We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of My Three Sons Hot Dogs - CLOSED

My Three Sons Hot Dogs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My Three Sons has been closed for several months now. There are no plans for it to reopen in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The only hot dog and beer joint in the area”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

With wall to wall beer refrigerators and a variety of hot dog types, sizes, and toppings, this is a great place. After Jimmy John's burnt down there was really nowhere to go for a great hot dog until this place opened. The beer selection is terrific -- all my favorites, plus trying new ones. Occasionally, there are beer tasting events. One of them is where I discovered Kona, a Hawaiian beer.

Wear your grubbies because it can get messy. Love sports? There's a wall mount TV that shows sporting events. The tables are picnic tables and benches, adding to the informality of the place. There's good parking, too, which is unusual for downtown Media.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tzefirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I had high hopes”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

for this place. Great concept. Nice job with the menu to entice, and terrific business plan. Unfortunately, the kids working the grill think more toppings make a good hot dog. I ordered one with chili and it was so full you literally couldn't pick it up as it soaked through the bun and fell out of the bottom. Putting a quart of chili on top of a hot dog doesn't make it good.

I really liked how many diverse hot dog topping they had, but they just haven't figured out how to make it good. Too bad, as the town is badly in need of a good hot dog joint. Looks like it's back to the cart in front of the courthouse.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ok lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

when i arrived at noonish, i was the only there. had a 10" dog nothing fancy, just kraut and spicy mustard. $6!!. better be good.the result was just average. the dog was about the diameter of my ring finger. i'm being picky here as the mustard should be placed on the dog first then the kraut. not visa versa. the roll although very good overwhelmed the dog due to its size. would have been great for a hoagie. i prefer jimmy johns on 202. bigger dogs, appropriate sized rolls, i can put my dressings on, bigger size dogs, and tastier.i can two jimmys for the same at 3 sons. i'll see you at jimmy johns

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dogs, music and beer”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stopped by here two weeks ago for a cold beer, vowed to come back, and we weren't disappointed. As before, it was Dining Under the Stars night in Media.

The hot dogs were outstanding. We had a Cally, a Lala Land (one Vegan), and a Trailer. All were excellent. NOTE: These are hot dogs. They are NOT giant bratwursts or sausages. They fill the roll perfectly lengthwise, and the condiments complete the sandwich.

The beer selection is ridiculous. And cold. The staff could not have been nicer.

Once again, music was provided by Jazz With Chaz. Excellent cool jazz, great for an outdoor meal.

Enjoy. We did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Three Sons Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing