We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AHHH Never A Disappointment”

La Belle Epoque Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
La Belle Epoque Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 118 Restaurants in Media
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Olive Street
Transit: Bus, Trolley and the R3 Septa Regional Rail are all readily available.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AHHH Never A Disappointment”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Media has "Dining Under The Stars" from May to September, that is when we usually partake in the delightful menu offered at LaBelle Epoque Cafe. They have a wonderfully varied menu, I for one love the Escargot. Try someplace new and Try something new.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travlafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will go back”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Downtown media has a few great spots to eat, this is one of them. The La savoyarde crepe is delicious . . . Gotten it repeatedly. Cozy atmosphere, great bartender ! The only negative is that the hostess is not very friendly and takes her time seating you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Each year for our birthdays we choose a new restaurant we want to try. My choice is La Belle Epoque, a French restaurant in Media, PA. I have been there for lunch and was very interested in trying their dinner menu.
Do not be intimidated by this French restaurant, it’s relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff attacks families, couples, and businessmen alike.
We agreed to start the meal off with a Plateau de Fromages (cheese tray with homemade jam, cured sausage garnished with dried fruit and nuts) and escargot (yes, snails). Do not worry, you do not need to understand French, the menu has descriptions of the dishes in addition to the staff who can answer and make recommendations.
We chose the escargot because we have never had it before and thought this would be the time to try. They were served, out of the shell, in a garlic and parsley butter sauce. If you enjoy other shell fish, like clams or mussels, you will enjoy the snails, we did.
This restaurant is known for their crepes, and that is the direction both of our adult children chose; La Brie and La Canard. These wrap style sandwiches are made with their wheat crepes. La Brie with fresh basil, brie and bacon was a combination of creamy, tangy and salt. The La Canard was filled with duck confit, walnuts, pears, sage and fontina cheese; there is nothing left to say about this but yum.
My husband had the Boeuf Bourguignon, a rich beef stew served over mashed potatoes. This homey, heartwarming dish was so good; he did not want to share with anyone. I went with the Canard a la Framboise, duck cooked to perfection with crispy skin served with a raspberry sauce. The sauce did not over power the dish, but bolstered the duck with its hint of sweetness.
Ah dessert, one of our favorite things; we normally don’t order appetizers and dessert, but everything tasted so good, we just couldn’t pass this up. Tiramisu; yes, we know this is an Italian dessert, but it was good. Molten Chocolate Cake; at other restaurants this is usually bland; this cake was full of chocolate flavor and creamy richness. Crème Brulee; creamy topped with crunchy caramelized sugar, another success, and the Chocolate Mousse which was smooth and rich.
Next, I want to try their brunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious French Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very relaxing restaurant with amazing crepes! Great wine selection also. One time I had a concern and I brought it to the owner's attention and he immediately responded to me and gave me an offer to come back again. Great customer service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cool looks, very ordinary fare”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Have been here several times over the years. With 2 other couples last weekend.

The menu is exactly the same as it was 5 years ago. My wife and I just looked at each other in amazement---really? deja vu dining???

Hanger steak and pomme frites...French staple...done nicely, but no attempt at creativity.

The Mussels Mariniere were done in a new way...with tomatoes---never had that before...more like a thick salsa vs the traditional sauce (which on previous trips was the star of the meal for me). But hey, it was diff.

Friends liked their dinner. Wine was ok per their commentary. Wait staff excellent...attentive, knowledgeable and not too "attitudinal".

Cost was appx $115.00 for 2 with a couple drinks/wine and tip. Fair price...just not as imaginative as possible.

Interior designed well..nice space...is indeed a reminder of Paris bistros we have seen and eaten in...ok once in a while...just don't expect new and original.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Belle Epoque Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing