We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Media
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Whether you have just a couple of hours or most of a day, Tyler Arboretum has something for everyone. The children will enjoy their time among the trees and treehouses where they can let their imaginations run wild. Or, perhaps you're interested in learning more about trees and shrubs which might do well in your yard - Tyler has acres of well-labeled trees, some of which are quite unusual. And then, there's my personal favorite: well-marked hiking trails that will get you away from the day-to-day hustle and bustle. Oh, yes... and let's not forget the historic buildings onsite.
Tyler Arboretum is a real gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skelt440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you live in the area, I highly recommend checking out Tyler Arboretum. It contains many large wide open spaces, giant manicured trees, rare plants, and beautiful tree houses. There's a butterfly exhibit, and lots of other corners to explore. Every time we go we find something new. Now and again they have festivals and a pancake breakfast. It's also an excellent place to book a large party such as a wedding. Pictures in Tyler are beautiful.

There's also a bit of history on the plaques around the old homes on the site about Media and the surrounding area.

My advice is to become a member. You'll save on repeat visits and you'll be supporting a wonderful natural place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerryFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima,Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“birds galore”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

lots of parking cute gift shop flowers of all kinds great treehouses a fun place to visit a small fee to visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie_dignazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring walk in the woods!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tyler has a lovely mix of woods, meadows, and various attractions such as treehouses, to make it a fun outdoor experience for individuals, families and houseguests. We visited when my brother was in town and spent over 2 hours walking and exploring. Will be heading back soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HainesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“JUST OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Tyler Arboretum is one of the oldest and largest arboreta in the northeastern United States. It is open year round. The arboretum contains 650 acres and 17 miles of hiking trails. The Arboretum’s collections include rare plant specimens, ancient trees and historic buildings. It is a fantastic place to visit and get educated as one walks the marvelous grounds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Tyler Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing