. Little bit of road noise from the highway at night. My only other complaint, or rather comment, was that the room windows were really small and the room seemed a little bit claustrophobic.
Good value for money when you consider that that an adequate breakfast is part of the deal. The Hotel's resturant was excellent, and reasonably priced. We ate there both nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourister10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The staff was friendly and the hotel was nice. The hotel bar closed early, which was a negative. However, we did not have to have a DD to go out. I was there for a wedding as well, so the bar was nice to go to after the reception. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The bathroom area was large enough for at least two people getting ready at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelatravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 323 Route 52 (Kennett Pike), Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing