We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never quite sure what you'll get”
Review of Mendenhall Inn

Mendenhall Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Mendenhall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hillendale
Description: Dining at the award winning Mendenhall Inn stands alone as one of the great destinations in the Brandywine Valley as you return to a time of classic elegance & charm. Entrees borrowed from French & classic American cuisine make dining at The Mendenhall Inn a truly memorable experience. Enjoy our all new family night menu Sunday - Thursday. Outside dining, weather permitting.
Pa
Level Contributor
272 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Never quite sure what you'll get”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Mendenhall Inn can be a great night out, or a mediocre experience at best. I've been there about 5 times in the last 2 years and I have had some of the best and some of the most uneventful meals I've had in the area. The atmosphere is always intimate and warm. The dining areas are nicely laid out and take full advantage of the colonial feel of the area. The service is formal but attentive. It clearly matters who is in the kitchen, because the same meal can vary greatly in quality on different visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    68
    42
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My only other experience at the Mendenhall was many years ago for a retirement dinner in an upstairs banquet room. This time, we had dinner reservations for a Saturday evening. The Inn is lovely, very tasteful and welcoming. Hostess at the front desk wasn't very pleasant, but our server was very sweet, and attentive without being annoying. House salad was very crisp and tasty, cocktails and wine were above average. My entree was a seafood medley--tuna filet, single crabcake & 3 scallops. Tuna & crabcake were good, but scallops were chewy and not very flavorful, so I would steer clear of that choice. Other than that, the Mendenhall has good ambience and I would return--a good choice for a special occasion dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“What happened to Mendenhall Inn?”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

While the atmosphere and excellent service remains the same, the menu has changed, and not for the better. Mendenhall no longer is worth the drive for a special occasion meal. The new menu is lacking old favorites that were well worth the drive. Long - gone are the stuffed mushrooms and the crab imperial, to name a few. There is really no reason to make the trip, when local restaurants are on par with Mendenhall. I doubt that we will be visiting Mendenhall Inn in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, forgetful server”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had dinner here on Super Bowl Sunday; low house count with only five tables occupied. Glass refilling needed more attention; server forgot our salad order. Other than those two issues, food was tasty and served hot. We both ordered chicken marsala. Had a little red pepper zing to it, which I could do without, but a good dish otherwise. The forgotten salad was probably a good thing because we had room for a deliciously served bananas foster.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok place to eat”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to the bar area for dinner with friends. The food was not really very good, but the ambiance of the place was really nice. The bartender was nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikedlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mendenhall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing