We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Ignazio's Towne House - CLOSED

D'Ignazio's Towne House
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Old Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Towne House has been around a long time. Been to dinners, weddings, rehearsal dinners, and banquets there. The food has always been consistent and delicious. Really never had a bad server, either. If you want a "sure thing," this is the place to be. Have a good lunch and take the time to shop in Media. You're sure to enjoy it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kesujory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“On the Upswing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was a favorite restaurant of mine for many years but I had not been there since the patriarch and founder, Babe, passed away. I had heard it was going "downhill" after his passing and there are many newer, trendier eating establishments in the area now but on a nostalgic whim a few girlfriends and I decided to return for lunch. To our delight our lunch was delicious. I ordered fish and chips and the cod was lightly battered and well drained and the french fries were thin and crispy. The cole slaw, too, was fresh and tasty. My friends enjoyed their crab melt (a staple of the restaurant) and remarked that it was "good as ever". Our waitress was very cordial and efficient. I will definitely return and hope that dinner will be as good as I remembered it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home town atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to the towne house for an early dinner and was treated to a super psecial early bird special. the food was very good and the prices were excellent

Helpful?
1 Thank Stingray69coupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is what it is....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Long time DELCO restaurant...many of us went there as kids. The decor is the same, the menu is shorter than I remember. Typical entrees veal this, chicken that, seafood standbys...no surprises. We had shrimp LeJon as an appetizer...nice plump shrimp wrapped in bacon, mustard sauce could have been spicier. Veal Saltimbooca and Veal Silvio were fine, usual side dishes potatoes, apple sauce, green beans.
Go there for your usual favorites, don't expect any thing fancy and you won't be disappointed. Dependable service, fair prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Once wonderful......but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved this restaurant for many years but it has gone down hill.The restaurant is lovely with fireplaces and great rooms. The service has always been good. Garlic bread the best. But...sad to say I would not eat there anymore. I miss it.......it was great in its day

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NARSDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Ignazio's Towne House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing